We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, Not Worth the $”
Review of La Te Da Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Te Da Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok, Not Worth the $”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here Dec 2012 with a friend. There are definitely better places and better values in Key West. The best thing is the location- the quieter end of Duval. But there is still noise right outside your room due to the bar, and people going by to their rooms. There are also lots of stairs for the upper rooms. Our room had French doors for the entrance, but the curtains were pretty see-through, I didn't like that as passers-by could see the bed. The bathroom was also odd, although remodeled recently, it felt very cold and institutional; maybe it was the lighting. Whatever, it made me uncomfortable, whereas most hotels I've stayed in (even cheaper ones) have felt much nicer. I wouldn't stay here again, other places even in worse locations would be better overall.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't have the entrance looking at the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_chgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    147
    28
    22
    14
See reviews for
27
301
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I just love this hotel. Far from ordinary and there is just a carefree feeling entering this charming place. I have stayed in Key West many times but this place is my favorite. Delightful food. Friendly staff that went out of their way to accommodate. We came right before a Hurricane hit and had to cut our trip short. The staff allowed us to stay in our room until we were ready to depart in the storm and did not charge us for the night we did not stay. I believe most hotels would have charged. My husband and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The La Te Da restaurant and bar wasn't bustling like I had seen in the past during my other stays in Key West (probably because of the time of year), but that was one of the reasons I thought it would be fun to stay there. That's not really a problem since there's no lack of either restaurants or bars down there! About the hotel itself...it is an older building but was clean. What was awkward is that there are two rooms (mine being one of them) that open right into the restaurant (which is outdoor with under-cover seating). So literally you could be in your bathing suit walking right past someone's table while they're eating a nice meal. The nice thing is that the room price includes a choice of breakfast items to choose from: eggs/meat/potatoes, french toast, fruit and yogurt. It also includes juice and coffee. Really good deal. Breakfast was very good. However, during one breakfast there was a black hair in the salt (they bring that in an open container on the side), so that was the last time we ate there. We had one dinner there. Portions were generous. I thought the drinks at the bar were pricey (common down there, but really, 2 gin and tonics for $19 + tip?). Both of the drag cabaret performers were on vacation, so no shows were on the schedule. The show I saw in the past was a lot of fun, so check that out if you go to Key West. The hotel is closer to the quiet end of Duval. We walked everywhere, so we got a lot of exercise. Bring comfortable shoes if you plan on going to the other end of Duval every day. The gentleman at the hotel check-in (Eric, I think) was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't open into the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terieisenhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This little gem is a must-stay for anyone who appreciates old world charm. It's casual, breezy character provides the backdrop for relaxation, but Dave Bootle at the piano bar and the Tea Dance offered some great entertainment. My accommodations in room #32 were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is in need of some TLC, but I loved it's charm. Thank you LJ (general mgr), Eric, Chris and Daniel (concierge) for your hospitality and generosity during my visit. It was my pleasure to meet you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel itself is average at best, nothing really to rave about. It is located on the quiet end of Duval street about 2 blocks away from the ocean and a small beach. The pool is really unusable, they should just get rid of it and use it for more restaurant seating. The employees, the bar and the food make up for the lackluster hotel. Free breakfast was really good. You only have a choice of four items listed on a card they give you. The bar is a great place to just chill out and people watch. Jason the bartender is a true professional. Look for him in the evening time. Dinner was really good also, check out the daily specials. Overall it was a nice stay, my only recommendation is that they do some remodeling to spruce up the place a bit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightowl1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

B&B my @$$. More like a motel. No one helped with our luggage. We had to drag it up stairs that were slanted and uneven. AC unit was to small and the room was hot all the time. The large french doors do not have a good cover and forget trying to sleep with it is light out. 12.5% tax on the room. No show, just some guy on a piano. Only three choices for breakfast, same three everyday. Drinks were over priced and not very good, unless you prefer to drink out of the bottle. Very very strong. My wife cut her foot on the broken concrete in the pool. I was expecting a lot more at least in the service. Our room never got cleaned. We had to ask for more linens, just to have clean ones. The layout was nice and could have been a great place if it had been kept up and the service cared. Our little Inn we stayed at on the way home was great compaired to this.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton on the end of the street. They care about how your stay is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

quieter end of duval st, walking distance to everything tho! blocks to beach and quick walk to bars/restaurants. cute lil place, staff very nice. awesome included breakfast daily. only minor complaint would b the pool that needs severe updating.. but the beach is do close no need for pool. overall great place for the price! would def return :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyliesmommy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Property: La Te Da Hotel
Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Te Da Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LaTeDa offers 15 guestrooms in a vibrant Key West style atmosphere. The whole property has been recently renovated by new owners. LaTeDa Features - A full cooked to order is complementary for all hotel guests. - Nightly piano Bar with live entertainment - Cabaret theater - Terrace bar with Duval St view. Note: LaTeDa does not offer any clothing optional areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Te Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da
La Te Da Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing