We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be 5 star but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Pros. Beautiful setting. Clean and spacious cottages . Very friendly staff , great to the kids. Quiet and peaceful. Beach small but spacious.marinelife abound.. Family of manatees were swimming right near shore and fish galore by the docks where the hotel let's kids use fishing poles and gives them bait for free! Baskets of goodies in am with orange juice nice touch.latitudes excellent service and food but I agree with other guest post, food actually comes too fast and you do get the feeling of being rushed.

Cons: beach attendee lazy and not friendly, many times I had to get my own towels and fix my chair.. He starts cleaning up around 2-3 you feel like its time to go. no drink service at beach if there is service ends at 2 pm. I didn't see it. Beach is soooooo rocky that it is torture getting into the water. All the hotel would have to do is rake these rocks/shrapnel out and the beach would be perfect. One guest actually manually made a path for all of us to get into the water pain free. Pool small and had quite a bit of bird poop in it. My teens wouldn't swim in it because of this. Pool bar should be open later but it closes , no food after 4. Soooo not many options to eat.. Hotel should advise guests to bring food over from mainland to stock their fridge. only one restaurant... Only serve Starbucks coffee which I am NOT a big fan.. Should offer a milder brand in am. key west tourist boats fly by all day and one booze cruise actually blocks the sunset every night... You have to move to get a photo without the boat in front of it. one night they were screaming across the bay at us and laughing ??? !!

Overall, I would or could not stay here for more than 3 days. But did enjoy our stay.Just not enough activities or options to eat. Hated key west so didn't enjoy going there at night. if you want quiet, relax, and enjoy a book and cocktail on your porch.. Great for that and I enjoyed the quiet.

Stayed: April 2014
6  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed the peace and quiet of the island. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement. Your feedback provides us with valuable information we can use to review on for the future and all reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. We do provide a grocery list with the option to pre-stock your cottage prior to arrival. Thanks again for taking the time to review our resort.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is the most beautiful place I've stayed in a very, very long time.
With that said let's start at the beginning.
We were supposed to stay in the Westin in a king deluxe ocean front room. I asked if we could see an ocean front suite and Brittany was kind enough to let us check it out.
The suite was a little tired and worn but was ok. Then my wife pulled back the curtains and the view was taken up by a cruise ship. Not exactly what we consider ocean view. To be fair they leave late afternoon and are not always in port.
We told Brittany it was not a good choice for us. I then asked about the availability of cottages on the island. I also told her we didn't want a three or four bedroom cottage. They are the only ones on the beach. Amy over heard that it was my birthday and she and Brittany worked hard to get us a wonderful cottage not on the beach but with a great ocean view from the porch. Thanks so much guys!!!!
On arrival to the island we met the concierge who showed us to our cottage. She told us we would get fresh orange juice at turn down and in the morning there would be a basket of fresh baked goodies on our porch. The first day that didn't happen. We spoke to the concierge and she gave us a free breakfast and corrected the problem. However we never got our bed turned down just oj and towels.
Latitudes is the restaurant on the island. It has very good food but not five star. The view during the day is very pretty but the view at sun set is extraordinary!!!!
We got massages at the spa and we agreed they were the best we ever had. I would have had more but we didn't have time.
People who aren't staying can come to the restaurant and there are also some day passes available for the beaches, pool, and restaurant. This brings in quite a few people. I think it wares on the facility. For example the public men's room had three sinks. One soap dispenser had no plunger and the other was empty. That should not be. You will also read in another review about the drunk in the restaurant. We know that is true. A once in a million thing but when you let in large groups of people it can happen.
With all of that said, this place is absolutely beautiful and must be experienced. It is an island escape without leaving the states. We will definitely be back!!!! Thanks to all the great staff at the island and also the Westin!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank M4925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Dinner at latitudes was great until getting harassed by visitors on island who could not afford to stay. These people FINALLY were asked to leave but only after an hour later of harassing 2 girls at dinner. I had to request a different table due to the low class they allow on the property.The rude guy and his I guess you would call "date" ruined our dinner but also my plans to get married on this island!!! If you are accustom to the finer things in life.... Skip this place anyone can visit for $5 fairy ride! Not what was expected for $1200 a night. Congrats 4 seasons you keep my business!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Sassafras111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest:

It is regrettable to hear that your dinner reservations at Latitudes did not meet your expectations. Latitudes and the Spa on Sunset Key are open to the public with reservations. All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to latitudes restaurant located here at the recommendation of our hotel (not the westin), you have to take a boat from the port to sunset key (runs about every 30 minutes, short ride). The restaurant is very nice, has outdoor and indoor seating and an amazing view of the sunset. In fact the sunset was just incredible. The wait staff was courteous and very helpful. Food was delicious, however I was a little upset as the food was out almost instantaneously and I felt like we were being rushed. Literally we ordered and the appetizers were out, as soon as finished the appetizer's dinner was being served. I felt rushed. That being said the tastiness of the food and the views were well worth it. This restaurant is worth it if you get there early enough to actually view the sunset, make sure your seated at least a half hour before.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest:

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Latitudes and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

After the recent death of my husband decided to head to my husbands favorite place in the world for renewal. I was with friends and was upgraded to sunset cottages ! By far, beyond all, the most awesome peaceful, luxurious 5 star accommodation and restaurant ever ! Life is short.....live it up

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were a positive part of your renewal experience. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

So as I am sure is explained in other reviews, Sunset Key is a short boat ride away from Key West. The boat leaves from one side on the hour and half hour and the other side at 15 and 45 after the hour. The ride itself is 5 to 10 minutes across the water. It is a decent size boat with an indoor and outdoor area and probably seats up to 15 or so inside and the same outside although none of our rides were that full.

The island itself is pretty awesome. I don't have a great knowledge of other options in the Key West area but from what I can tell, Sunset Key has a way better beach than the other options in the area. It really is quiet, serene and peaceful and just a short boat ride to the dense hustle and bustle of Key West.

The cottage we stayed in was nice. It was a little dated in the refrigerator and some of the décor but is was very spacious and had a good feel.

The workout facility wasn't overly large but had a little of everything.

The staff was very friendly from check in to the guy working the beach area to the lady working the pool bar.

Overall, it is expensive but depending on what you are looking for, it has good value in being nice, beautiful and peaceful while still being convenient to the main part of Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripFan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing this positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I highly recommend the guest cottages. We stayed in a two bedroom guest cottage in early March. Although our experience wasn't 100% perfect, the location, team, restaurant, and private beach overcome anything that fell short. We will return and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UTJ1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £563 - £1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest
Sunset Key Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing