We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First but not the last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location on the corner of Duval and Southard can't be beat. However, the great location makes checking in a royal pain. The hotel parking lot at $10.00/night for guests only may be the best bargain in town. Drop off luggage, park in the lot and then check-in.

Our party of five, 2 adults and 3 teens, we're very comfortable and not cramped at all in Suite 2. The room, bathroom and shower are the biggest I've seen in the Keys.

Room Tip: May sleep a little better in a room that doesn't face Duval.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

It sounds like you and your family had a great vacation, Mary! Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Key West. The next time you visit, don't hesitate to request a room off the street -- we'd be happy to take care of that. Hope to see you soon!

Take care,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Pegasus Hotel. The location is perfect if you want to be close to Duval. We couldn't hear the noise from our room but we were right on it. They have a great upper deck with seating, bar and pool. We were able to sit and watch the people on the street below. The rooms were updated, clean but small and had a strange layout. The refrigerator was a great thing to have. Overall we were very pleased with our long weekend stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

It is wonderful to hear you had such a lovely weekend in Key West! We're sorry that the layout came across as strange, but it's fantastic that you thought the rooms to be quiet and were able to take advantage of that refrigerator. We hope that if you're ever in the area, you choose to stay with us again. It'd be our pleasure.

Best wishes,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Well-worth the money we money. It was a great location in Key West. The staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs. The room was very clean, comfortable, and we truly felt like comfortable in this hotel. If I ever go back to Key West, this is the place I'll be staying at.


  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelson l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Helpful staff and comfortable room? Sounds like we're doing something right! Thank you for the vote of confidence, Nelson. Don't be a stranger!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with some of my friends and we really liked it, the location is just perfect and costumbre service really good, rooms were very clean and also it has a beautiful pool on the second floor. I will stay here for sure on my next vacations!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Maria Fernanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Great to hear that you'll be back, Maria! We're so pleased to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Hoping the rest of the trip was a blast!

Safe travels,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is not the ritz but it's very clean and well kept up. The rooms look recently renovated and the decor is modern and not cheaply done. Nice pool area too. You really can't beat the location - right in the middle of everything. Despite this it was quiet in the rooms which I appreciated being a light sleeper. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cicily1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

We did recently do some renovation, Cicily! Glad you noticed. We're very pleased to hear that you'd stay with us again on your next trip to the area, so hopefully we'll see you sometime in the future.

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here for a few days towards the end of May 2014. Because the king-size bed took up half the floor space, I had to almost turn sideways to walk between the bed and the dresser to get into the bathroom. By the way, the bathroom tiles could use a good deep-steam cleaning, looked like they had ground-in dirt. A handle was broken off on one of the drawers of an end table, so I couldn't use it for fear of cutting myself. The broken-down lumpy couch wasn't even comfortable for sitting on. The mattress gave me a pretty bad lower-back ache and I need to see a chiropractor for my neck because of the pillows that provided no support whatsoever.
However, the location is perfect, right in the middle of everything, the front desk person was pleasant if not overly friendly, we always exchanged a smile as I went in and out. I was a little concerned when I found my room was located right by the short hallway leading to the sundeck, but luckily I didn't hear a thing. The price seemed about average for similar hotels for the area and the Continental breakfast had a decent selection. Only thing missing was fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Stacy, we're so sorry to hear about those issues with your room. It sounds like you weren't very comfortable at all, and we can't apologize enough for that. We sure wish you would've let our front desk know, as we would've been happy to switch your room had we anything available.

However, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the location and found the room to be quiet and peaceful. We hope your time in Key West was wonderful, and despite the drawbacks with the room, we hope you choose to stay with us again if you're ever in the area.

Happy travels,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We go to Florida for our family vacations and have stayed at many hotels, The Pegasus is very reasonable on the prices and the fact that it is in the middle of Duval street is a major plus. There you get free parking for your vehicle but who really drives in Key West you can walk EVERYWHERE!!!!! This hotel has a pool with a little Tiki Bar and it's open late but as you know who needs a pool when your by the ocean. This is a must place to stay with the family.

Room Tip: You will not need to worry about the extras in Key West all you need is a cheap pace to sleep with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miche'le F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Hearing this glowing feedback is more rewarding than you know! Thank you for the support, Miche'le, and we'll be sure to share your many kind words with the team. Hopefully we'll have the pleasure of your company again soon! Our door's always open.

Take care,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#44 of 51 in Key West
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £149 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International
Pegasus International Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing