We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place!”
Review of La Te Da Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Te Da Hotel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A comfortable place!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel in Key West. We had room overlooking the swimming pool with a small landscaped garden area. It was a quaint, small room with the basics for comfort. However the phone never worked, minor point since we have cell phones anyway. They have a dining are outside cover and protected overlying pool and street which was nice and open. Also, a bar area outside overlooking the street. Good for people watching. Also, an inside bar with piano and singing entertainment in the evenings. Very contemporary design and surrounding. Rooms upstairs and down all over this cover mansion/home of a former cigar manufacturer. One feature we thought was very nice was your choice of a free full breakfast every morning. Evening entertainment available on site. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Conveniently located on Duval Street with walking distance to restaurants and attractions. I would recommend this place for a long weekend stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located near service areas. I suggest you ask not to be placed there. Other than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    148
    28
    22
    15
See reviews for
31
302
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

If you can handle bar noise and aren't looking for a quiet relaxing place this is great. Real party atmosphere in evenings.

Good value for money, excellent breakfast, helpful staff, nice bar at quiet end of duval st. Loved that part of it.

Noisy rooms, old a.c units, old bathroom, but didn't bother us as we didn't come to key west to hang out in the room

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Really nice place with wonderful sit down breakfast in a very nice setting. At south end of Duval within walking distance but quieter in south side of Duval. Would recommend and look forward to coming back for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Based on review from a couple of years ago, we decided to stay at this hotel. I loved the location but the property has fallen into some disrepair. I loved the ambiance but learned that the owners had died and it was being run by two of their attorneys(not substantiated). The pool had peeling paint and was not clean, the rooms were just ok with electrical outlets (could only find 1 in room) that was falling out of wall. If you wanted to use a reading light, there was 2 of them but nowhere to plug them in.
There are so many places around and just off Duvall street that I would not choose this hotel again. However I enjoyed the people that worked there. You could tell it was a gathering spot. I truly hope someone infuses love into this landmark very soon. Or I believe it will be just a landmark the trolly drives by.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enaboo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The ambience, location and kitchen are fabulous, but look beyond that and there are some issues. The lively piano bar can be heard in the room. The pool appeared to have algae spots. No one used it and seemed more suitable for frogs and such. Our room was renovated, but the bathroom had a rusty box in the corner, moldy tiles and wasn't cleaned properly. Same dust bunnies for our two night stay. Dinner and service was great. Breakfast was another issue. The server took exception to our seating ourselves before they opened ( we understood there was no service, made no demands and just wanted to use our laptops ). The server retaliated by ignoring our table and then slamming our food when it finally came. Second day was the same. We reported it to the front desk and left without breakfast. We heard this fellow berating some other guests who dared to seat themselves before 830am. Hint to management - rope off the area if it causes so much distress to your server or start up earlier. It was a very uncomfortable experience and is reflected in the rating.
First time at a B & B where it is urged to leave a 5.00 gratuity for an included breakfast. Well the service didn't warrant a dime for starters, and it's rather cheeky anyway to suggest a tip for a provided service. Just my two cents. At 165.00 a night we felt it didn't reflect good value. We won't be back to this hotel. There is plenty of selection in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights before heading out on a cruise. I cannot say enough good things about the staff - I travel a lot and I have NEVER met more pleasant hotel and dinig staff from start to finish! While the hotel may not be the most updated, the staff more than makes up for it! From the moment we walked in after a log drive from ft Lauderdale til checkout, everyone was smiling, friendly, laid-back, and helpful! I am so terrible with names but the guys at the front desk as well as our servers at breakfast made for such a pleasant stay! And the breakfast is also amazing, especially since it included as part of your stay! I will not hesitate to stay here again as to recommend to friends - if you are very straight-laced this may not be the place for you as there can be some crazy parties an interesting people, but if you value service, location close to southernmost point and Southernmost Beach, and value, you cannot go wrong! Such a charming place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaina0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed in room 20 - although this is a supposedly " lux" room, it lacked a tub. The room was a good size, but the furnishings needed an upgrade as did the bathroom. Loved the atmosphere of this quaint hotel and for the cost, it was a fair deal.Key West is very expensive so this hotel fit the deal for a 2 night stay in this delightful holiday town, far removed in the southern most point in the USA. Loved my holiday in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Property: La Te Da Hotel
Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Te Da Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LaTeDa offers 15 guestrooms in a vibrant Key West style atmosphere. The whole property has been recently renovated by new owners. LaTeDa Features - A full cooked to order is complementary for all hotel guests. - Nightly piano Bar with live entertainment - Cabaret theater - Terrace bar with Duval St view. Note: LaTeDa does not offer any clothing optional areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Te Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da
La Te Da Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing