We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to all our expectations and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Ranked #22 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 December 2010

From the moment of arrival we knew we had chosen the right place. Jorge is the greatest host always smiling,gives you privacy yet talkative when you are. He has the personality for a B&B especially in the eclectic atmospere of KW.

The room (Malaga) was clean and comfy, great private patio backing up to Hemingway House wall.

Breakfast was not fancy but plentiful, with a beautiful setting around the pool and courtyard.

After a day of exploring great to come back and kick back at the pool and Happy Hour.

Location is the best. We had a1 minute walk to Duval and were able to see the speed boat and Veteran's Day parade. EVERYTHING is so close to this property whether you are looking for high energy entertainment or a relaxing night activities both are minutes away from this location.

On a more personal note we hope Jorge is felling better from his recent loss. We hope all is well with you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RochesterTacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2010

This was our second stay at Andrews Inn and we relaxed and enjoyed it once again. We liked the king sized bed and the ceiling fan and well working air conditioner. The Inn is a quaint little oasis between the main streets and is very quiet and restful. The breakfast around the pool is delightful as is the afternoon happy hour. You need to put your washclothes on the floor in order to get clean ones each day. Rooms are clean. Short walk to Caroline's Cafe. (Great food at reasonable price) We will definitely stay at Andrews Inn again when we travel back to the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at Andrews Inn for ten days in October 2010. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeper did a wonderful job (and was very kind and modest by the way). The garden is one of a kind and the breakfast in the garden was excellent. Andrews Inn is located just off Duval Street. Althought It´s an easy walk to the city centre, it´s still a very quiet and secluded place to be in. We couldn´t have asked for a better place to stay. So thanks very much again to Jorge, Nancy and Tom. You´ve made our stay in Key West unforgettable and we will certainly come back to Andrews Inn one day! Yvette and Edwin, Holland.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank YVED63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We did extensive research and picked the Mango Hideaway at Andrews Inn because we liked the combination of a quiet private cottage with deck and hot tubs with the vicinity to the center of the action on Duval Street and the availability of breakfast and happy hour at the main inn. We stayed three nights on an anniversary trip - would have stayed two, but there was a three-night minimum for this room (not sure if all are that way or if it's seasonal).

Jorge was very friendly, welcoming, good-natured and helpful on our arrival. We actually didn't see him again, possibly because it was a holiday week. The other man and woman we interacted with (possibly the innkeepers?) were also very nice and helpful, but more slightly more reserved.

The room was even better than I had expected - large, comfortable, with a huge walk-in closet, and a huge bathroom with dual showerheads. Plenty of room in the dressers, free wifi. The private deck was nice, and the hot tub was nice in theory. We didn't try it until the second night, when we found it was set to "boil you alive." So, we tried turning it down and sat in it briefly the third night, but it was still pretty hot, especially with some mild sunburn.

Our room was very quiet - with the air conditioning running constantly and the windows not really meant to open, we couldn't hear any street noise or roosters (it was a side street a block off Duval anyway). I did get startled by a roach on the toilet paper dispenser the first night, but the next morning a hotel staff person showed up with a Terminix guy to spray (without being asked) and we didn't see any more after that.

The leisurely breakfasts by the pool were great, with mimosas, french toast, coffee, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, etc. The pool itself was warm but very small - I just dipped my feet in it. More a place to socialize than swim. We enjoyed the one happy hour we made it to. Most of the time we were out and about at that time of day. We just parked the car on a sidestreet by our room and walked everywhere: Duval Street, Mallory Square, Southernmost Point, Hemingway House, Lighthouse, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, the harbor to catch a Dry Tortugas ferry.

Our one complaint was that the cleaning person didn't do much other than make our bed. They had a lot of ecofriendly signs, so we didn't necessarily expect towels to be replaced, but they didn't give us fresh beach towels, coffee mugs, or even empty the coffeepot.
We just exchanged our beach towels by the pool at the main inn. Otherwise, it was a very great and peaceful stay and a central location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitty33_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have stayed here numerous times and honestly each and every stay is perfect. George is fantastic.as is the entire staff. Stay here you will love it.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryBungart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is a wonderful little Inn. We stayed half of the week in the Tree Top Suite and had our own jacuzzi and outdoor shower and a full kitchen. The last half of the week we stayed in the main inn and had our own private porch. The staff there are so nice; they are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and "happy hour" are quaint and set up in the pool area. My boyfriend has been staying there for years whenever he has visited Key West and wont even think of staying anywhere else. This was my first trip and I would recommend this to couples.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCMGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Andrews Inn and cottages are great! The people are so friendly and helpful. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house. Even though Key West isn't as dog friendly as it used to be, pooches are still welcome in the cottages. The room is extremely clean, private, and with all the comforts of home. The bed is very comfy too. Great location, within walking distance to almost everything. The only reason I didn't rate it as a 5 is the price. We were there during the off season and it was still much more expensive than places we would normally stay. Key West is just pricey I guess. You can save money by staying there though: cook on the grill or in the fully equipped kitchen, walk to Duval St- no cab needed, or have cocktails on the back deck instead of out at a pricey bar. We stopped at the grocery store on the way into town and got everything we needed for our 4 night stay. Our dog became ill and the after hours staff was great about helping us find an emergency vet (luckily we ended up not needing to take her). The back deck is wonderful. iI is spacious, with a gas grill, table and chairs, hot tub, and outdoor shower. One tip about the deck...there is a large gap behind the door that leads out onto the roof. Our German Shepherd decided to try it out, but was luckily unharmed. If you latch the door open, it will cover up the gap. We LOVE this place and will definitely stay again when we want to splurge a little.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValAndRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#19 of 77 in Key West
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Town Manor
Old Town Manor
#13 of 77 in Key West
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages

Address: 0 Whalton Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £191 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERSHIP:FULLY UPGRADED Superbly situated down a shady lane just off Duval Street and bordering on the Hemingway House. The magical Key West sites, restaurants and bars, art galleries, shops and beaches are just a short walk or bike ride away. With both B&B Rooms and Vacation Rental Cottages, we are sure you can find the perfect accommodation to suit your needs! The Main Inn offers six quaint B&B rooms situated in a quiet tropical courtyard with a secluded pool. Guests staying in these intimate rooms enjoy our poolside breakfast buffet of warm and cold delights, champagne and afternoon "social hour" daily. Andrews Garden Cottages are located 1 block from the Main Inn on a quiet neighborhood street. These private Vacation Rentals provide all the comforts of home and more with living-rooms/sitting area, full kitchens or wet-bar, and private decks with Jacuzzi's! Spacious and well appointed, our Vacation Rental Cottages are a great choice for extended stays in the heart of Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Hotel Key West
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing