We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If this could be our 2nd home.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Ranked #23 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sanford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If this could be our 2nd home.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We can’t say enough about our stay here! Like the other reviews we were skeptical as well pulling in to the bed and breakfast but quickly realized we had found our favorite place in the keys! The property manager, Heather, was so friendly and accommodating. We arrived one night early and she got us into the Mango suite. We then switched to the Roma Suite for the next two nights and would stay in either room again. They were very clean, modern and well decorated. Even though we were less than a block off Duval Street, we never heard a peep from the street (just the roosters, the same as everywhere in Key West :)). Happy hour was a blast each night and we met lots of nice people from all over the world. There only a few rooms here so it was intimate and pleasant. We also enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the choices we had (of course I enjoyed the mimosas). We rented bikes from the property and snorkeled one day. We had our own equipment but they also had some. The pool was refreshing and the filtered water cooler made it easy to stay hydrated. Heather also booked us the best massage ever down the street and was so pleasant to talk to. We could go on and on but we have to get back to work so we can get down there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mango room the first night and enjoyed the room. The bathroom had a view of Heming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runnertri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    72
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
328
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at The Mango Hideaway. It was very private. Upon arriving I had made numerous phonecalls to them and always got helpful advice and answers to all my questions. (I was a nervous bride) Tom & Heather where so accomodating and thoughtful. It made for a very relaxing stay. It was so convenient to stay 1/2 block away from Duval Stret where all the action and nightlife is. We walked to the end of the street and we where there. Made nice to do the "Crawl". We where delighted to have such a great variety of breakfast items and Memosa. We loved the Happy Hour everyday and got to mingle with other patrons staying at the surrounding locations on the Andrews Inn property. Housekeeping kept up with my demands..extra towels etc.. and was on point daily. The jacuzzi was a great feature for romance and/or relaxation in "private". The swimming pool might have been small, but very clean and mostly enjoyed by yourself. But.... It had jets also and really relieved some back pressure. They also rent bikes out their as well in which we enjoyed and where in great shape and comfortable. We will definetely be back. P.S. We also enjoyed our free falling mangoes, fresh from the trees on a daily basis. We ended up with two bags to take home and gave some to the locals to enjoy. This place was def. a great find. Thanks Tom & Heather. See you soon for Fantasy Fest in October. Michelle & James

Room Tip: Any... all locations within are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paisley72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I have to admit when we were looking for the Andrews Inn after our long drive, I was a little skeptical..but...The Andrew's Inn was very nice, quiet and a perfect spot to adventure Duval St. we had a great time. The room was very clean, the hosts were great (Heather)and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hafftime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was the best trip to Key West that I have had yet, and staying at the Andrews Inn and Cottages was the primary reason. This was a birthday getaway and I could not have chosen a better place to celebrate. We were greeted by Heather on the first day and instantly felt the warmth and hospitality which continued throughout the stay. It was almost as if we were old friends or family, very comfortable. We stayed in the Tree Top Suite which is a cute Eyebrow house located 1/2 block from Duval Street; a fully equiped effeciency type room, with a private balcony complete with table, chairs, and hot tube.

I found Andrews Inn after an extensive internet search of accommodations at Key West, and after reading the hundreds of reviews, I was sold. I booked with an on-line service, but the next day was personnaly called by Andrews Inn stating the service had overbooked and would I be interested in an upgrade to one of the cottages (Tree Top Suite) for the same price. Even though the cottages are not physically located with the Andrews Inn, we were given the same treatment by the staff, spent happy hour with them, and of course access to the continental breakfast served each morning.

I have been recommending Andrews Inn to all of my friends, co-workers, and families since returning from the Keys. However, this might not work in my favor since I do plan on returning to Key West in the near future; hate to find out I couldn't get a room at Andrews because of all my referrals.

Room Tip: The Cottages are nicely equipped suites with Hot Tubs, patio furniture, and some with BBQ grills. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

A gem of a little oasis in a bustling town. We stayed at the main inn (my second visit there) and once again were delighted. The Inn is close to everything in the old towne and we rarely used our rental car. I love the expanded champagne continental breakfast poolside every morning. The rooms are comfortable with all the expected amenities. The lush outdoor pool area is very inviting. Do expect to see a few cats enjoying the premises too. The one that stayed on my porch on my first visit 5 years ago was still there! Don't know where to eat? - just ask and you won't be disappointed as the owner and Jorge are very knowledgeable. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie0048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was our first experience staying at a B&B and we were slightly nervous, however after one minute at Andrews we were hooked. The inn can be difficult to find, but that's good - it's secluded and private. The pool area was lush and comfortable. We stayed in Venezia, which was poolside and shared a porch with Madrid (where our traveling companions stayed). The room itself was small (Madrid is larger), but the bathroom was pretty big and we had plenty of space for our needs. And it was clean, clean, clean. We enjoyed the simple breakfast and daily happy hour. Heather, the manager, was friendly and the other staff were polite and efficient.

The inn was just steps away from Duval but once we entered the property it could have been miles...it was our private paradise. We were visited daily by some of the famous Hemingway cats (Hemingway House is literally next door) and a few chickens. The mosquitoes were bad, but it IS the tropics, after all. We would definitely stay there again. Loved it.

Room Tip: Madrid and Venezia are poolside - Madrid is larger and probably worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigPenVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I just got back from a stay at Andrews Inn and we couldn't have loved it more. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and the location is fantastic. We went down for our anniversary, and the owners were helpful before we even got there. My husband had called ahead of time because he had flowers delivered for me as a surprise, and the box was waiting on our bed when we arrived, no questions asked. At check in, the owner pointed out to us all of the best restaurants and the best beach (inside the State Park) to go to and marked them on a map.

Our room was wonderful. We stayed in the Paris room, and at $145 a night, you can't beat it. The bed is comfortable, there's a view out to the pool, the bathroom is spacious and clean, there's a flat screen TV (not that we watched much of that with so much to do in Key West) and a mini fridge. The high ceiling fan, personal a/c unit with adjustable thermostat and ceiling fans kept is cool and comfortable. You get two physical keys to your room, not standard hotel room cards, and those keys work the exterior gates after 6pm, locked for safety.

The Inn itself is just a half-block off of all of the action on Duval Street, so just a few minutes on foot and you're at the best bars in town. However, you'd never know you were that close to everything when you're inside the gates. It has a great secluded feel and you can't hear any of the hustle and bustle from Duval. The main Inn area is the patio/pool deck. From there, each guest room can be accessed via its own door - our room and one other were up an exterior staircase. The pool is small, but it's very nice and all you need. There are tables set up on the deck, so although there is somewhat of a B&B feel, you don't have to sit with other guests or talk to them if you don't want to, although everyone's very nice.

Breakfast is provided every morning and it's a great spread: Bagels, pastries, eggs, cereal, fruit, etc., and then coffee, water, milk, orange juice (with champagne if you'd like a mimosa) provided to drink. They put out a toaster and there's a microwave in the kitchen if you need it. There’s a water dispenser outside of the kitchen that you can get water from whenever you want or use to fill up water bottles. There’s also a free happy hour from 4pm-5:30pm where you can drink whatever you want - beer, wine, liquor. I was shocked.

The Inn also provides beach/pool towels, beach chairs and snorkeling equipment free of charge. They have bikes you can rent for $10/day, which is a steal compared to other rentals in Key West. The bikes have a lock so you can park them anywhere. The staff was very kind to let us know that we wouldn't want to try to walk to the beach at the State Park, so we put towels in our bike baskets and pedaled over there. We ended up keeping the bikes all day - it's a great way to get around.

This was one of the best experiences we've never had with a hotel, and the next time we go to Key West, we will definitely be staying at Andrews!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - it just depends on the price range you're looking for and if you want a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#45 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages

Property: Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Address: 223 Eanes Lane, 223 Eanes Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located behind the Hemingway Estate and down a small lane off of Duval Street, Andrews Inn offers 10 rooms, suites and cottages. Enjoy our champagne continental breakfast and daily happy hour by the pool. The courtyard is lushly landscaped with palms, jasmine, and hibiscus. Suites and cottages include kitchens, private decks with jacuzzis, and are welcome to pets and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Hotel Key West
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing