We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hideaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at Lighthouse Court for one night in May. It was so quaint! The room was small but had everything that we need for the night. The reception desk personnel were great and so was Pete, our server in the bar. The pool was small but very refreshing. Breakfast consisted of cereals, bagesl with assorted spreads, cofee, tea, OJ. Very nice. I would stay here again if I come back to Key west.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine7187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

A beautiful property oozing real Key West charm, warm and welcoming and nestled amongst palm trees. It was exactly as the photos on the website we booked with (booking.com). A small very attractive boutique hotel, beautifully designed with island influences, it has a lovely pool/decked courtyard and bar. Our room was tucked around a corner at the side of the property and was really quiet, even with guests in the room above we never heard them. A good sized room, nicely furnished, huge comfortable bed, the room was a bit dusty. The bathroom was small, but had everything you need, would benefit from a small shelf and a couple of hooks as there was no place to put any toiletries or to hang damp pool towels/swimwear, but that wouldn’t put us off coming here again.

Breakfast is served around the pool and is plentiful, a good selection, delish muffins, bagels and good coffee.

Robbie on the Front Desk is super helpful and really friendly, she’s an asset to the hotel and went above and beyond to help us print a document for our onward journey, and was very knowledgeable about the area and gave good recommendations for dinner, sightseeing, Mallory Square, Duval Street, Southernmost Point Buoy etc. There is no wifi in the guest rooms, but its available around the bar/front porch, so no problem. A truly nice relaxing place to be.

The room rate we had included complimentary breakfast, the hotel is expensive for a 3* hotel for Bed & Breakfast. But it is Key West, it's a historic inn and in a superb location, so much nicer than staying in a big hotel chain. We stayed 2 nights and would have liked to stay longer, it was our first time in Key West, we traveled from the UK, drove from Miami and were exploring the Keys. We will definitely return one day. Great location, within walking distance of bars, restaurants, shops and Mallory Square, one block back from Duval. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LongHaulMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well I guess I should say that we never stayed there. We arrived on A holiday weekend to find we had no reservation. The credit card was charged than was refunded a couple days before we showed up with no noticed. I do not like to leave bad feedback but this was distressing to be in key west on a holiday with no hotel. The lady at the front desk was trying to figure out what happened and found us a room at key lime inn, which was spectacular. Since they are sister hotels, They knocked $50 off one night. Rooms for both hotels were $330 per night holiday cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello Laura T,

We are very sorry for the unfortunate error with your reservation, as we would have loved to have had you stay with us at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. We are thrilled to know that the alternate accommodations we found for you at the Key Lime Inn exceeded your expectations, and we hope we will see you in the future. I highly recommend that guests make reservations directly with the hotel instead of on-line through other booking companies as you did, in order to avoid unnecessary complications from arising. We're glad you had a great holiday weekend in Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a nice hotel with a good location and a very nice garden and pool area. You get much for a good price. The breakfast was not too good though (very simple). WIFI connection was almost nonexistent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We're really glad to hear you appreciated the great location and courtyard areas at the Lighthouse Court Hotel.

All stays include a complimentary continental breakfast which includes various yogurts, pastries delivered freshly every day from a local bakery, assorted breakfast cereals, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, toast, orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, and more. It's a pretty great spread for a continental breakfast!

Getting wireless internet access in all of the guestrooms has been a challenge, but we're excited to let everyone know that we have a company working on it right now. We've been told that the WiFi should be available throughout the entire hotel within the next 6 - 8 weeks. Hooray!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Awesome hotel, Reviews on line had us a little nervous, but we were more than satisfied here. We had a King Room and it was perfect for the two of us. The hotel is so close to some amazing restaurants and historic sites!! We stayed for 5 days and found the staff to be extremely helpful & friendly! There is no doubt we will be back!! The Mojito Bar was a real plus & don't forget to include the lighthouse as your backdrop for your pictures...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel probably doesn't get a lot of business travelers as most guests seem to be there for vacation. But I was there for business and I would stay there again. When I arrived (early) my room wasn't ready, but I got out my laptop and worked in their poolside cafe. When my room was ready, the front desk clerk came to tell me and gave me the key. The bartender in the poolside cafe was friendly and attentive. I also enjoyed breakfast the next morning by the pool before I headed out to my appointments. I thought the location was great and I enjoyed walking around the one evening I was there. They have very limited parking and I had to park on the street, but when I got done with work, around 7pm I didn't have much trouble finding a spot to park less than a block from the hotel. The room was small but for one night it was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We just spent a week here and, while we were overall satisfied with our visit, there are a few things that could have been better.

Pros:

*Location - The hotel is only one street over from Duval; right across from the Hemingway Museum; Next door to the Lighthouse Museum; And only a few blocks away from the Southernmost point. There's plenty of dining and/or bars within a several block radius, especially up on Duval (including a 24hr Denny's, right on the corner at Duval/Truman) and the Conch Train has a stop on the next block up as well. It's a pretty perfect location and not overly noisy. We walked just about everywhere the entire time we were there (Duval is only 14 blocks long).

*Friendly staff & Free wi-fi - although the wi-fi is really spotty the farther you are from the main office. Most people just sat on the office porch if they wanted to use it for any extended period of time. We were in the last bungalow, next to the lighthouse, and my husband got the wi-fi just fine, but I had to be practically on top of it.

*Clean Pool area and continental breakfast, plus drink coupons on check-in. The hotel also provided fairly nice beach towels for guests to use at the pool if you didn't think to bring your own.

*Spacious guest rooms, clean towels daily and clean linens (lots of pillows!!) and a flat screen tv (although the remote was pretty dodgy). There was no closet, but several hooks and a full length mirror were sufficient for our needs. There was also a small dresser, bedside tables and mini-fridge provided. And, plenty of outlets for gadgets and chargers. The hotel also provides the usual "spa"-type sample toiletries of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion and hand soap.

*Private porch and seating, if you're lucky enough to have one of the street rooms (which we were).

*Small private "play" area with corn-hole games and outdoor seating off the pool deck/rear of the hotel.

Cons:

*Parking - The hotel only has 9 parking spaces located behind the hotel (or so we were told. We never went back there to explore.) There are half a dozen free spaces out front as well, but those are typically always full. Almost everything else in the immediate area is either Residential Parking (which you cannot rent or use) or paid parking (meters or lots). If you are lucky enough to find an open spot on the street (it's all parallel parking) chances are good you will have to walk several blocks to and from your vehicle; and some of the areas South didn't seem like places you'd want to be leaving your car. We initially parked a block and half to the South, in front of a small church, but were lucky enough to snag one of the spaces directly in front of the hotel late on our first night. We didn't even consider moving the car once we'd parked, knowing we'd never get a second chance at that location.

*The floor of our bungalow was absolutely filthy. Our first night we thought it might have been sticky from being in our sneakers all day, but the bottoms of our feet were black after walking on the floors. We started wearing slippers and flip-flops anytime we were just walking around the room. The rooms could probably all stand a good steam cleaning. (Maybe the hotel should invest in a couple of Sharks.)

*There was a distinct mold smell at times. Maybe it's b/c the buildings are old, but then I noticed that there was plastic sheeting above the roof line on the front of several of the bungalows. I don't know if they are currently under construction or what, but it was worrying.

*Bugs in the bathroom light fixture. It's Florida, but it was still gross and could really stand to be cleaned out.

*The AC seemed to pull smells from outside. I noticed a garbage can right next to our AC unit on the first and subsequent nights and there were several times where my husband and I both thought we smelled poop. There was also an ash tray with a spent cigar on the stump right outside our window.

Overall, our Key West experience was a good one and I actually would recommend this hotel to friends who want a good location that's not too close to all the hubbub of Duval. Just remember to pack your own toiletries and a pair of slippers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Swtctstrphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
4 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Address: 902 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-7423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £143 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Lighthouse Court Hotel located in the heart of Old Town, Key West Florida. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 40 guest rooms and is located next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum. Just one block off Duval Street, the location affords instant access to some of our favorite things to do in Key West including the Mallory Square sunset celebration, Sloppy Joe's Bar, Margaritaville, the Conch Train, the Harry Truman Little Whitehouse, and the Southernmost Point marker. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Continental Breakfast. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Large Heated Pool. Boutique Hotel. Mojito Bar Poolside. Located In Old Town Key West. Walk To Duval Street, Attractions & Beaches. Excellent Location For Weddings At Hemingway House. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. Self Parking in Hotel Parking Lot For $10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West
Lighthouse Court Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing