We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Spot For A Girls Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Spent 3 nights at Sunset Key at the end of August with 4 friends (all celebrating our 40th birthday). It was absolutely fantastic! The concierge took great care of us. We had a beautiful beachfront cottage that was very spacious. It was nice that the resort was a quiet haven during the day -- then we took the boat over to Key West and enjoyed the crazy night life! The pool was terrific (probably the biggest pool in Key West). The grounds were absolutely lovely. Included with the room was a bkfast basket (filled with muffins, fruit, & pastries) that was brought to us every morning - very nice! The service was wonderful & the concierge went out of her way to make our stay extra-special. We also spent some time renting jet skis & trying out snuba (combo of snorkeling & scuba) - which was an absolute blast! A few of the girls got massages in the room -- which were incredible!! I would highly recommend Sunset Key to anyone thinking about taking a trip to Key West who is looking for a beautiful resort that has a nice beach, pool, service, and good food in a very relaxed setting. It was perfect for our Girls Weekend away!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelDivaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

This place is absolutely perfect. We are not the biggest Key West fans, but we are fans of the hotel. The hotel saved our vacation. Key West itself wears itself thin early on, as it is basically bar after bar mixed in with tourist T-shirt stores. Fine for a day, but that's about it. If we had been staying in town the vacation would have been terrible. But staying the Cottages was a savior and a treat. It was quiet enough to feel soitude but not so much that you could not enjoy yourselfs or felt you had to tiptoe around. The kids loved the beach, the water and fishing off the boat dock daily. We enjoyed looking out from our private porch and watching the scenery and being able to keep an eye on the kids. Each day we had a different type of adventure pick us up from the boat dock, snorkling, lobstering, parasailing, etc.... It was a great get-away with fantasitic service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFORCECa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Our first impressions werent great as we arrived in a downpour, however this place was a real dissapointment and we left a day early.

Firstly the good bits - the regular boat service could have been run by a bunch of swiss guys it was so efficient, the restaurant as others have mentioned may be expensive - but it is also very good, the bar does great cocktails, the beach has soft sand and the cottage was clean and functional.

However....we made a mistake in not booking an ocean front or ocean view cottage, we didnt because there were just two of us and for what was already fairly expensive accomodation we didnt want to pay on top for a room we werent using. As a result we had a room by the pool. It was dark, the air conditioning was really smelly, ande as soon as you opened the doors to the balcony it was like entering a playground - with dozens of screaming kids running round below. Also if you want a bed round the pool youll need to be up early - as we went for a walk at 7.45am - and found the place deserted but a number of beds already toweled up with books beside them.

The beach wasnt raked at all while we were there - nor were the beds cleaned or turned at the end of the day - the sea which was cordened of for swimming would have been great if it wasnt effectively in the shipping channel - if you swam outside it you would almost certainly be decapitated by a jet ski, speed boat, etc.

I think if we had our hearts set on coming to key west, we had a family, and we were willling to pay for an ocean front/view cottage - we might have enjoyed our stay. However, our smelly cottage, with no view, at vast expense was a real dissapointment - we wished we had stayed for a 1/5 of the price in a room at a hotel in town or the new waldorf property and just paid the $25 fee to go over to sunset key for the day. Dozens of others were doing this daily - which only added to the irritation of our error!

I

and mentioned in other reviews the dozens of people who pay $25 to visit the island for the day - have the effect of making it all a bit hectic - you need to find a beach bed before they all appear, you need to make a reservation should you want to eat and if

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2009

We are sorry to hear about the reviewer's dissatisfaction with Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort.

I have personally checked with the management, and they do not recall the guests expressing any dissatisfaction (air conditioning, disorderly children, saving chairs at the pool) while they were present on the island. A short conversation with the staff, and these situations could have been remedied completely.

Additionally, the guests' stay was during the time period when the pool at The Westin Key West Resort & Marina (sister property to Sunset Key Guest Cottages) was under renovations. We did offer Westin guests the opportunity to use the pool and beach at Sunset Key to compensate for the pool being closed during their stay. This is why there was a larger number of pool guests and children than normal and this was a one-time event.

We do not allow guests to reserve chairs at the pool at Sunset Key Guest Cottages. We regret that this did occur during their stay, but again feel that a short call to the management could have remedied this situation swiftly and completely.

We take pride on offering a resort experience that caters to a variety of travelers and also in providing solutions should an area of guest dissatisfaction arise.

Please also note that the charge for non-guests of The Westin Key West Resort & Marina to visit the beach at Sunset Key is $40, not $25, as the guest stated. These passes are sold on a very limited basis (10-12 daily) and do not include pool usage. The reason there were extra people at the beach and pool, again, was that we offered this option to the guests of the Westin that were impacted by the pool closure.

I am also responding to the guest via private message and including my contact information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I spent one night at Sunset Key and I felt like I'd had a week's vacation! The accommodations were blissful, the service was impeccable and the food at Latitudes Restaurant was delicious. The beach is lovely and the pool is expansive. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneHarragin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We had a three night stay at this great location when we visited Florida last year. The island is superb, cottages clean and nice furnished and the tranquility and atmosphere excellent.

My only remark is that you should work on your basket breakfast, which was a disappointment, especially from a northern Europe point of view... a couple of muffins and some fruit were not very impressive at a five star location. Some bagels or some decent bread would have been much better...

The rest, perfect, great fish at the restaurant and we had a very nice waiter all three dinners. Service, great and very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balle_klorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Went back to Sunset key for the 2nd time in one year. My wife and I love this resort. You can have a very low key day at the beach and be on your little private island, and then you can go into town for food and entertainment whenever you please. Food at the resort is great but expensive, but what do you expect from a private island. Staff was very friendly and polite. My father in law and I fished from the pier with the poles and bait provided by the resort daily, we caught a number of great fish and had a blast doing it. The concierge where very friendly and helped us book a great fishing trip, waverunners and spa services for the ladies. We only had one major problem with the resort. We left from Colorado and had a flight cancelled due to snow, so we were delayed. We did not check in until 11:00 at night. When we got to the mainland Westin they told us we had one king bed and two doubles. I had specified that we needed a cottage with two kings when we booked trip. Had to sleep in a small bed and I am 6'4". Next morning I talked to the concierge to see what they could do and they put us in a three bedroom cottage with 2 king beds. That was great, but I paid over $800 for a 6 hour nap on a child size bed. The concierge was friendly, but told me that we stayed and there was nothing she could do about it. I wish I would have made a bigger deal about it at the time, but I guess I was too tired. Overall, it was a great trip and the best place to stay in Key West by far. I just agree with some of the other people that for the price you pay, they could work on pleasing guests a little more. Next time I go, I am going to call a manager a couple days before I get there, so I don't have deal with the bed situation again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank builder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

On small Sunset Key, just off Key West, this beautiful beach cottage hotel can't be beat for relaxing atmosphere on a beach with spectacular ocean views and comfy, pretty plantation style beach cottages. Our two- bedroom cottage overlooked the shore, with its' own hammock strung between two palm trees. Nothing was more satisfying or relaxing than laying in the breezy hammock watching the sailboats on the clear, bright blue waters of Key West. The hotel gardens and lawns are picture perfect with lush tropical flowers and greenery. The pool area is lovely as well, with a pretty waterfall and laid back atmosphere, where the drinks and appetizers are delicious (I highly recommend the stuffed shrimp!) and the wait staff friendly and accommodating. As for the cottage, the beds are comfortable, even luxurious and the place is well designed for relaxed enjoyment in an upscale setting. The launch that transport you back and forth to Key West is handy and available from morning to night, and the staff aboard the launch are friendly and helpful.
The only downside of this hotel is that for the huge price of a room in April, the service was less than stellar. It wasn't what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. When we arrived, the woman showing us around and to our cottage stated that we wouldn't get a reservation that night at Latitudes, the only restaurant on the island and where we had planned to eat. It was "slammed" with reservations that night, according to her. We called anyway to check, and they got us in. Hmmm... The coffee pot in our room was broken and the coffee that was available was enough for two people only. There were four of us in this two bedroom cottage. When we called to report it, after first trying to make coffee in vain, the staff sounded indifferent and said they would send someone to look at it. (How about "Sorry, we'll bring you a new one with enough coffee for 4 people" or "We'll send room service over with a pot of coffee"-- like we thought you said you were going to do in the first place, but apparently we misunderstood!) Anyway, noone came with a new pot or anything else, so we called room service and we were charged $20 for a pot with exactly four very small cups of coffee in it. Gee thanks. The fresh muffins and fruit that came in the morning were wonderfully delicious, but the lack of coffee was annoying. That afternoon we received a new pot, but we had to again request enough coffee for four people. It's like this--the pot was a ten-cupper. The coffee pods each made one large cup, according to the package, and there were only two of them. They don't know that? They never looked? They can't figure out that a 10 cup coffee pot isn't really compatible with a one cup coffee pod? Or that four people need at least one pod each or they will be very disgruntled when the $20 pot of coffee shows up? It was very delicious coffee for $20, I must admit, but a four star hotel with a high price tag should do better. If this were Travelodge I wouldn't even comment on it, but for over $1200/night, it's worthy of comment. To be fair, the restaurant staff and poolside sevice staff were great. The problems seemed to be with the hotel's office staff, concierge and room service, which seemed indifferent and were sluggish to respond, and often had to be called twice for the same request. The result was less than impressive sevice at a beautiful, unique beach hotel in lovely Key West.
If you can accept less than four star service, this hotel is memorable and enjoyable for it's beautiful location and well maintained, pretty cottages and grounds. The stay is definitely worth it, if you don't get upset over the glitches, which seem big at the time, but fade away when you are enjoying this gem in Key West.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncydrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,614 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £581 - £1,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest
Sunset Key Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing