We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, otherwise just OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We rented the 2 Executive Suite rooms next to each other for a boys trip with 2 or 3 guys in each room per night. The rooms themselves were nice and clean and well decorated.
The location is great and the price is reasonable. Literally just steps from Duval St. and there's a Walgreen's, decent pizza joint and noodle shop right outside your door. We never used the pool or hot tub, but they looked decent and the deck was nice. The rooms we stayed in were on the opposite side of the property from Duval so no noise issues.
The shuttle driver from the airport was a pretty cool dude and one of the front desk girls was nice and cute and seemed to put up with our antics very well.

The downsides - each of our rooms had a single window unit A/C and even though it was set to 60 degrees and was blowing cold air the entire time, we were literally sweating in our rooms, even at night and even worse during the day. Granted it was July 4 weekend and boiling outside, but still these aren't large rooms. We didn't ask to change rooms or have them look at it because we were mostly too drunk to care, but just a warning.
Other negatives: The WiFi was terrible - I could get a couple different hotel networks in my room but both were pretty bad. They didn't seem to clean our rooms while we were there - this wasn't a huge deal because they did come ask if we needed fresh towels a couple times and maybe we were just in the rooms when housekeeping was going around. There was another front desk girl who wasn't friendly at all and seemed like she just wanted us gone.

All in all, if I went back to Key West I'd probably stay here again but definitely would ask for a room with better A/C.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has good A/C. Doesn't seem the Executive Suites do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiscoDiscoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review! Key West is an excellent destination for a boys trip, and it sounds like you guys had a pretty good time. It definitely gets hot here, especially in the peak of summer, but we want to make sure you are comfortable during your stay. I'll be sure to look into the A/C issue, and should you notice this issue, please do mention it to our front desk. I know that we can show you a 5-star experience, and hope you'll give us that chance the next time you're in town.

Sincerely,

Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Can't beat the location - about 1/2 block off Duval in the middle of the action. This place was great when I was in college and didn't mind crashing with 3 other drunk people. 25 years later and with a wife and kids, this place is not for me. Rooms are tiny and it's noisy - again, see location. If you want a crash pad for FantasyFest, this is great. If you're traveling with kids, stay in New Town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikefromwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

We understand where you're coming from, Mike -- our location's near the action -- but we hope you won't hold it against us. Like you've said, what may be the perfect spot for a college getaway isn't always the best choice for families. We can only hope you'd be willing to recommend us to friends headed our way -- we'd love to make memories as great as the ones you've described!

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is our 2nd time for staying at the Pegasus. Our stay was amazing. The room we chose when booking was the right choice. New mattress, newly remodeled, right by the pool and we could not hear a thing going on outside when people were out there. The parking was $10.00 per day and well worth it, because they have a camera on the parking lot as well as other places to ensure security of the hotel. The stairs are steep, but have grip tape on them, so no problems and I am pretty clumsy on stairs. The elevator was broken while we were there, but they were working on it in a timely manner and it just gave us an excuse to do our exercise while on vacation by using the stairs. :) My husband and I enjoy the peaceful nights watching the street of Duval from the upper deck, however, the cushions for the chairs were not out the whole 4 days or nights of our stay (except for the ones right up to the bar). They kept the cushions locked up in a deck box for the rest of the chairs, wasn't quite sure about why they have them and not let us use them. But we will stay here again. This was our second visit to the Pegasus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyratzwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review, and for you understanding about the elevator maintenance. I apologize for any inconvenience, but it sounds like you made the best out of the situation! It sounds like you and your husband had a nice relaxing time people watching and enjoying some deck time. I'm a little surprised to hear the cushions weren't out for you, but we are always happy to make you more comfortable, so please just mention your concerns to one of our staff. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Key West!

Sincerely,

Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

the best thing about the Pegasus is the location
and I thought our room was of a reasonable size
parking $10.00 per day was cheap but you do have to park
on the next street but it was reasonably secure
roof top bar going through some repairs but barman not very informative or chatty
well one thing I and my wife can say is we enjoyed our 1 night stay and we would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

It's wonderful to see that our location could make for such a great trip! So glad you and your wife got a chance to stay with us, and we hope it won't be too long before you're back in our neck of the woods.

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I will say this is about the only place you can stay for just 1 night with kids in Key West. It's cute, boutique and clean. Checking in was easy. Stairs are super, super steep. Don't try them too drunk. Elevator takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r. Location on Duval is perfect! Walgreens, pizza and Starbucks very close.

Room was on the smaller size, but not unbearable. We had 2 double beds. There were 4 of us, 2 were under 18. The bed was hard as a rock. I know some people like.. but we didn't. They also were covered in pillows. I am not kidding.. Like 8 pillows each bed. With a smaller room, we had to stash the "fru-fru" pillows under the bed! Our room was right near the sun deck, but never noisy from people or music.

The pool area was small, but nice. The sun deck was great. Music was playing, but not too loud that you can't hear yourself think.

Every time we walked past the front desk, the receptionist was on her cell phone. She just wasn't friendly.

The breakfast area was tight and small. Breads, juice and 3 cereals to choose from. Fantastic coffee though! But at 9:24am on Sunday, they were shutting everything but the coffee down.


We were leaving on the Key West Express and requested to leave our bags with the hotel until departure time. I asked if they would be secure, and they said yes. However, they were left all day in the breakfast area, unsecured.

We probably won't stay here again... but the price was reasonable and we could only stay 1 night and this is the only place we found to do that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kc7294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

We're so glad to hear you and the kids had a great stay with us! However, we're sorry to hear you thought the bed was uncomfortable -- that's not a complaint we've heard before, so we apologize if it put a damper on your stay. That said, it's great to see that our location and accommodations could make for such a fun family trip, and we hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in the area.

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We paid 169$ for night with parking! and was worth it because of the great location. The hotel is located on southard st which is practically on Duval st, close to Walgreens and a really nice coffee shop.
The room could have been cleaner, but thats the only minus for my opinion.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Reut P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

There's nothing more important to us than making sure you feel welcomed and comfortable. I'm sorry to hear that your room could have been cleaner, Reut. Don't hesitate to let us know if there's ever an issue -- we'd be happy to send a team member up!

That said, it sounds like you enjoyed your trip to Key West, which is great. I hope to see you next time you're in town!

Best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location on the corner of Duval and Southard can't be beat. However, the great location makes checking in a royal pain. The hotel parking lot at $10.00/night for guests only may be the best bargain in town. Drop off luggage, park in the lot and then check-in.

Our party of five, 2 adults and 3 teens, we're very comfortable and not cramped at all in Suite 2. The room, bathroom and shower are the biggest I've seen in the Keys.

Room Tip: May sleep a little better in a room that doesn't face Duval.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

It sounds like you and your family had a great vacation, Mary! Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Key West. The next time you visit, don't hesitate to request a room off the street -- we'd be happy to take care of that. Hope to see you soon!

Take care,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £134 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International
Pegasus International Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing