We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky to be upgraded to such a lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My girlfriend and our 4 daughters had planned to stay 2 nights in Key West at the Westin. Upon arrival we were offered an upgrade at no additional cost to one of their luxurious villas on their own private island just 5 minutes off Key West.
What a treat! 3 double BR & 3 baths villa right on the beach.
Top service, great food, private beach and the most amazing sunset!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XTF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Lucky ladies! Glad you had a nice time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

this is a luxurious property that although you are in Key West you think you are at a 5 star resort with aprivate beach, pool and amazing service. A yacht transports you to and from Key West so you can have thge fun of the city and the peacefulness of a spectacular resort. Concierge, Rudolfo Castillo, is one of the best staff members I have encountered in all of my travels. He made every wish a reality!!!!

Lattitudes Restaurant has amazing sunset views and wonderful food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

it was wonderful from the minute we arrived. we were met by the concierge on the private pier and escorted to our beachfront cottage. the cottage was well appointed and very comfortable- 3 full baths were perfect. The concierge made excellent recommendations- totally enjoyed the jet ski tour of the island- we were even picked up at the pier! The breakfast basket of fruit/muffins/breads/juice and the newspaper were a welcome addition to the morning. The pool and beach were great- plenty of towels, chairs and palm huts. we enjoyed the gym each morning- we had it all to ourselves! We had dinner at latitudes - excellent food and service not to mention the spectacular view. The staff of the entire island was wonderful - they above and beyond. There were even fishing poles so my 9 year old son was able to fish from the pier. 15 year old daughter loved the beach. overall, excellent family vacation for all of us. will definitely return.

Room Tip: stayed beachfront and it was wonderful but any cottage would be fine. wonderful relaxing atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you - please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We began our stay in "Paradise" on 7/22 for 6 nights. It was our 3rd year back traveling with my sister and her family who returned for their 12th+ year (it could be more but I lost track). The service is amazing. Justin Earle and his team always go above and beyond providing my sister and my family with extraordinary service, which is one of reasons why we go back year after year. When we arrived off the shuttle we were greeted by Rudolfo (sorry if I got the name wrong) who walked us to our 3 bedroom villas and surprised us when he told us they had been recently renovated from top to bottom--they were beautiful!! Viktor wasn't working the luggage carts but we had a "Viktor" stand in who did as good a job, without a doubt. The pool was fabulous as always although a little more crowded than our previous stays. My sister's friends from Kentucky/Tennessee also returned during our stay (on purpose) and this time with the addition of a fiance..happy engagement to Lauren and Kendall!! The Flippers crew were
on their best game as always and we love the fruit kabobs and the warm gorganzola steak salad. Please don't take it off your menu!! Latitudes was at it's best as during our previous stays. My sister and niece and I love the steel cut oatmeal and the protein smoothies! Dinner was our favorite time for all 9 of us to watch the amazing sunset..truly breathtaking. We did have some concerns during our stay regarding guests who were not staying on the island and the easy accessibilty they had coming over on the shuttle, however speaking with Justin we hope that next year the security issue will be strictly monitored.. Regarding safety on the island, I felt it was safe to let my 9 and 12 year old walk back to the villa from Latitudes alone. On one occasion my daughter got turned around but a helpful staff member was able to get her in the right direction and took her back to our villa. I highly suggest that if you are vacationing in Key West you must take a trip over to Sunset Key and have dinner at Latitudes at sunset. It's truly amazing!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name. Please note that one of the following is required in order to board the boat to Sunset Key: 1) Reservations at Sunset Key Guest Cottages 2) Reservations at Latitudes 3) Appointment at The Spa at Sunset Key or 4) Pass to Sunset Key Beach, so Sunset Key is extremely secure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The concierge staff, the GENEROUS early am basket of fresh bread and fruit delivered to our doorstep, the warm waters of the gulf in the swimming area and ice cold drinks served to yor our private shaded palm hut make Westin sunset key a repeat family vacation. charters can pick you up and take you to sea for dinner, deep sea fishing or snorkeling. The concierge staff made our wishes reality. They knew each of us well by departure. If flights leave late ask abou a private area to lock valuables shower and dress. No sand ....lockers large enough for baggage. All bags are wrapped in waterproof material as they shuttle over though there's little possibility of a drop of water touching them! The shuttle to and fom key west took ten minutes and gave us options. It's air conditioned and punctual! Latitudes restaurant ifish tacos are amazing! The pool could be cooler and it's shallow but still lovely. Stay oceanside if possible! Only negatives: The door latches are odd , tough to get closed but nothing was disturbed. The room had a full kitchen. We were short a plate and place setting and had to ask a few times to get it....We finally got paper! Our landline room telephones were interrupted almost the entire stay. They told us its a problem so we used our cells to call in requests. The cottage had been freshly painted and was clean though expect an occasional lizard to appear inside! Wear floatable flip flops to the beach then stuff them in your complimentary float headrest or keep them on! The beach sand is full of coral near the waters edge only and a bit tough on the feet but once in the water it's divine!! Beach shoes are a must entering and exiting the water ! Thank you concierge staff for making our family trip great! We loved our trip! Yall have great resources for deep sea fishing snorkeling and kayaking! We made the error of not using Westin shuttle service to the hotel and used local taxi ... The local taxi drivers dog drooled on my leg ( he was hot and panting.... yuk) and smelled be sure to let your concierge send a taxi to get you! ..... Call Once you've arrived and get a Westin endorsed taxi.

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean view are beautiful in the morning. Kitchens are upstairs in three bedroom cottages oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a nice vacation. Please note that neither Westin property has a dedicated shuttle service to/from the airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place is not safe for children
I wont say anything else. Lots of rodents and filthy garbage everywhere.
When the smell wakes you up in the morning you know its time to leave.
The staff parties all night long and when complaints were made no one seems to care
The tennis courts haven't been groomed in at least a year. Bed bugs need I say more.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank tsluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Since a nearly identical review, with the same subject, was posted to our sister resort's TripAdvisor page on the same day, we believe this review to be phony. We have contacted the reviewer to get more information, such as their confirmation number, and they have not provided this information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

WOOOOOOOW!! What an amazing place! A private island.
We had our wedding at the Westin on the pier 6/9/12. The Westin gave us a free night stay on 6/10/12 and what an amazing gift it was! Thank you! We had a 2 bedroom cottage and it was amazing. We even have champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and a congratulations card from the director of banquets waiting for us. What a nice touch. Talk about service.
We invited some friends over to share in our gift. Later that evening, we found a hammock near the water and we watched the stars. SO NICE.
The only downside was that I booked our honeymoon flight for 6am 6/11. :( So we only had a few hours to enjoy the room. We had to leave our room at 3:30am to get to the airport on time. That's not the Westins fault at all. We're just sad we had to leave such a nice place. We will stay there for sure in the near future.
We've been to Latitudes three times but this was our first time staying. We can't wait to get back to Sunset Keys!
Thank you Westin for a wonderful, amazing start to our honeymoon!!

Room Tip: You're on a private island...all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Congratulations and thank you so much! How about an anniversary trip?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £636 - £1,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest
Sunset Key Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing