We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”
Review of Equator Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Equator Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

As a regular Big Rubys guest this was our first time at Equator. We really couldn't have been happier.
I do think that expectations can get the best of some folks - it is a very nice place but if you are expecting ultra luxury there is probably no place in Key West that will meet that standard.
The rooms were clean and promptly serviced everyday. My understanding is that they are renovating the last two rooms from the property that was taken over next door.
Breakfast is basic continental plus - bagels & English muffins w/ a toaster, muffins, pastries, cold cereal, boiled eggs, juice, coffee and milk. We never went hungry.
Happy hour was more than I expected - beer, wine, pina coladas, rum runners and snacks. The staff was very helpful in offering refills.
About half of the guest went nude if that is something you like or offends. During the day, sexual escapades were at a minimum. Late nights saw an increase but that is to be expected.
Rooms were comfortable, with some complaining about tired mattresses.
It was a new neighborhood to explore and quite close to the waterfront. The 4 blocks to Duval was a none issue for us.
The staff was friendly, helpful and cute!
We have already booked our visit for next year.

Room Tip: Just ask if the room has been renovated if in the recently annexed portion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregoDfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Equator is one of the last male only gay resorts in the Key West.
The addition of the adjoining property has been done nicely. The room we stayed in hasn't been renovated yet but I'm sure it will be shortly. We were booked in for a week so when I inquired about changing our room it wasn't really met with enthuisam...even if we paid more. so we stuck with the room. Breakfast, happy hour were all good. The clientele is mainly 40's, 50's, 60's and the techno music got really tiring after a day or two! I totally understand the need for white noise but I think there are some better choices and this wasn't white noise. My recommendation to the management is go to Pineapple point in Ft. Lauderdale and experience their atmosphere. The room cleaning staff could be more pleasant. Despite tipping they seemed less than happy. I'm sure they will continue to work hard at improving the property even more and will have an even better resort in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayfuncalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked late and did not have much choice. As it turned out, this BnB has purchased an existing BnB next door and combined the outdoor spaces. We must have been staying in the recently remodeled rooms, because it was extremely nice, with tiled shower, and new everything. It is a gay men's resort, and the guests were all very pleasant. The staff was very nice and accommodating, never a rude person anywhere. I would stay there again. Thanks for a great long weekend trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AU046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I travel to Key West regularly staying in all ranges of accommodations. This was my 4th Equator visit and 1st since their addition of the property next door.

The Good Stuff:
They did a wonderful job of incorporating the property next door; it looks flawless. The exspanded Equator is beautiful, spacious and functional.
Rooms equally nice; looking to have been recently updated.
Public areas, facility's and our room are all well maintained and super clean.
The Old Town location is an easy walk to Duval and the majority of all Key West attractions.

Areas That Fell Short/Failed:
The young man that checked us in was not very professional.
Guy that orchestrated happy hour was not friendly. Spends too much of his time chatting with the front desk guy.
Breakfast was disappointing every day! Nothing hot; no eggs, oatmeal or fruit salad? The only protein was a couple boiled eggs a couple days. Even the juice was gross...
Ran out of pool towels nightly.
Pools both very warm; not refreshing. One pool should be kept cooler.
The controlled access is a joke. The back gate door to the side street was left open 2 out of the 5 days. On 2 evenings local "non-guests" hung out using the Wi-Fi. I know this for a fact because I chatted with them...
Bathroom sink water smelled of sulfer/sewage?
Adult channels played the same porn every day for 5 days; one channel never worked at all.
However nice the room; bed/linens/pillows in general were cheap, not upto standard. King size pillows on a queen bed were cumbersome.

In conclusion: I really want to like the Equator and be able to recommend it to friends. There was just so many little things wrong. Due to the decreasing gay/male only options, there's not much of a choice. However the management/owners need to step it up. Not responding to Trip Advisor reviews doesn't make them look good either...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

As a disclaimer, I have to advise that we didn't stay here, but visited with friends of ours on 4 days who were staying here. We would come for the daily happy hour around the pool. The room they were in was VERY nice. This property has been remodeled, and everything looks and feels new, while keeping the local charm that Key West is known for. They were on the second floor, and had a balcony overlooking the (clothing optional) pool, which was nice. The TV set up includes access (free) to several 'adult male' erotic channels. The happy hour around the pools every afternoon provided free wine, beer, or frozen drinks. The staff was very friendly, and had no problem with my partner and I attending with our friends, even though they knew we weren't staying there. They were generous with the drinks, and came around to our table to see if we needed refills several times. The room was nicely decorated. The lobby and corridors are VERY nicely decorated. Since we didn't stay here, I'm not sure what our friends paid, but believe it was around $250 per night...... Lodging is high ANYWHERE on Key West, so while that may sound high, it probably isn't much higher than other places, and I believe it is worth it. The place has a nice 'resort' feel, instead of just a motel or B&B. I think we will probably stay here next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Garam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The management and service personnel are the most unfriendly people you could ever meet. After booking a room five months ahead of time and having a confirmation for the room, we found upon arrival that they had switched our room - and there was nothing that they would do about it! We have stayed in the past so this kind of treatment was unacceptable. The rooms were never cleaned well, the personnnel were unattentive and unhelpful, absolutely with a huge attitude. The breakfasts were disappointing - stale bread and bagels, stale cereal, hard boiled eggs and yogurt. There were rarely any towels available at poolside and absolutely no one on staff wanted to be bothered when there was a problem. They were busy smoking, chatting with each other, and never happy. The price charged for the rooms requires attentiveness and kindness and a willingness to serve the customers. I guess as the only game in town, other than the Island House, they really don't care anymore. This is not a nice place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014
12  Thank Kristofero D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As longtime Big Ruby's fans, we were a little nervous about staying at Equator for the first time.

It took only a few moments for our doubts to be erased. We have found our new winter getaway in Key West! The staff (kudos to Michael, Tim and Perry) is always smiling and helpful, and made us feel at home right away.

Equator has done a nice job of combining its property with the former Coral Tree. There are two pools, two hot tubs, and lots of loungers, all surrounded by lush tropical plantings. Most visitors, but not all, ditch the bathing suit, but the atmosphere is very low-key and mellow.

Don't skip happy hour! Besides the free-flowing beer, wine and frozen drinks, it's where you'll meet people from around the country and the world, and share tips on restaurants, shopping, etc. The scene is always loud and filled with laughter, and the host/bartender makes sure your glass is always full.

Breakfast is fine, with a variety of pastries, along with hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. There's a fridge and microwave in your room if you want to pick up your own food for meals or snacks.

The location, close to Duval Street but far enough away from its noise and crowds, is convenient for some great restaurants (Help Yourself is an organic cafe/market across the street that's perfect for lunch, and Mangia Mangia, one of our faves for fresh pasta, is just around the corner), and the bars are a safe, quiet 10-minute walk.

Key West may not be "as gay" as it used to be, but it's still a beautiful, relaxing place to escape from winter. Wonderful restaurants, fun bars, good shopping, charming architecture and Equator!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ptuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equator Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equator Resort

Address: 822 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range: £107 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all male - clothing optional Equator Resort in Key West meets all your needs and expectations to experience a relaxed and private escape. Beautifully designed and landscaped this high end post modern Caribbean resort invites our guest to enjoy a secure and exclusive all male experience. Offering numerous accommodations options ranging from island views, pool views with private balconies or our private owners suite all our rooms provide private baths. Included in each night stay are: Complimentary Continental Breakfast daily with fresh locally baked savory pastries, Complimentary Happy Hour daily with selections of frozen drinks, beer, wine and liquor options, Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property and 9 complimentary adult male channels in each room. Only 3 blocks from Duval St and nestled in the heart of Historic Old Town Equator is the only choice for location, comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Equator Hotel Key West
Equator Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing