We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

On Duval street near the middle of everything. Lots of spring breakers so we were worried about noise but our room, even on the street side next to pool deck, but it was nice and quiet after 1030 pm. Maybe a bit pricey, but location and high season? Room was well appointed, clean and modern.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank 313reginat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Sounds like a fabulous getaway! Thanks for making us a part of your time in Key West, and let us know if there's anything else we can do for you during your next visit!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My sister and I decided to get away from our boyfriends one weekend and choice this location at of random. But it was a great choice. It's location is in the heart of the fun, we were able to go drinking and not have to worry about having to walk long distance. Not only that but there is a walgreens or CVS right next to it and that is important for us ladies if we need something in case of female emergencies. As far as the internal of the hotel, the staff was helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and very nice looking. The beds were nice and I slept like a baby. Last but not least there is a bar upstairs by the pools that let me tell yu the man can bartend. Overall great experience would recommend for a sister get away like I did or couple wise or even with family. Great first experience in key west will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nvd919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Nothing like a weekend of sisterly bonding! With our location, comfy beds and some of that lovely Key West sun, it sounds like you two had a blast! Thanks for making us a part of your getaway, and keep us in mind next time you need a girls' weekend!

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was the worst hotel that we have ever stayed at, and the price $$$$$$ Wow I thought I was getting the best, but that never happened. Young lady on front desk (Sasha) should never be working this kind of job. (NO customer skills) verry verry rude to us. Someone put 2 double beds in a room that is only big enough for one bed, I guess you wanted more money.
Bed was SO close to wall, there was only inches to get by and into washroom and second bed was close to other wall, could not get out in the middle of night to go to washroom had to climb over sleeping partner and wake him up. The hole room was dirty and it smelled bad. The only good thing about this hotel is location. We will never come back again and none of our friends will come here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Although we pride ourselves on maintaining a sense of old world charm, it's upsetting that you were so disappointed, Judy. We can completely understand the trouble you had getting to the washroom in the middle of the night, and we apologize for the inconvenience. However, we do our best to keep a tidy appearance at all times, so your comments regarding our cleanliness are concerning—we'll look into that right away. In the meantime, thanks for sharing this with us, and don't hesitate to reach out so we want to make this right. We know we have what it takes to show you an unforgettable getaway!

Best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have to agree with the recent reviews about the bed situation. The mattress springs were digging into me and I tried both beds in the room. Apart from that, the room is spacious and has all the goodies, the bathroom is very nice although the exhaust fan is deafening. Location is great as is the rooftop pool, bar and sunning area.
Come on Pegasus management, at $250 or more per night you can afford to replace these mattresses!!

Room Tip: Check out your mattress before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinnpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Although it's great to hear that your room's amenities made you feel at home, we're apologize if you weren't able to have a better night's sleep. We wish we could taken care of this during your stay, but we really appreciate your feedback, and we'll do what we can to make sure that all of our mattresses are in great shape. Thanks for being so candid, and please give us a call if you'd like to talk—we want to make this right.

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Awesome hotel!! its rooms our beautiful and accommodating. The beach is actually rather close, and lots of things to do in the area. Staff was great and nice, and treated us great while we were staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review, Nardo! We can't wait to have you back next time you need to get away. Until then, let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better!

Take care,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

If anyone is thinking of booking at Pegasus Key West you better bring your own bed. I had to leave early to go home and get a professional to re-adjust my back, even my jaw was even out of wack. My husband felt the same way, the location is great, they try to accommodate you as much as they can but they need new mattresses. Their beds are just awful, the staff is great the location is super. but put some investment in the beds and we might be back and even recommend your hotel. It is a shame because your spot is at a prime location, you could could even charge more if the beds were decent. I could go on but i won't I will leave it at that.

Room Tip: Bring your own mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmur154957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We want all of our guests to feel relaxed during their getaway, so it's upsetting that you were unable to get a better night's sleep. That said, we were really surprised to hear that you were so disappointed with your bed. We apologize for your discomfort, and hope you'll give us another chance to make this right. If you'd like to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to reach out.

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I picked this location with moderate expectations, but was let down. On the up side, the room was spacious, the tv sizeable, and the fridge and microwave were a bonus. The location was convenient, with viewing of Duval and Southard.
Downsides: small bathroom. We had more space in our inside cruise ship state room. While there were louvered shades, the curtains didn't meet in the middle, so off darkness matters... and though it appears they're trying to control them, there were critters of the blood sucking variety. The mattress was elderly, so I had some trouble sleeping on it.
Bottom line, I didn't feel like I got my money's worth and the location didn't make up for the other issues.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kennebec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We're sorry to learn of your disappointment. While we are unable to combat all of the mosquitos in this humid climate, we do our best to ensure that they stay out of the hotel so you can get a good night's sleep. However, we're sorry you were disappointed with our mattress, and we wish we could have moved you to a different room.

Still, it seems like you were very happy with our location and your room's amenities, and we hope you'll give us a second chance to show you a wonderful Key West getaway. Until then, thanks for your feedback, and let us know if you'd like to talk.

Regards,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#44 of 51 in Key West
1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £132 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International
Pegasus International Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing