We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest places, Most tastefully decorated rooms, feels like home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places, Most tastefully decorated rooms, feels like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

We are KW, regulars, we always try and mix up places and always stay somewhere different. We were there for scheduled 8 days, 4 of those was spent at another B&B, which had excellent location, but everything else just stank, and the other 4 days was spent at the M&A.
When we walked in, it was like heaven! Such beauiful Gardens, Our rooms has fabulous sheets, blankets and pillows. The owners and there staff were so gratious!

The decor of the home, was something out of a magazine! Tons of books and such laying around asking to be read.
There really wasn't any detail missing!

The B&B have a nice small breaksfast of, homemade muffins, yogart, fruits, etc. they also make 1 hot item too, so one day it was banana pancakes, etc.

They have a cocktail hour which only consists of Red/White Wine, but it is was perfect! I like my cocktails, and this gave us time to get ready have a glass of wine talk with other guests and then head out for the evening, not to mention making friends. We meet another couple that had never been to KW before, so we showed them the town!

We ended up extending our stay due to weather back home, and they helped in every way, by letting up stay longer, at a discounted rate.

Be sure to check out the front porch too, I loved sitting there getting sun and reading a book!!
I would go back to this place for sure, and I have been all around Key West!

Plus I love the dogs! Very well mannered! and Sweet!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katweber01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    45
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
697
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

This was our first trip to Key West and after reading many great reviews of this B&B, we just had to stay here. The place is great! We loved the owners, Geri and Rebecca. They helped us with finding wonderful places to eat, helped us rent bikes to enjoy the area and also rent a boat to see the dolphins playing. All their recommendations were top notch!

The room was beautiful and cozy while the outside area was very relaxing. It was nice in the morning to grab our coffee and enjoy sitting outdoors eating their yummy breakfasts!

This is a really the only place to stay while visiting Key West! You can't go wrong!

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JenWNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

For the first couple of days our experience here reminded me of that episode of “Only Fools & Horses” where Del and Rodney turn up to a party dressed as Batman & Robin only to discover that it’s actually a funeral wake, this will give you some idea about how we felt arriving here.
It felt as warm and welcoming as a snow foxes den in deep mid-winter, with the doors open and the gas having just been turned off. It’s funny that in some guide books they seem to pride themselves on making you “feel at home”, we felt like foreigners in a strange land, which in essence was exactly what we were! . Everything felt like it’s “too much trouble”. Then Geri arrived! She is a total star, gave us all the inside knowledge and recommended some great places, plus served some great breakfasts.
It is an amazing place, a great location, beautiful house, wonderful rooms and a stunning garden, but without Geri it lacks the most important thing, the welcoming and personal touch
The other downside was our room (The Sun Room) was pretty pokey and there seemed to be a reconstruction of Big Ben that chimes every hour from 7am till 11pm, then are the cockerels! Point is, bring heavy duty ear plugs and sleeping pills, or get hammered in Duval Street.
Key West itself is great, just stay clear of Duvall Street!

  • Liked — The Garden
  • Disliked — The room and noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matchbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

The owners were great. Lovely place in fantastic location.

  • Stayed February 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeoldelimelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Great location but poor presentation. Guests enter the garden entrance instead of the front. The house is structural beautiful however the innkeepers are not using that to its fullest potential. The front of the property is cluttered with stuff & overgrown. A shame. The common areas are just as cluttered. Cannot see the beauty of the house. We stayed in the cottage which was pleasant inside but not easy to get to. The bed was comfortable & the shower worked fine. No special treatments though. The gardens were very secluded & the caged birds singing were fantastic. I enjoyed the birds & water features the most. Not the house. Breakfast was good but not gourment. The innkeepers kept to themselves & the server was aloof. No personality. There are too many old homes to experience in Key West, I'll stay some place else next time.

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — House
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cargirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

We had a second stay at the M & A last December. It was as wonderful as the first, one year earlier. We again stayed in the Garden Room with the wonderful 'outdoor' glass block shower.
The annual Holiday parade took place during our stay and the M & A held a cocktail party as a fund raiser for a local charity. Guests enjoyed food and drink on the front of the property while the parade passed right by. Dean and Paul are wonderful hosts. We are looking forward to our next visit in about 7 weeks and meeting the newest member of the family, Caya.

  • Liked — Immaculate, ambience and privacy
  • Disliked — It would be nice to have a guest laundry.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restaurantdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

We just came back from our trip to Key West. While this marks the third time we have visited Key West, staying at The Mermaid and the Alligator’s innate charm made everything magically feel like a “first time” experience once more. We stayed in the Caribbean Queen Suite – what a retreat. It was truly cozy, containing a comfy 4 poster bed; lots of seating; lots of places to store your belongings; and a soaking tub big enough to loose yourself in. Our favorite part of the room was the private wrap around porch, perfect for drinking your morning coffee, hiding out with your favorite book, or watching leisurely KW life go by. Every morning we were treated to homemade goodies like Belgian waffles, quiche, crustless French toast. This modest, yet scrumptious meal was truly worth getting up early for – and set us straight for the many adventures the day would surely bring. As for the atmosphere…well let’s say that you’re in for a bit of paradise. We were surrounded by lush greens and palms, the fragrances of stunning and colorful flowers, the song of innumerable finches and parakeets, and the warm welcome of the B&B’s two most adorable four-legged residents – Kaya and Havana. While hurricane Gustav came to call during the last day of our vacation, we did not mind so much – as we were safe in the embrace of this place. Stay here – and you won’t be disappointed. It’s truly the perfect place to call “home base” while in Key West.

  • Liked — The Breakfasts
  • Disliked — The Stairs
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottago68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing