We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Escape^2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Island Escape^2”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Sunset Key presents a peaceful island retreat off of "mainland" Key West.

Contrary to other guests noting the dated state of the cottages, we greatly enjoyed our two-bedroom, three bath unit, nicknamed Pelican. The well maintained bathrooms, comfy beds, and spacious common room and kitchen provided the perfect home-base for a family of four.

Just steps away, we could easily access the swimming beach and the saltwater pool. Due to the active jet-skis and constant garden maintenance, the realm of peace-and-quiet lacked somewhat during our stay. Nevertheless the island itself was amazing!

We found the concierge staff, especially Jayda, willing to bend over backwards to remedy any small issue. Lastly, make sure to time your evenings to coincide with the shuttle boat!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    131
    55
    24
    22
See reviews for
276
212
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Sunset Key Guest Cottages is a great place for families. The apartment was nice had all the conforts we needed. It was clean and the kitchen was great!!! The only problem was the sofabed. That was terrible. You can't sleep on that!

We stayed for 3 days in July 2014 and it was great value for the money. Has a pretty nice pool and the ladies at the reception were very nice.

Room Tip: The appartment we choose said it was for 6 people, it was spacious enough for 6 - however, the sofab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellasueanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great food with great staff. We stayed for 4 nights and dined here twice and we where not disappointed. Our table was slightly late but that was due to a sudden downpour but the staff looked after us with drinks and complimentary starters.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrawView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is absolutely beautiful and the cottages are very clean. Those are important things. But this place has a rude staff. There is no urgency to get things done. If you call the concierge, you get a voicemail. And that happened multiple times. I called the concierge to see where the blow dryer is located....guess where....in the tv unit. Lol. Now that funny. Also we laid out on the beach. There was no one to get ur drinks like they said. I liked it but would probably stay somewhere else next time. Just disappointing. Too pricey for poor service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniferla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Due to the fact that we were traveling with small children, my family decided to stay at Sunset Key and away from the nightly atmosphere of Key West. From the photos displayed on Westin's website, the cottages and property look beautiful, however this is not the case. As stated by other contributors, our cottage was dated, dirty, and had a bad odor. The living area was small and the bedrooms were oversized, making it difficult for larger families who gather together for nightly dinners or in-room activities. The robes were comfortable, however, the towels were tattered, old, and rough. The large showers are impractical with little space for personal items and no hooks to hang wet suits or beach towels. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of space for clothes both in dressers as well as in the closet. The kitchen was small and the refrigerator was 3/4 full of items Westin provided for guests to buy, thus leaving very little room for food items that we bought. The breakfast baskets were a nice touch, however, I would expect more than two muffins and two pieces of fruit from a high end resort. In addition, the baskets showed up mid morning when we were already out the door enjoying Key West. The pool was nice size, clean, and provided ample room for the guests. Pool bathrooms were immaculate and well stocked. Pool service was non-existent. There were always two or more attendants working the bar and with the limited amount of guest staying at Sunset Key I would have expected an attendant walking around the pool collecting orders and delivering drinks. In addition, the lawn service cut and weed wacked the area around the pool during the middle of the afternoon. Grass was flying and lawn mowers were being pushing into people's chairs. The pool opened at 7:00 am, however, towels didn't show up until 9:30 am. So forget an early morning swim unless you take several beach towels the night before, which I would suggest. This was the same for the beach area. The attendant didn't show up until 9:30 or 10:00 am. Don't expect drink or food service on the beach either, as it was non-existent. The Spa had limited amenities and the hotel didn't offer any children or family activities. Many of the dishes (except for the steak which was tasteless and tough) we ordered from room service, at the pool, and in the restaurant were of good quality. I would suggest the black bean burger. The staff from the ferry, to check in, to pool attendants were rude and unhelpful. When an individual is paying almost $900 per night, which is one of the cheapest cottages, there should be more attention to detail. This property was a huge disappointment and because of the price combined with the lack of service and detail, I would not recommend Sunset Key to family or friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank OhioMomOf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is regrettable to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. When the concierge arrives at 7:00am, they go to the pool area to make sure there are towels available. There was one day during this time period that we ran out in the afternoon due to a delay in receiving our laundry service on time. The concierge personally delivered towels to those in need that afternoon. The pool attendants do not arrive until 10:30am.

Sunset Key does not have an official kids program. We suggest children activities on and off island and keep a closet full of toys, games, movies, fishing poles, etc. Breakfast baskets are meant to be a light breakfast snack consisting of a piece of fruit and muffin or pastry per person.

All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again for reviewing our resort.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at this location and I was terribly disappointed. To top things off I do not know if American Express or Sunset Cottages screwed up my reservation but judging from the service I got their it could have been Sunset Cottages. Nevertheless, when I complained to American Express about the reservation Sunset Cottages staff lied as to my reaction. Although I was quite upset I never used foul language. I will never recommend this place to anyone, do not make the same mistake I did and reserve a cottage, which by the way are somewhat run down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is regrettable to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I spoke with the concierge and at the time of your visit we were operating at 100% occupancy and there was no other cottage available to move you to with the bed type you requested. Concierge sent you an amenity for your anniversary and offered an upgraded view. Thanks again for taking the time to review our resort.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We had high hopes for this hotel and unfortunately they were not met. The cottages are very dated in decor, which would be so bad if they were well maintained. However, they are not -- rust on the bath tubs, shower curtains that are flimsy and not long enough, moldy baskets in the bathrooms, coffee maker does not work, loud window unit air conditioners, baseboards that are banged up, hole in the wall, splotches of paint on the wall. The daily cleaning is not much, the towels are old and frayed and the toiletries were the equivalent to a Hampton Inn. The "spa" offers few appointments and limited service, the staff at checkin all the way to the waiters are not helpful, some downright rude. Sat on the beach and at pool and no offers for service. This hotel is not a good value at all and I do not recommend it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Texasbelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. All of the three bedroom cottages, three bedroom deluxe and four bedroom cottages have recently been renovated. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
2,588 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Property: Sunset Key Cottages
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest
Sunset Key Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing