We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll never stay in a "hotel" again...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved our stay here. We were in one of the rooms in the adjacent building. The team at Mermaid & Alligator think of everything. Breakfasts were great. The staff was very helpful if you wanted to know where to go and eat. Loved the location. It is just far enough away to be away from the noise but close enough to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Okeefe76051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time in Key West. First time staying at a B&B. Perfect location. Absolutely beautiful, quaint place. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Definitely will be returning! The staff is absolutely wonderful and very helpful. They took of everything for us!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeatAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn during the last week of May while celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We picked this particular property because of the rave reviews we read on the internet. The Mermaid & The Alligator lived up to ALL our expectations. We were in the Royal Poinciana room which had a lovely private balcony. The attention to details are present throughout this property. The room and balcony were exceptionally clean. Our hosts could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The concierge gave us recommendations for a sunset cruise and made our reservations for us before we arrived. (The cruise was wonderful).
The lush grounds of this property were the perfect setting for our delicious breakfasts and for relaxing with an afternoon glass of wine. We will absolutely stay here in the future. Judy B

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The people here couldn't do enough to make your stay special - lots of little touches that makes you wonder why everyone doesn't do them.

We were in the key lime room which is the smallest here and to be honest it is small but the outside space around the jacuzzi is where you will spend any free time .

Only a few minutes walk to Duvall st , easy to find off US1 , free off street parking and plenty of lovely restaurants close by makes it a perfect place to stay

Can't recommend this place high enough

Room Tip: The rooms in the house are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

One of the best, if not THE best experience of my life. From the comfortable rooms, to the great breakfast, to the incredible staff who is will to help you with anything! Can't wait to make another trip to key West and stay at the B & B! Me and my partner loved every part of this trip thanks to The Mermaid and the Alligator

Room Tip: Loved he Papaya room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband, daughter, son in law & I spent the Christmas Holiday 2013 at The Mermaid & The Alligator. The accomodations were wonderful as well as the breakfasts provided. The staff couldn't have been more gracious, even making reservations prior to arrival for restaurants and a show and checking for availability during this popular week in Key West. The location was perfect: within walking distance to fabulous restaurants as well the action on Duval St. The house and grounds were decorated beautifully for the holidays including a huge tree inside. I was hesitant to spend the holiday out of town as this was not our tradition but we were made to feel "at home for the holidays". We were fortunate to get a chance to stay at this superior place. Thank you M&A!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second visit to the Mermaid and the Alligator. I just can’t say enough good things about this B&B! We stayed here 5 years ago and couldn’t wait to stay again. We spent 2 days in the Treetop Suite and the rest in the Caribbean Queen. Both rooms were beautiful but we really enjoyed the porch and hammock in the Caribbean Queen! It was just as I remembered it and we look forward to coming back in a couple of years! Breakfast was delicious as always and the cocktail hour was wonderful as well. We loved seeing Caya and Havana, it just felt like coming home! Geri, Rebecca, Dean & Paul are all wonderful help with reservations and suggestions! Already looking ahead to 2016!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieBnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £140 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing