We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Avalon was a wonderful place to stay for our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast served on the front porch was a great way to start everyday. It is located on the quiet end of Duval which is a nice escape from the noise and music of the bars, but still within walking or what we did, biking distance. The pool in the back was quiet most of the time and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. The room was clean and the air conditioning was very much appreciated after walking around Key West each day! I would highly recommend the Avalon to anyone staying in Key West!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We booked the hotel bed and breakfast not knowing the location to surrounding activities. The hotel turned out to be on the main street for all the activities. The room was a second floor corner suite with it’s own balcony. All the extras were in the room. We could not have been happier!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixPipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and quaint in decorations, if not a bit dated. The rose petals on the bed were silk, not fresh, which was disappointing. The location is great...right next to the Southernmost point and great walking distance to the heart of Duval St without any of the noise. The complimentary breakfast were bagels, toast, breakfast, fruit, cereal and pound cake. Only one type of juice. The parking is horrendous! It is about 2 walking blocks away in the parking lot of an abandoned building.....not exactly where my husband wanted to park his sports car. It was covered in tree debris and bird feces when we when to retrieve it after our stay. The pool is miniscule and more like a large hot tub. Overall, not the best value for $291 per night.

Room Tip: Our room was the large king room at the top of the stairs. No view other than the building next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for the weekend. Was an awesome experience the staff from the house keeping to the front desk attendants were helpful and so nice!!! The front desk people were always so willing to help and offer some advice on where to go. One staff member even went as far as to loan us some money when we didn't have small change for the pizza guy. The house has a wonderful feel about it. Very clean and the rooms are adorable. Breakfast was set on the front porch in the sunny weather and it was very delicious. Is a long walk to the more active part of duval, but can't consider that too much of a downfall when the weather is so beautiful for walking. close to a bike rental and scooter rental place. close to one of the beaches.was slightly pricy but went during a festival so was still the cheapest around town at the time we went...all around an awesome experience!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the small queen room. very small more suited for a single than two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Avalon is a lovely b&b. staff we're very nice and friendly. Breakfast was good.they have coffee in the lobby constantly. Room was nice with plenty of room to move about. A half hour walk takes you to old town. Would recommend xx

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vonka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room clean, bathroom small, afternoon refreshments. Pool is an oversized hot tub. Not worth $200 a night. Convenient to southern most point and butterfly museum. Long walk up DuVal to everything else. Staff is superb. The butterfly conservatory is a must see.

Room Tip: Pack light. Be prepared for a small space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitha1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The house itself it's lovey! Rooms smell wonderful and have a "princess" like decoration... Very comfortable beds and tasty breakfast at the front porch.
Location is far from the noise part of Duval street which makes it perfect for resting.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank clafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £150 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel. With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi. Our rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining the homes colonial charm & ambiance. A plentiful continental breakfast buffet is served café style on the front porch each morning, and is the perfect way to start your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to all that Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Key West
Avalon b&b
Avalon Bed And Breakfast Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing