We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mermaid & Alligator - Key West - Magnifico”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #5 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Paul and Dean, as well as Havana and Caya plus all the team at the M & A, made our first visit to Key West a most memorable one.
The M & A is a wonderful guest house with beautifully decorated and arranged rooms throughout. The service and friendliness of both the M & A owners, Paul and Dean and the staff who looked after us was outstanding throughout.
We could not recommend this location highly enough - great stay - thanks you to all at the M & A. Paul & Caroline Forbes

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2010

We've just returned from our Keys trip and absolutely LOVED staying at the Mermaid and the Alligator. The dogs were sweet and not overbearing, and the birds chirped and sang in the garden. The house is gorgeous and beautifully furnished. All the rooms are super-clean and large (I peeked), but the garden area is the real highlight. The space has been broken up into several smaller, more secluded areas so that groups could be together or choose to be a bit more apart, yet still in the lush, tropical garden. I had a massage in the garden and it was DELIGHTFUL! Birds chirping, breeze in the palm trees, wind chimes in the distance, and of course a rooster crowed....the sounds of Key West.

It is on a rather busy street, but has FREE OFFSTREET PARKING, which is so rare in Key West where parking is at a huge premium. If your accommodations don't have their own parking, be prepared to drive around and around, walk several blocks back, or pay the high parking fees.

Geri, as mentioned by so many others, is a gem. She is soft-spoken and calm, yet can arrange whatever you want to do. You can rely on her.

The food is good...cereals, muffins, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea are always there, plus a hot dish every morning. It's not elaborate, but a nice start to the day. There is complimentary wine in the evening, and while some people choose to mingle at every opportunity with the other guests, there's plenty of space to enjoy without having to socialize as well.

We stayed in the Treetops room and it was the most beautiful room I've ever had :-D

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gentilhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

A lovely and beautiful house, great hosts and a very relaxing atmosphere.
We had the "Sun room" and loved it! Very nice decorated, lovely bed and very nice bathroom.
The breakfast was very nice, top notch. Same goes for the concierge service. Good selection of beverages, fruit and all other things one craves for in the morning:-)
It's obvious that Dean and Paul have invested lots of love, compassion and money in this lovely house.
Thanks for a lovely stay, we'll be back the next time we visit Key West.

Marit & Geir
Oslo, Norway

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goose71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our five night stay at M&A very much. Just a few blocks off Duvall, M&A's central location puts it within walking distance of nearly everything to see and do in KW. We almost never used our car, which we left in the parking area right beside the house. The art-filled, large Victorian house is lovely, and each individually-decorated, spotlessly clean room is a gem. Room air conditioning was perfect; the mattress might have been firmer for our taste.

The large, decked, lush tropical garden in back is a delightful setting for the home-made breakfast served every morning and just for relaxing and getting to know the other guests. Beautiful palms, other plants, and orchids are everywhere. The concierge, Geri, is very attentive to every need and makes those great breakfasts. Soft drinks are available in the kitchen throughout the day, and wine is served on the deck in late afternoon. We enjoyed the large, comfortable hot tub in the back at the end of the day. The parlors contain a large-screen HDTV, a PC with fast internet connection, and a large collection of menus, brochures from area restaurants and recreational outlets. The owners and staff are very helpful with maps and recommendations, too. Beach towels are free for your use away from the house.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Mermaid and Alligator five years ago and were pleased to find the same quality, personal service this time around. We felt like family guests in a big house with lots of charm and amenities. The location is perfect for biking around Old Key West. Dean and Paul and their staff have great suggestions for dinner and other extra curricular activities. Caya and Havanna completed the picture of "home".

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

This was our first visit to Key West and we booked our stay at the Mermaid and Alligator, in large, based on Trip Advisor reviews. This is one case you can believe all of the excellent reviews!! No worries when in the hands of Dean & Paul, Mermaid and Alligator inn keepers, and Geri, their outstanding concierge. From the warm greeting upon arrival to their well wishes on departure, you are treated like a long-time family friend. We stayed in the Caribbean Queen room and enjoyed sitting on the wraparound porch watching the sun come up. Breakfast in the garden was excellent each and every morning. Their 2 dogs were so well behaved and a great addition to the inn. I would highly recommend asking Geri’s advice for dinning and/or water excursions. She booked us on the Dream Chaser one evening, for a sunset dinner cruise, and on the following day on the Java Cat for an eco-kayak tour. Both were excellent and we would do them both again. The only downside was we had to leave!!! Next trip to Key West will definitely include The Mermaid and The Alligator.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank bollwage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

From the moment you arrive you are greeted by gracious hosts and friendly black flat coated retrievers (Havana & Kaya). Geri is the concierge that can make thinks happen. The house is filled with Carribean flair and very comfortable rooms and porches. Breakfast in the garden is the perfect way to start the day. Geri is a GREAT cook. We also loved eating at The Crepery, Blue Heaven, A&B Seafood, Cafe Sole and sailing on Dream Chaser and Adirondeck II

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrooneyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,699 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £142 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing