We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was in a Better Homes and Gardens magazine!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #5 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed 21 July 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2005

Stayed at the Mermaid & Alligator for 4 nights last week. It really was as charming as it was portrayed on the website. We stayed in the Bamboo room which was in a cottage away from the main house, which was very private & lovely. The room/suite was spacious & comfortable. The bathroom sink drained very slowly & although it was mentioned to the owners twice, it was never addressed. Otherwise, the attention to detail & our comfort was admirable. Egyptian cotton towels, Swiss toiletries, and a remarkably comfortable bed. Breakfast was great! Loved the hot muffins & the breakfast entrees. Proximity to Duval Street was wonderful (2 blocks away). Overall, an excellent find in Key West!

Stayed: June 2005
4  Thank njpmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed 13 May 2005

This B&B is for QUIET, and extremely relaxed people to stay at who want to read their paper and whisper to each other in public areas. When i stayed here with my husband, I was made to feel like an intruder instead of a paying guest - paying alot I might add. I was not allowed to use my cell phone in the courtyard if there were other guests present. I was not allowed to have my mother up to my room to look at it because it was around 10pm and the innkeepers didn't want people walking through the house, but the next night there were 4 people in the living room laughing and carrying on while the inkeepers were out and that was o.k.. Key West is a FUN town and this inn is not fun. Now, I understand that it is for couples, but that's what I was, not some crazy spring breaker and I just don't feel like I should have to walk on eggshells on my vacation. Breakfast was wonderful I have to say and the rooms were beautiful as were the house and gardens. The pool is small and there is really no way of sunning yourself if you choose to do so due to the limited area of the deck and the positioning of the trees. The pool is heated as well, so it's more like a hot bath than a refreshing dip. Our housekeeper was the only staff member who made us feel welcome at this inn. I'd say that the atmosphere at the inn was stiff and certainly not relaxed as were the attiudes of the owners. Maggie, who I have read several unfavorable reviews on, was better than I expected. She got our friends a few fishing trips that they enjoyed and was nice enough. Summary: very nice inn - too much attitude.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
17
Reviewed 12 May 2005

The Mermaid & Alligator exceeded our expectations. Dean & Annie were so helpful and friendly. Great recommendations on things to do and assessing activities in line with your interests. Fantastic homemade breakfast each morning. Nice wine reception in the afternoon was a great way to meet other guests or hang out in solitude if you'd like. Gorgeous rooms and grounds. Comfortable spaces throughout house and gardens. Lovely, tasteful decorating. Bed was very comfortable. Great housekeeping services. Parking is a serious BONUS in Key West. Walking distance, if you're a walker, was perfect distance to Duval so that you are far enough away to be able to sleep at night. Felt very much like our home. We'll go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Whitehall, New York
12
Reviewed 30 March 2005

I recently spent 4 days at the most beautiful B & B ever! I joined my parents who have travelled all over the world and rate this amongst their top 10. The owners, Dean and Paul couldn't have been more gracious. The rooms are gorgeous and immaculate, the grounds couldn't be more beautiful or tranquil. Dean, Paul and Maggie accomodated our every wish beginning with making dinner reservations, calling taxis to arranging the best ---- wine cruise I have ever taken!! The Cuban art is wonderful
Kudos to all !!! Hi to Largo and Havana! Thank you, thank you, thank you
Martha B. - Whitehall, NY

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Marysville, MI
11
Reviewed 14 March 2005

Stayed here 3/8/05 and it was beyond a doubt the best B & B ever!Great hospitallity,wine in the evening,very romantic.Dean and Paul do a great job at making you feel at home
JL

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.6 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.9 mi away
Atlantis House
Atlantis House
#1 of 77 in Key West
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £208 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing