We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatly Exceeded Expectations!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Greatly Exceeded Expectations!”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

For our honeymoon, my wife and I "borrowed" a one-week time share at Coconut Beach Resort through an friend who is an II member. Being curious, before our trip, we went to CBR's website and came to TripAdvisor to see what we could learn about the place. The CBR website made the place seem beautiful, though information and photos there were limited. Some of the reviews here on TripAdvisor were less than flattering, but we went ahead anyway, since we had gotten a pretty good deal from our friend.

On arrival, we expected the man at the front desk to be less than the world's friendliest person (from what we'd read here), but the gentleman (sorry, can't remember his name) couldn't have been nicer. As soon as I told him who we were, he pulled out a personalized folder with our name on it (it's nice to be expected), full of information about CBR and the surrounding area. VERY helpful!

We hauled our luggage up to our room (the only serious drawback to CBR that we found -- no elevators), and upon entering, we were amazed. First, we didn't just have a room, we had a SUITE! A very nice living area with adjoining kitchen and dining area! A few steps down the hallway led us to the bedroom with a king sized bed with a dresser and armoir. From the bedroom and the living area we could walk out onto a private deck covered by an awning, overlooking the beautiful tropical foliage. From these quarters we had access to another complete, separate bedroom, also with a king-sized bed, dresser, TV, microwave and mini-fridge.

I understand that my wife and I were quite fortunate during our stay at Coconut Beach. Not all the accommodations at CBR are equal. Not everyone has a private deck (but you might have a nice pair of rocking chairs outside), not everyone will have a suite of rooms. Some folks might only have one room, with the aforementioned bed, dresser, TV, microwave and mini-fridge. I guess one gets what one pays for, and if you're not sure what you're getting, call ahead and find out.

We found our accommodations to be very clean and well-maintained. The appliances and furniture may not have been brand new or state-of-the-art, but served their purposes more than adequately.

The pool area is like a tropical garden, with lush foliage and palm trees everywhere. The waterfall in the pool adds to the ambience of a tropical paradise. I wonder why the pool deck is built with red brick (aesthetically beautiful, but VERY hot on bare feet in the midday sun), but what the heck -- we kept our sandals on when walking between the pool and our lounge chairs. The pool water is warm and crystal-clear. Lounge chairs are plentiful -- enough for everyone it seems, but if you prefer to sit in a certain area (shade or sun), it's a good idea to be an early bird, to stake your claim.

The beach, as mentioned in previous reviews, is but a small strip of sand between the pool area and the ocean. Ocean debris does gather on the beach each day, but the grounds crew rakes it up each morning. We found that we were able to wade out into the water for quite a ways before the water came up to our waists. The ocean water on most days was quite clear, and we could look down see small fish swimming around our toes in waist-deep water. We took our snorkeling gear out for a spin, and were able to see many conch (some alive, some dead, and some shells which had been taken over by hermit crabs), many beautifully-colored tropical fish, and even a sting ray! Be careful if you're snorkeling off CBR's beach -- the jet-skiers tend to come in rather close at times, and may or may not be looking out for you!

Back in the pool area, we rinsed off with the fresh-water shower and took a soak in the hot-tub (spa) -- very relaxing! There is a sign indicating that the spa and pool close at dusk, but we also noticed that people were disobeying that sign at night, and no one came around to tell them otherwise, so we did the same!

There is a nice tiki bar which is mostly unused, which is unfortunate -- CBR could get a lot of mileage (and revenue) out of that in the cooler evening hours. The only time I saw the tiki bar used was on Tuesday and Friday afternoons -- on Tuesday, a welcome party for the new arrivals, and on Friday, a farewell party for those who are leaving. These "parties," while pleasant, consisted of free rum punch (self-served from a cooler at the tiki bar) and an hour's worth of live music. A little more music and maybe some "get-to-know-your-neighbors" social activities would have made the Tuesday and Friday events much more festive and enjoyable.

My wife and I loved our time at CBR and we do plan to return next year. I hope this review is helpful -- I did include the little "discrepancies" we noticed (if you can call them that), but honestly, we found nothing to complain about. Some of the reviews I've read here make me wonder how some people ever manage to have a good time. CBR is a wonderful place, and if you'd like to ask some questions from someone who's been there, feel free!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pat21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    57
    24
    6
    20
See reviews for
46
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much, but felt the price was a bit high. Our 1 bedroom unit was ok, nothing fancy. The kitchen was very well equipped, and the view was great. We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch one afternoon during a sudden down-pour. We expected a unit that was a bit more upscale for a price of around $400. per night. We thought the location was great, but decided to rent an electric cart when we realized just how big Key West really is.

The downside for us was the bright lighting along the outside of the unit. At night, the bedroom was just too bright for our tastes. We loved the resorts architecture and layout, and the pool was very nice. We also appreciated the basement parking with ready access to electricity for our rental cart. Check in was very smooth, and upon departure our bags were gladly held for the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidwell,Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

One of the most beautiful places we have stayed, being located right on the Atlantic. The location is great, just 2 blocks from Duval and next door to Louie's Back Yard. We walked most times to the downtown area. Everything was clean and well maintained. The interior is somewhat dated, but the place is getting a complete interior refurbushing this summer. It will go from great to fabulous then! A bit pricey, but for Key West, it isn't out of sight. We will go back again and again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putinbaygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed just one night in Key West so were in this room basically only to sleep- to enter the room you stepped out onto the balcony which was interesting. We've come to realize that accomodations in Key West are a little different than other places. But, it was clean, the a/c worked great, the staff was very nice and gave us a parking pass to use hours before check-in time, that saved us $ and was really great. This resort sells their units by the week- we could see that there were other units closer to the beach that would be totally awesome to have. Our room was basic/standard- faced the street... but no real complaints. The grounds, pool, hot tub, beach- were all amazing and very well kept. The location was perfect- close to walk to Duval street but far enough that it was very quiet when it was time to fall into bed and sleep. We would love to be able to buy a week there & go back every year!! We noticed there was laundry soap provided and laundry facilities on site; it would be a really nice place to stay a whole week, we were so sorry to leave. We walked home from a fun night on Duval and sat outside to watch the waves late Saturday night- it was very romantic & fun. Hotels are pricey in Key West, that's just the deal. Some are older, a little dated, a little quirky- but again, that's just the deal in Key West. Its a trade-off for being able to go to such an amazing place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelnMikesbeachlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

My wife and I went down for the Thanksgiving week to get a way from it all. We traded down our timeshare from a one bedroom to a studio. The room was small. You could tell it was a room they would use to add to a one bedroom to make it a two bedroom. We had to enter from the street unlike most of the rooms. When you entered the room it was a small hallway where you could hear the bathroom from the adjacent resident and then the door opens right to our bathroom. There was no chair in the room just a bed and dresser and a closet like piece of furniture that we didn't use. The TV was old style but it did have a DVD/VCR. We liked the location. The shower was not the cleanest. It really needed to be replaced. It was quiet for the most part. The pool was small and crowed most of the time. We were disappointed that the pool and the spa were closed in the evening. The beach was very small. The access to Louis’s Backyard BBQ was available but be ready to spend some $$$$ there. We had hoped to be able to order food but it was just a bar $$$$$. It was good for what we wanted as we did not spend much time in the room during our stay. We hardly saw any staff. It seemed like they had a lot of folks working on the outdoor plants trimming at early morning hours. The location was great. I would stay there again but now I know what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbruba23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This place is awesome!!! We had a two bedroom unit and it was better than expected. It was a time share trade and you never know how that goes. The private beach was very nice and the pool deck is great for sunning or reading while watching the ocean. The pool is a little small but there wasn't ever very many people around it anyway. You can walk to Duvall Street but it is also very secluded. Parking is under the resort so that was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandoBurno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We traded with Interval International and were very disappointed with out results. Upon getting to the resort , the staff at the front desk apparently missed "PERSONALITY 101" in their education. Not friendly at all, felt as if we were talking with robots. We had a party of 5 people. Very disappointed with our 2 bedroom unit. The units furniture is old and our sink was constantly leaking. Our unit did not have any view except trees. I was told that all the 2 bedroom units has ocean view. We called front desk and spoke to "John" and told him we wanted to change our units since the resort was not full. He put me on hold and another person came on. I asked her if she could please change our unit since they had empty ones available. Her response was no because we reserved with Interval International. I called Interval and they had nothing else in Key West available but could go to Orlando. We just drove 6 hours from the Central Florida. The pool is okay, no real beach area. No bar or entertainment. No activities. Do some homeword before you book. There are plenty of other hotels that are very nice and less expensive. Also investigate what is going on in the island before coming down. BEWARE!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rivera9101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites
H2O Suites
#6 of 51 in Key West
73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Resort

Property: Coconut Beach Resort
Address: 1500 Alberta St, Key West, FL 33040-4793
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#12 Spa Hotel in Key West
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil, Oceanfront All-Suite Resort housed in white Key-West-style building with encircling verandas on each floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Hotel Key West
Coconut Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing