We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week at Sunset Key!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My family (2 adults and 2 children) spent a week at Sunset Key in March 2012. We highly recommend it for anyone visiting Key West, especially if you have children. It was very helpful to have a quiet place to go in the evenings when the night life in Key West got to be too much.
We loved the cottages (worth it to pay for beachfront view) and appreciated the top notch service. Everyone was very accomodating to special requests. My only suggestion is that Sunset Key should pay more attention to housekeeping in the cottages during the stay. On several occasions I had to ask for a return visit when obvious things were missed (cleaning the bathrooms, etc.). Overall, we had a great experience and we would happily return.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms which face the pool if you want peace during the day.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thanks so much for your review! All reviews are passed along to all staff for training and improvement purposes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Key Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Westin sunset key. It's a great resort, had the pool all to our selfs the beach very nice and hardly anyone on there. Had breakfast and lunch at latitudes it was great. If your wanting a quite and relaxing vacation this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismclemore777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Location excellent although day trippers from the Westin Key West (they pay $40 to come) can be annoying. Service mediocre, restaurant overrated and housekeeping rather poor. Saying that the location and cottages more than make up for the negatives. Despite gripes would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nedwob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The resort has a serious problem with its newest and nicest cottage "Paradise". The cottage is the old Latitudes restaurant located next to the dock. The entire week we had other guests cutting through, not just the property, but the private patio (day and night) while we were sunning and having our afternoon cocktails. Very bad design by the resort. The proper resort staff was informed of this three times, but no action. We even had someone try to enter the cottage very late at night. Not so relaxing. Hope this problem is fixed soon. Could lead to some very bad reviews.

Room Tip: All cottages are good
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mughut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review. Because of of your feedback, we are working to increase both natural barriers surrounding Paradise, as well as signage to direct other guests away from the cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Right after you step off the ferry on to the island, the word relax pops in to your mind. That word keeps its place in your mind throughout the trip. the beach is not overly crowded (actually usually nearly empty) so it is a very relaxing experience. we stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage. plenty of space for all. beds were extremely comfortable. the food was great at all restraunts and room service on the island. the service was amazing as well. the complimentary ferry service to key west makes easy access for activities on the key. we really enjoyed our vacation, even when we had 3 kids with us. the pool was also very relaxing.

Room Tip: Get a Beach cottage so you can walk right on to beach in morning and se cruise ships dock.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your review. Please join us for some more "relaxing" very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

In the spring of 2011, we were guests at Sunset Key with friends who invited us to share a three-bedroom cottage for a long week-end. We did go in to Key West proper for sight-seeing and several meals, but nothing topped the comfort, the service, the food, or the ambience we found steps from our cottage. Sunset Key was a most relaxing, uncrowded, and special place!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage close to the pool... it is not a raucous place, and the view is lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macy244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

What nice friends you have! Glad you enjoyed your stay - please join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just returned after a three day stay in March 2012. I was a bit concerned after reading several negative reviews but can honestly say that this resort is perhaps the nicest and most luxurious resort I have ever visited. I have stayed at several very high end resorts including the Four Seasons Biltmore so I appreciate what a five star resort entails.

Sunset Key offers very well-appointed and private cottage minutes away from the hectic pace of Key West. The grounds are very lush with a beautiful zero-entry pool and a private white sand beach. We found the service to be excellent and the food the resort was very good as well.

If you are looking for a ultra-exclusive luxurious private resort you are at the right place. Yes, it is very expensive but well worth it in my opinion. There is a reason that Oprah and Madonna both have private homes on this island. If you can afford it spend the money.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view cottage which was nice. I personally don't see the point in paying f...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfcouch155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. By the way - don't believe all the "facts" you hear about our island on the jetski tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,607 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £620 - £1,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest
Sunset Key Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing