We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Key West Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mermaid & The Alligator

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“Key West Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you're contemplating where to stay in Key West, let me help you: choose The Mermaid & The Alligator. My husband and I split our April 2014 week-long stay across two rooms--the Caribbean Queen and the Tree Top suites--due to availability during the requested week (this place seems always to be full--a very good sign when you're doing your research). While both rooms were beautiful, the Caribbean Queen was our favorite...the 2nd floor, wraparound porch (complete with patio seating and your own personal hammock) offers a nice view of the front gardens, which (front and back of the property) are so lush that you have all the privacy/seclusion you could want. We wondered whether traffic noise on Truman/US 1 would be an issue, but there was no disturbance at all. The rooms are super clean and well-appointed, with attention to comfort, beauty, and detail being pretty much the theme for the property as a whole. Fantastic "hidden" areas in the rear gardens; separate towels for pool and beach (and even a bag to tote them in); lemonade in the garden at 3PM daily, wine at 6; tea and Keurig coffee available all day (as are water and soft drinks). The staff is friendly and courteous...helpful and attentive but also mindful of personal space. We rented bikes for the week and Geri and Rebecca arranged the whole thing, from delivery to pickup. Geri also came through on our last-minute request for a moonlight kayak trip (through Blue Planet Kayak Tours--HIGHLY recommend these guides; the nighttime paddle was a perfect time to be on the water, accommodated all "skill" levels, and was so much fun). There are as many places to stay in Key West as there are people who visit, but I honestly can't see anyone who stays at The Mermaid & The Alligator ever choosing anywhere different again. We will definitely be coming back! Thank you, thank you, thank you for wonderful getaway!

Room Tip: While I don't think you could go wrong with whichever room you picked at The Mermaid & The A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    45
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
695
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at The Mermaid and The Alligator in April 2014. The house and the setting is beautiful. There were four of us and we stayed in the very quaint and comfortable Papaya and key Lime rooms. While the doors face the back street, it was still quiet and provided us our own private veranda, however, the settings throughout the garden are so beautiful, we did not spend much time on our 'own' porch.
Dean and Paul are terrific hosts and Geri and Rebecca were so attentive to our every need. They took care of so many details, ensured we had reservations for dinners, a sunset cruise (The crew of the Hindu are wonderful and the boat so lovingly restored) and other activities. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. So many little touches, from the complimentary water and sodas and, of course, the daily wine bar - also complimentary. We all agreed that we would return to Key West for the sole purpose of being pampered by the wonderful people at The Mermaid and The Alligator.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It may have taken us 5 months to write this review but it proves what a lasting impression this B&B had on us. Everything about it was superior. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the location was perfect - within easy walking distance to trolley routes or old town itself; the food was some of the best we've had at B&Bs. Loved 24/7 access to the refrigerator for drinks and water; cookies during the day, wine and snacks at night. The gardens are beautiful with many nooks and crannies for private relaxing time or more open seating for chatting with other guests. We had the only ground floor room and were concerned it might be noisy. The opposite was true - very quiet, with our own access to the gardens outside. We could not have been happier and will definitely return when we are in Key West again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Polly011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at the M&A in the Bamboo Cottage. It was incredible and we had the best time. Gerri and Rebecca took very good care of us. The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, muffins, wonderful egg dishes and very good coffee. It was served on their lovely and tropical outdoor patio along with mellow music. If you needed to leave extra early there was a Kurig available. There were some afternoon snacks which came in handy after kayaking. Rebecca helped us with a bicycle rental and the place dropped them off and picked them up for us. Everyone was just so helpful and gracious.

Our room was fantastic. Clean, comfortable, quiet and well decorated. We had a little porch which was great for reading and relaxing. The bed was super comfortable and we slept very well.

The M&A is a perfect location. It's about 15 minutes from the airport. (Taxi for 2 is $16 plus tip) It is a short 5 minute walk to Duval St and all the shops etc. It is 2 blocks from the "Better Than Sex" dessert shop, which is quite good. Each morning we rode our bikes to the White St Pier to watch the sun rise. It's about a 10 minute bike ride. It you like to get in a morning workout, this is a great place to exercise or run. The M&A has everything you would need; yoga mats, tote bags, beach towels. Also at the White St pier it connects to a scenic ocean side bike trail. There is a hidden jewel of a botanical garden in a small old fort that was beautiful. And an ocean side restaurant called Salute, which we highly recommend.

Everything is as they describe on their website. If you are looking for a great B&B and a good experience book your stay at the M&A.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurousAmy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

It is a beautifully maintained and staffed B&B in the middle of one of the older, beautiful sections of town. Easy walk to all locations. Great gardens, lovely rooms, nice kitchen with good breakfast and coffee included, water and soft drinks included,. They offer a fabulous concierge service - to help find and reserve the best attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem quietist, the air conditioning is very quiet and good. The Audibon room is wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were in the Treetop Suite, private and beautiful. We can't even begin
to tell you how we felt like we were in The garden of Eden with all the gorgeous
foliage and palm trees around us. Geri does a wonderful job of hosting and
preparing a delicous breakfast. We met many wonderful people including
Paul, Dean, Geri, and Rebecca. When we return to the Keys, we can't wait
to stay at The Mermaid and the Alligator again. Thanks for making our stay
so delightful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloThere52970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Cannot say enough good things about our stay. My daughter(25 Yr old) and I went to Key West for 4 days for a mother daughter get away over her spring break. The bed and breakfast was wonderful. Everyday we had a different homemade breakfast, afternoon snack and wine. The rooms were delightful, had every creature comfort you could need. If you forgot anything, Dean and Paul had it there for you. It was quiet with a beautiful backyard. Geri was tremendous at making you feel at home. Very helpful with dining and tour suggestions. Perfect mix of feeling pampered and the comfort of "home"

Room Tip: We stayed in Tree top and Garden room both lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing