We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eyebrow House guests are at the mercy of the Treetops suite guests above them”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Ranked #24 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Eyebrow House guests are at the mercy of the Treetops suite guests above them”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the Eyebrow House for 4 nights and found the location to be SO convenient but all I wanted was a good nights sleep. I can put up with a lot at a hotel/B&B - including cleanliness and decor, but if I don't get that sleep, especially for the amount of money paid at Eyebrow, then I will take off stars and probably won't return. As per the description, Eyebrow House is very spacious and offers the entire lower floor of a heritage house that is about 2 blocks away from the main Andrews Inn. We were greeted by a fairly strong musty smell which did fade away as one got used to it, but it might be a problem for those with allergies. It may be due to the overstuffed furniture in the living room which may not be appropriate in humid FLA conditions. The kitchen was well appointed and the back deck/patio was quite enjoyable and lovely. I also liked all the ceiling fans. My husband and I doubted that the one bed, called a queen, was a regulation queen-size, however. It was narrower than our queen at home. I ended up having to create a make-shift sleeping arrangement in the dining room with the pull out bed's mattress on the floor, due to hubbie's cold-related snoring and that would have been OK, but the guests in the lower Eyebrow suite are at the mercy of the people above them in the Treetop suite. If the Treetops people are up until midnight, then you will hear "clump, clump, clump" as they walk around or drop things above. That is the nature of being in an older house, but irritating late at night. One morning we had to get up early to catch the ferry to Tortugas and that happened to be the night guests above us in Treetops decided to do their laundry until 10:45 pm at night. The laundry room is on the lower level, right outside our dining room. I spoke to them twice and emailed the inn owners but to no avail that night. I even tried phoning the owners but didn't get an answer...(In fact we never even met the owners the whole time we were there.) There really ought to be a policy on laundry use hours at the house.
For anyone sensitive to noise, it's pretty much ongoing in this location. I booked the place 4 months in advance but sadly that wasn't enough advance notice to get the upper floor. Also it might be quieter to stay in the Inn proper because the house front door is only about 15 feet from the street and I heard a number of Harleys chugging and accelerating on the street late into the night. The Inn is set back more from the road. One last thing that we found a bit confusing was the status of the breakfast. For $259 a night, breakfast is not really included for guests at Eyebrow - it has its own kitchen and it is a bit of a walk to partake in the food offerings. When I asked Jorge at check-in, he said we were welcome to eat the breakfast, but there wasn't enough sitting room. Yet we were invited to the Happy Hour which is in the same location around the pool in the afternoon. So as I said, a bit confusing and we didn't really feel welcome, so didn't go.
He was very prompt in supplying us with coffee filters when I asked though. Blackfin Bistro was a block away and the dinner on the patio was the highlight of my stay in Key West! For the money spent, I would probably go back to Almond Tree Inn again, a place we stayed 4 years ago.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natureniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rascalkw, Owner at Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our Eyebrow House Suite. We are glad you enjoyed the convenient location and spaciousness of this unit.

The Eyebrow House, with its full kitchen, living-room, and private deck with jacuzzi, is a great choice for people who are traveling with children or pets or for those who enjoy spending more time at home in the unit. It is not a bed and breakfast, however, and although this is stated on our website, guests often ask about breakfast when they check in. While we would love to accommodate all our guests for breakfast, this is not always possible because of the limited dining space we have at the main inn. In this case we did offer the guest the opportunity to join us for breakfast, and simply noted that it may be slightly crowded. We apologize for any confusion over this policy and want to assure readers that all guests are welcome for happy hour since there is plenty of room to lounge around the pool with a drink.

The bed at the Eyebrow House is a queen-size bed and we would never try to represent a full bed as a queen bed. For those who prefer a larger bed, we have several units with a king bed including our Mango Hideaway. Another added feature at the Eyebrow House is guest laundry and we have never had a problem with other guests sharing it. It sounds like we had some late-night guests staying upstairs while you prefer early lights out and this was an unfortunate combination. It is very unusual for the Treetop guests to bother the people staying in the Eyebrow House below, but it is something to consider if you go to bed early and are a light sleeper. Even though the house is on a quiet side-street, it is impossible to control occasional intermittent noise, including roosters.
Our staff is always available to help work through problems like you described and our owners are usually on-location at least four days a week. We also post an after-hours number that we answer 24-hours a day, which is much better than email when you need a quick response. As this was also our family's Spring Break, we were out of town,and thus unable to personally respond to your issues . However, Jorge is empowered to make any and all decisions that will resolve any guest issue. Please be assured that we are never satisfied until our guests are satisfied and we will go out of our way to address their concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    74
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
333
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A friend told me you HAVE to stay at Andrew's Inn when you are in Key West and she was right!! The location is amazing as it is convenient to Duval Street but far enough away that you can enjoy the peacefulness of your surroundings. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff is amazing and offer excellent suggestions. Breakfast and Happy Hour by the pool is a great way to start and end the day! I look forward to my return!!! CHEERS!!

Room Tip: I can not recall the name of the room but ask about the upstairs room with a small balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNO73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Paradise at its best! I love Andrews Inn and the staff. We always have an enjoyable and fun time when we are there. The staff at Andrews are outstanding and knowledgable. We never have to worry when we stay at Andrews Inn it is like being home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had a bird's eye view of Hemmingway's gardens and pool from our little private deck. The room was tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable and quiet. Best staff and service from Jorge. The location is so convenient to Duval, the beach and lots of good places to eat. Can't recommend it too highly!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentuckypostcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I just returned from a stay at the Andrews Inn in Key West. This is a simply gorgeous oasis of tropical vegetation and calm a half block off of the buzz of Duval Street. The rooms are charming, cozy, clean, quiet, small but sufficient, and comfortable. The room had personality and style. The garden and pool were the real treat. To start the morning with a breakfast at the pool and to have an afternoon happy hour in the same spot .... simply lovely and a way to meet the handful of other guests. George and Tom were welcoming hosts and I felt like we were entirely well cared for. This is our fourth trip to Key West; Andrews Inn will see us again. - Ron and Sue from Chapel Hill, NC

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in the treetop apartment, this is located a little bit away from the inn, at first this upset me but it turned out to be a great room. Much more secluded than the inn, and "NO ROOSTERS"!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is a delayed review but wanted to make sure this wonderful B&B gets its due. Stayed several times and always without a smidge of a problem. Great location, great hosts, spotless rooms and just an overall good vibe.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogart45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rascalkw, Manager at Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Andrew’s Inn. We appreciate the kind words, and consider ourselves very lucky to have such wonderful guests. We pride ourselves in providing clean and comfortable accommodations to our guests, and feel our gusts deserve nothing less than a warm and friendly atmosphere. Again, thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to review the Andrew’s Inn; it is very much appreciated.
Sincerely,
Tom, Nancy, and Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.0 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#42 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#54 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages

Property: Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Address: 223 Eanes Lane, 223 Eanes Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located behind the Hemingway Estate and down a small lane off of Duval Street, Andrews Inn offers 10 rooms, suites and cottages. Enjoy our champagne continental breakfast and daily happy hour by the pool. The courtyard is lushly landscaped with palms, jasmine, and hibiscus. Suites and cottages include kitchens, private decks with jacuzzis, and are welcome to pets and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Hotel Key West
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing