We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Nearby Hotels
US$490
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$408
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Havana Cabana Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
US$1,147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveller rating
865
48
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
48
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo roomb baudubon roomtreetop suiteevening wineafternoon lemonadekey limecomplimentary wineplunge poolquicheother gueststhe main houseeach morningtropical gardenqueen roombreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 932 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We really loved our stay here and found it quiet and serene but centrally located in walking distance to restaurants, sightseeing and Duval Street. We had a car but didn't move it the entire stay because it was more fun to walk everywhere. The tropical gardens are gorgeous and the wine served in the evenings is a nice touch. I would have liked a few more options for breakfast but was happy with everything we were served.

Room Tip: We had the Bamboo Room with its own front porch in the garden. The porch was great for relaxing and listening to the tropical sounds. If you are not a morning person you might want a room in the main house, as the breakfast is served in the garden and guests are seated together at three large tables for lively conversation.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had wanted to write a review about this little piece of paradise when my husband and I first returned home in November, 2013, but never got around to it. I just sent my deposit for our return trip this November, 2014! Cannot wait to return to Key West and do the things we hadn't gotten to do on our first visit. Cannot say enough about The Mermaid and the Alligator. There was such a peaceful feel as soon as you opened the gate to the backyard. The grounds were gorgeous and very well maintained. Our room was one of the smallest rooms, but was just perfect for us. The décor was beautiful and the room though tiny was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. Geri was so helpful in booking our excursions and making our reservations. We just loved it and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good location. Even though we were on truman avenue it was very quiet. You walk to just about anywhere. We were also given tips about more local dining experiences, one being called 'seven fishes'. We stopped in the garden room... A surprise being the glass block shower. Don't worry no-one can see! There is no tv in the room but it is not needed at all. Free wi-fi anyway. The breakfast was tasty and simple.....and enough!! The breakfast is served outside in beautiful gardens complete with love birds.....of the feathered type. There is a nice heated plunge pool and it never gets crowded. Parking is easy, but if you block someone in leave your keys and they move the cars...no problem. There are dogs on the property but they are well behaved and of course do not go into any of the bedrooms. You can borrow beach towels, beach umbrella, (key west is not known for its beaches but we took them to bahia honda state park which is really nice. I must have forgotten to mention free wine at five and always lots of bread, cookies and cakes. The gardens are lovely and there are lots of seating areas. There is lots of information about where to eat, where to fish, what to do...... Really good recommendations and it will all be reserved for you if you ask......complimentary soft drinks all day.....geri was brilliant and very helpful with lots of ideas and will arrange anything for you.

Its a shame we may not be back this way... O((

Room Tip: The garden room is ground floor with access to patio with chAirs and table. Dont worry about the glass block shower.....no one can see!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestMidsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I visited this small hotel, well bed and breakfast really, with an American friend . I am English and we both loved it . The rooms are individually styled and the gardens a haven . Pools a delight too.

Room Tip: don't worry all rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 503975KateLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just finished our 4-day trip to Key West and staying at The Mermaid and Alligator. Dean and Paul created a wonderful B&B. The staff, Geri and Rebecca, are very gracious ladies and do all they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are all well appointed and the breakfasts are always fantastic. You'll need to be dog friendly because their dogs are always there ad they are very visitor friendly. We loved seeing Havana and Days everyday. The gardens are wonderful and make you feel as if you entered a tropical forest. The plunge pool is a great way to unwind after a day of touring. And what is not to like when you can do so with complimentary glass of wine. They have multiple bird cages in the garden and the sound of the bids adds to the tropical feel. Beds are king size and the linens feel great. The baths are equipped with shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The best pictures of the rooms are on their website, but can't fully depict how nice they are. Almost everyone you meet there whether they are staff or other guests are as friendly as the dogs. Perhaps their attitude just rubs off.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. However, the Treetop room is up many stairs and may not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews