We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget room at Lighthouse Court” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Budget room at Lighthouse Court”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Key West. The Lighthouse Court is in a perfect location. One block off mid-Duval, so it is a 10 -15 minute walk to Fort Zachary Taylor Park, Mallory Square, Southernmost Point, and right across the street from the Hemingway House. It is also right near Blue Heaven, one of my favorite restaurants of all time.

There is a nice courtyard, with a heated pool, and plenty of chaise lounges for relaxing in the sun. The breakfast was fine - bagels, english muffins, juice, coffee, oranges and coffee. We were able to use the property's free parking and not have to worry about our car the entire weekend.

We were on a pretty tight budget, and didn't plan to spend much time at our hotel, so we booked a "budget room" for two nights at $120/ night plus tax and service. The budget part is that it is a shared bath. The bedroom was tiny and basic. We didn't need much more, as all we did was sleep there. However, we felt we were a bit misled by the website which said there are "two bathrooms." There are two rooms with facilities; one with a sink and toilet and one with two showers and two sinks. The showers were fine, but there were eight of us in the budget rooms, and I did find myself in line for the one toilet at 2:15 am.
I have stayed in many places with shared baths, but never with eight people for one toilet. That said, the room was fine, and we would stay there again, but spend a little bit more if it would get us a private bath.

  • Liked — Location and pool
  • Disliked — Shared bath
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aselco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    352
    114
    63
    23
See reviews for
109
535
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2007

I would stay here if you want the peaceful Key West. Pool area and cabanas are very relaxing. One block off of Duval, it is about a 15 minute walk to Mallory Square. A trolley stop is one block away. Very minimal parking which is a pain.

  • Liked — Typical Key West
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2007

With this being my first visit I wasn't to sure on where to stay when coming to Key West but had lighthouse court recommended by friends. It was a pleasant place with a very relaxing atmosphere. I found the room to my high standard of cleanliness, the bar (limited hours) and heated pool are most delightful; However I would like to have seen a coffee maker in my room. The staff were great and helped with lots of recommendations on places to go during the day and where to eat.
I would defiantly pass my information on and hope that people enjoy there stay at lighthouse court as much as I did.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank global_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2007

Just returned from five days in Key West where we stayed at Lighthouse Court. Upon check-in the staff was quite rude. They DO NOT go out of their way to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. We booked a superior queen room which was supposed to have a queen bed. The bed was clearly a double, though they insisted it was a queen, and the room was sparsely furnished. The shower was so small you could barely turn around in it. The room also came with continental breakfast which wasn't very impressive either - bagels, toast, coffee. I know the cost of Lighthouse Court is reasonable but they could definitely afford to upgrade their establishment.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank alibbs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

The hotel was nice, free breakfast was acceptable and nice little pool area. Great location was in walking distance to everything, and only one block from Duval St, which is perfect for a long night out.

The main problem was we were in a efficiency room in the back. The “A” block. Which was a European setup, which we did not anticipate or were informed beforehand, ie a shared bathroom and shower between 4 rooms. With 2 people per room sharing 1 bathroom among 8 people was a bit hairy and the only main complaint I had.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Toejammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

We decided to stay at the Lighthouse Court because of it's nice prices and it's location to Duval St. We were planning on walking everywhere and wanted somewhere in the middle of the stretch. What a great little place! We decided to stay frugal with the room and got a standard room (one double bed). The room was clean and nicely decorated. They have nice toiletries and towels. I wouldn't recommend that type of room if you aren't very close to who you're staying with. The bathroom wall didn't go all the way up to the ceiling (the room had nice vaulted ceilings) and the intimate details of bathroom-going were not private. Also, don't plan on taking short showers because the water pressure is very low.

The grounds and pool area are gorgeous and the pool was so warm!! The breakfast, while pretty basic, was always fresh and served poolside every morning. We had a great experience there and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — beautiful grounds and pool
  • Disliked — loud spring breakers(?) coming back at 4 a.m.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Odie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2007

We stayed at the Lighthouse Court after reading many reviews of many properties. We were a bit worried, especially after one reviewer's comment about a "bullet hole" in the window. The Lighthouse Court turned out to be a pleasant surprise; nice staff, good location, and nice atmosphere. The room itself was nothing special - Spartan comes to mind - but it was really clean and the bathroom was nicely equipped with new towels and good-quality toiletries. Parking basically doesn't exist at the hotel but we happened onto street parking in front of the hotel and didn't move our car the entire weekend. The property is enclosed by a wall around the perimeter and no room seems to face directly onto the street. But try to get a room that is on the interior because it's nicer to walk out into the courtyard/pool area, which is nicely landscaped and great for sitting & relaxing. The office - as shown on the floorplan - is next to the main entrance and the rooms along that wall are on Whitehead Street.

If you're looking for ideas about things to do in Key West, check out Rand McNally's Southeast Getaway Guide. We used it for both maps and information about things to see & do. It was a great resource and was the only information we needed to get around town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Spartan room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nnommad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Property: Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Address: 902 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-7423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Lighthouse Court Hotel located in the heart of Old Town, Key West Florida. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 40 guest rooms and is located next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum. Just one block off Duval Street, the location affords instant access to some of our favorite things to do in Key West including the Mallory Square sunset celebration, Sloppy Joe's Bar, Margaritaville, the Conch Train, the Harry Truman Little Whitehouse, and the Southernmost Point marker. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Continental Breakfast. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Large Heated Pool. Boutique Hotel. Mojito Bar Poolside. Located In Old Town Key West. Walk To Duval Street, Attractions & Beaches. Excellent Location For Weddings At Hemingway House. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. Self Parking in Hotel Parking Lot For $10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West
Lighthouse Court Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing