We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 100% feel good Guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #5 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 100% feel good Guesthouse”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This is probably the best and most beautiful B&B in Key West! The house and the wonderful garden are full of gadgets and items from allover the world and every room has it's own style and decoration. You can see and feel that everything is done with love and passion. The dogs & the birds are most likeable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    46
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
710
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
estero, fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I spent a great deal of time researching to find the perfect B & B for us in Key West...of course, there isn't one, at least not in our price range. I had read that the Mermaid and the Alligator was something special and in some ways, perhaps it is. The gardens are lovely and the inn is charming enough. I was very surprised by our room which I initially found to be very nice and cleverly designed. However, after taking a shower in what appeared to be a beautiful fairly new shower with glass cubes that are actually the outside wall of the shower, I looked down to see that mold has seeped in around the glass cubes. Apparently, the cubes were not properly sealed. What is a classy effect became disgusting. Also, the paint was chipped in the main part of the bathroom even though it looked as though it had recently been painted. The bathroom door wouldn't close completely, which could be easily remedied by shaving down the top of the double door. As it was, the paint was chipping off of that too. One of the reasons I chose the place was for the full breakfast instead of the continental breakfast offered at other inns. Well, I would have been happier with a "nice" continental breakfast than the very ordinary hot dish served along with a bowl of uncut fruit, muffins and juice. My husband did say that the coffee was great! I wouldn't have given it a thought except there was some hype about this great breakfast in other reviews. The other let-down was entirely my fault. I failed to notice in the amenities that there are no TV sets in the rooms. I realize that's not unusual in a B & B but most I've stayed in have updated with TVs in every room. Anyway, It certainly wasn't horrible but I wouldn't stay there again. For the price, I'm sure I could have done much better. I do have to say that the dogs were warm, inviting, sweet and very lovable. They made it all worthwhile. Actually, I think the innkeeper could learn a little something from his dogs!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sitdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidAlligator, Owner at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
We’re sorry we did not meet these guests’ expectations. We are constantly upgrading and adding to our guest rooms, all rooms are painted every 1 to 2 years thus the new feeling to this guest room. This particular room has a new vanity and toilet and is schedule for additional renovation this summer. Our wonderful housekeeping staff keeps all areas interiors of the guestrooms spotless.
We are one of the few Inns in Key West still serving a hot entrée at breakfast. We’re sorry they did not enjoy our award winning breakfast. Out of 8500 member Inns world wide of a well know bed & breakfast website, The Mermaid & The Alligator was just voted BY GUESTS as serving the best vegetarian breakfast. Also, one of the two breakfasts these guests were served is one of 2 breakfast recipes chosen to be included in a nationally published cookbook. Our extensive buffet includes yogurt, fresh fruit, choice of dispensed cereal (not out of those little boxes) choice of juices and a selection of home baked muffins. We spare no expense importing coffee from Costa Rica. Each pot is freshly ground and brewed. While most guests do enjoy starting their day with our breakfast served in the garden, there are many wonderful restaurants in Key West with extensive breakfast menus for those that require more than we offer.
We don’t think of a TV being an “update”. By design we have created a quiet, get-away from it all Inn and choose not to have televisions in our guest rooms. Guests are constantly thanking us for this feature. We do have a large flat screen TV in the living room available for guest to watch at any time which these guests enjoyed watching in the comfort of two large overstuffed sofas. There is so much to do and see in Key West that spending time watching TV in your room is not something most of our guests express a desire to do, especially when visiting for only 2 days. Relax, read a book, spend time with each other, this is the style of The Mermaid & The Alligator.
We are at a loss as to why these guests expressed nothing but pleasure during their stay. If there is a problem we will make every effort we can to correct it during their stay, it is impossible after check-out. We do appreciate guest feedback and have grown and improved from the direct feedback guests have offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Absolutely amazing experience..everything about this place exceeded our expectations. The gardens were lush, the service was outstanding, and the little, additional touches were so nice..like the provided bottled drinks/water, afternoon snacks/lemonade/wine, beach towels to use off property, the IPOD docking stations/speakers in the room, the friendly folks who worked there and who were always willing to help with reservations, suggestions, etc. Also, the breakfast each morning was just fabulous! I would highly recommend staying here to anyone coming to Key West!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnhikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2010

The M&A was a great way to start our honeymoon. Dean and Jerry were very accommodating and extremely polite. The room was very clean and homey and the backyard gardens were beautiful and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and the other guests were a lot of fun to talk to. Not too mar from Duval St, made it easily accessible, but far enough from the noise. I would definitely come back here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvrnfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Spendid setting in a garden, wonderful breakfasts in garden, wine in the garden all evening and great help in finding best restaurants.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank susanredingtonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Mermaid & Alligator is right in the middle of town about 4 blocks from Duval (the main street). We were able to walk to the pier for the boat to the Dry Tortugas and walk to Duval for all of the night life. There are two tour bus stops within 4 blocks of the place. They have parking for your car. The breakfast is great. The people running the place are truly excited to have you there and their attitude and bearing is quietly professional. They have done a masterful job remodeling this house and everything looks super new. There is wireless internet, but no TVs in the rooms. The gardens around the place are super lush. There is A/C in the rooms if you want it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckwagon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Perfection is hard to achieve but the owners at the Mermaid and Alligator have done just this. We loved this very well run and beautifully kept bed and breakfast property.
I leave this review with reluctance as I hate finding it fully booked when I want to go there :-)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,649 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing