We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not come back!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Will not come back!”
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We traded with Interval International and were very disappointed with out results. Upon getting to the resort , the staff at the front desk apparently missed "PERSONALITY 101" in their education. Not friendly at all, felt as if we were talking with robots. We had a party of 5 people. Very disappointed with our 2 bedroom unit. The units furniture is old and our sink was constantly leaking. Our unit did not have any view except trees. I was told that all the 2 bedroom units has ocean view. We called front desk and spoke to "John" and told him we wanted to change our units since the resort was not full. He put me on hold and another person came on. I asked her if she could please change our unit since they had empty ones available. Her response was no because we reserved with Interval International. I called Interval and they had nothing else in Key West available but could go to Orlando. We just drove 6 hours from the Central Florida. The pool is okay, no real beach area. No bar or entertainment. No activities. Do some homeword before you book. There are plenty of other hotels that are very nice and less expensive. Also investigate what is going on in the island before coming down. BEWARE!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rivera9101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    57
    24
    8
    20
See reviews for
46
97
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I notice that their don't seem to be any recent reviews...so here goes.
Location, Location, Location..this IS the prettiest spot on the Island. Almost every FULL unit has a fantastic view. Be sure to ask about your view before you come. One room studios would not be large enough for most people to get comfortable in for more than a day or two.

The property is constantly upgrading which is a good thing but you want to be sure it's not going to conflict with your stay. Construction tends to start too early for vacationing! The furniture in the living room and dinning room space is old, soiled anvery uncomfortable. It needs to be changed in the worst way. Appliances could use some serious upgrades too. A full 2 bedroom unit is spacious enough for 2 couples max. They say they sleep 6, but you wouldn't want to. Although there is a stove (no oven) microwave and full fridge, there is no counter space, so don't expect to cook very much. There are minimum kichen neccesities provided and there is a large BBQ pit for grilling. There is a Tikki Bar but it is not functional ( that's a shame). The porches and rockets are nice but not private.

The beach small as it may be is a nice touch but most of the time has too much seaweed and a bad odor that makes it not condusive for swimming. The pool is average and could stand to be cleaned more thoroughly and more regularly. The jacuzzi has worked on about half of our visits over the years.

There are two washers and dryers on site and usually one of they is out of order.

Tony is charming and very in- the-know about activities and fun spots on the Island but rest of the staff needs and has needed an overhaul for some time. They are absolutely not hotel industry hospitality professionals. Of course that said CBR is not a hotel. It is a timeshare with some units and partial units available for rent, at certain times of the year. However there is NO excuse for the poor hospitality training/service of the staff at CBR.

Louies next door (with a connecting gate to CBR) is a fabulous and a somewhat pricey rest and bar, where we have enjoyed many wonderful meals. The flip side to that is if your unit is on the same end you will have a noisey stay.

You can not depend on Louies though because it closes periodically throughout the year.

The upside of CBR's location is that it is away from the party end of town (Duval, Sloppys and Mallory Sq)and an electric car (very popular but pricey) or a bike can get you there in 5-10 minutes. A little long for a walk especially in the heat in my opinion but others might not mind. The down-side is that you are not as close to most of the eaterys and bars but there definitely are some close by if you search them out.

As far as the timeshare owners at CBR that are "territorial" I have seen that but it is not the norm. We have been owners here for a number of years (15+) and we love meeting new people and have made some nice friendships here. I can say that it is true that you need to stake a lounge chair (tons available) early on beautiful days because that is what most are here for and they start early. As with ALL timeshare though some owners may feel a bit more territorial because they spend a lot of money to be owners at the property year in and year out and therefore are not just passing through or occassional visitors to the property.

In all Coconut Beach Resort is a beautiful Key West tropical paradise. It simply needs some folks with better attitudes and hospitality training, offerring a higher level of
customer service and some serious internal updating.

We have enjoyed Coconut Beach for many years and would like to continue to do so but we may sell or trade out if they don't get their act together.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winslow me
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Staff not very friendly resort is dated.Beds uncomfortable noisy a/c unit.Lots of nicer places in Key West for less money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridafansWinslowMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This resort presents itself beautifully on the web page they have designed. Most of the the rooms that I was able to view through windows/doors looked wonderful. The property is located in a quiet residential area and is very well maintained on the outside. WHY did I give it such a low mark? "Studio" is the key word for this not so stellar review. Booked through II and was told this was a studio apartment, totally misleading - small hotel room at best. After viewing the hotel's web site and listening to their recorded message on Coconut Beach resort phone we looked forward to relaxing on our veranda outside of our French doors and taking in the warm tropical paradise we had managed to book. HAH! We reserved a studio with a kitchenette. Upon arrival we found that the room contained a king bed. A dresser. An amoire. A luggage rack. The "kitchenette" was a converted small coat closet that housed a mini-microwave, a mini-coffee maker, a mini toaster, a mini-fridge and a small amount of utensils/dishware. Getting the point. SMALL, small, small. The bathroom (that when spreading out my arms from my side could reach across, corner to corner - the doorway into the bathroom was a 22" door and those who may be on the comfortable size would not have fit through it) contained a small pedestal sink. This was the only sink in the unit and was for brushing our teeth, washing our hands, and doing our dishes. The room's furnishings were extremely shabby, and that is being kind. Barely enough room to walk around the bed - which also doubled as the couch and dining room table. This room was at the back of the property on the street side. Our view was of the trunk of a tree and a stairway. We had a single frame door, no french doors and no veranda here, small hallway, and a bedroom. This is not a studio, it is an extremely small hotel room. If you book a regular one bedroom/two bedroom, this might be a wonderful vacation spot. If you are looking for a studio, and this resort comes up - RUN! I have traveled for years, and this is in the bottom three of places that I have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seabreeze1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
376 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Our first contact at this resort was with the front desk clerk at check-in. If you can get past the fact that he (think his name was "John", but not sure - he was there in the late afternoon/evening) is a surly chap with the personality of a soured kitchen rag, the property, although limited in amenities, is beautiful and in a good location. Tony, the activities director, was warm and accommodating. I guess those were not qualities required to work the front desk, greeting and checking in new guests upon their arrival. Our stay was a time share exchange via Interval International. We traded our 2-bedroom property for a studio with a "limited kitchen" - because we wanted to stay in Key West and that is all that was available for trade. We were hoping to get an upgrade when we arrived, but even though other units were available, Mr. Soured Rag was not willing to entertain that idea. The room was smaller than a basic hotel room, crowded by a very hard king sized bed, and had only one chair - no table in the room. The "limited kitchen" had a dorm sized refrigerator, a circa 1980's microwave, a toaster and a coffee pot crammed into a 30 inch coat closet, leaving us no where to hang our clothes. What dishes we washed, we did so in the bathroom sink. Luckily, we brought a large ice chest and plenty of paper plates, bowls, cups and spoons, along with several gallons of bottled water. One of the stronger points of the "resort' was the very well functioning ice machine that we shared with the other guests on property. One other positive comment is that parking was never a problem. The air conditioning and ceiling fan kept us cool while in the room, and the outdoor pool was refreshing and clean. The ocean was just steps away, but only good for viewing as the beach area was no larger than the swimming pool, covered in sea grass, and smelled like spoiled eggs. The property advertised free wifi, but we had to go outside and up to the 3rd floor porch area to get a signal, although we got the best signal in the lobby of the property, but I had to be stared at by Mr. Soured Rag while I was there. I had read negative reviews about this property, but we went there anyway, with an open mind, hoping the other reviewers were overly critical. They were actually right on target.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelDiva001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We just returned from Coconut Beach Resort through Intervale and we loved it. It is a low frills quiet resort righ along the ocean's edge. Their "beach" is not the type you lounge on with chairs. Their cement patio goes straight to the ocean and the minimal beach allows a nice walk into the water. At low tide, there was plenty of sand for the kids to play in. It was nice to sit by the waves and have the kids play in the sand or the pool within eyesight. Best of both worlds. Didn't mind the community porch. In fact it was nice to stretch the legs and sit on at night. The onebedroom room was spacious. My only complaint was storage. There was one tiny dresser for the whole family. Also no counter space or dry food storage. We had to move pots & pans around for our stuff to fit and prepare food on top of the cold stove.
Would definitely go back. If you are looking for a higher end hotel on a man made beach with activities, music, gym etc. you can go next door to Casa Marina. We just wanted quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkatfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Feels like you own private world right on the beach!! For all of the Jimmy Buffet fans out there you can actually "stumble over to Louie's Backyard". Yes these is the spot that gave birth to the song. Recently had an exterior makeover and next year they are planning to completely re-do the interiors. Great resort!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spreackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites
H2O Suites
#1 of 51 in Key West
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Resort

Property: Coconut Beach Resort
Address: 1500 Alberta St, Key West, FL 33040-4793
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil, Oceanfront All-Suite Resort housed in white Key-West-style building with encircling verandas on each floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Hotel Key West
Coconut Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing