We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay at The Mermaid and the Alligator was perfect. We stayed in the "Sun Room" with its own little private balcony that overlooks the gardens. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners and staff were very helpful with whatever we needed to make this a truly memorable vacation. Can't wait until we make our way back down to this absolutely wonderful B&B in the heart of Old Key West.

Room Tip: All the rooms look amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hunter337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our third visit to the Mermaid and Alligator, and it was even better than the first two times! The entire house is beautiful and our room was perfect, but what keeps us coming back are the wonderful gardens and patio area. The owners and staff are truly interested in making your visit the best experience possible, from an outstanding breakfast in the garden in the mornings, fresh lemonade in the afternoon, and wine at 5:00 pm. A short walk to Duval, but far enough away to enjoy quiet time. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Key West!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the Mermaid and the Alligator. It was a most enjoyable stay. We enjoyed the beautiful inn, especially our room, Caribbean Queen. We loved eating our delicious breakfast outside in the lush garden area each morning--loved the muffins! The owners and staff were very friendly, helpful, and interested in making sure we were comfortable. They seem to focus on details to make the guests feel at home. Coffee was available early in the morning, snacks and wine in the afternoons, and cold drinks were always available. They even provided beach bags, sun lotions, and towels if needed. We loved being greeted by the owners' two sweet dogs whenever we returned from our outings. I would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Key West.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved our stay here. We were in one of the rooms in the adjacent building. The team at Mermaid & Alligator think of everything. Breakfasts were great. The staff was very helpful if you wanted to know where to go and eat. Loved the location. It is just far enough away to be away from the noise but close enough to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Okeefe76051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time in Key West. First time staying at a B&B. Perfect location. Absolutely beautiful, quaint place. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Definitely will be returning! The staff is absolutely wonderful and very helpful. They took of everything for us!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeatAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn during the last week of May while celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We picked this particular property because of the rave reviews we read on the internet. The Mermaid & The Alligator lived up to ALL our expectations. We were in the Royal Poinciana room which had a lovely private balcony. The attention to details are present throughout this property. The room and balcony were exceptionally clean. Our hosts could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The concierge gave us recommendations for a sunset cruise and made our reservations for us before we arrived. (The cruise was wonderful).
The lush grounds of this property were the perfect setting for our delicious breakfasts and for relaxing with an afternoon glass of wine. We will absolutely stay here in the future. Judy B

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The people here couldn't do enough to make your stay special - lots of little touches that makes you wonder why everyone doesn't do them.

We were in the key lime room which is the smallest here and to be honest it is small but the outside space around the jacuzzi is where you will spend any free time .

Only a few minutes walk to Duvall st , easy to find off US1 , free off street parking and plenty of lovely restaurants close by makes it a perfect place to stay

Can't recommend this place high enough

Room Tip: The rooms in the house are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £140 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing