We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down old hotel”
Review of La Te Da Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Te Da Hotel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Built originally in the late 1800's it has been added on too many times. Although the location is very nice located directly on Duval St that is about the best I can say for it. One of the couples we were traveling with found their room full of termites. The hotel cleaned it quickly and said it happens a couple of times a year. We got a special rate of $189 + taxes per night which in my opinion was a total rip off. The mattress was lumpy and sagged. It just seemed not very clean to me. A couple of our friends left with the same impression.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any really good rooms or views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was nice, room was clean, and we had an enjoyable stay. If you are expecting a quiet hotel, this is not your place as we could hear noise from the kitchen and there was a 1 cm gap between the room doors. This did not bother us and we had a great time. Breakfast is a limited menu but is included with your room and was delicious! Hotel has a lot of charm and we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank rescuesgreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We never would have found the La Te Da without TripAdvisor. Neither of us had ever been to Key West and I planned this as a surprise trip. The reviews were great and the prices compared to other similarly rated hotels were very good so I figured we'd give it a shot.

Was worried about the fact that they didn't have designated parking, but finding parking on the street around the corner was very easy, (and due to the great location...we never moved our car again until it was time to leave). Hotel has a great bar/restaurant outside right on Duval, great place for a drink, or the free (we like FREE) made to order, great breakfast. Perfect for people watching and again the staff here are a lot of fun and very personable.

We booked one of the luxury rooms, slightly dated, but very good size, and had a funky, Key West vibe. The bathroom was kind of cramped, but serviceable and the bed was very comfortable.

We ate at the main restaurant and weren't impressed, we didn't attend the show, (but others raved about it).

We had a great time here, I would highly recommend the La Te Da and we'll definitely be back on our next trip to Key West.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCheveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

In the past, we have stayed at WAY more expensive places and have always found them lacking, especially at the price. And last time we were in Key West and paid a whole boatload of $$$$, we found ourselves in an over-priced resort with a small room and overrun with KIDS. We had eaten at La Te Da before, and drank (duh!) and I decided to give this place a try.

AMAZING. Yes. This is what we have been looking for in Key West. it's small and cozy, cute, right on Duval Street but surprisingly quiet. Great pool. Awesome and super friendly staff. We had another couple with us and they said their room was great as well. It's priced well and is just what we need when we go to Key West. I'm pretty sure there was no TV in our room. if it had one, we didn't see it and we loved that about it as well. But for TV addicts, I'm sure this would be a minus. Who watches TV when you csn watch Duval Street anyway????

Breakfast was included and I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it was NOT a buffet. Awesome, made to order breakfast.

Good stuff all around and we will most definitely be staying there next time we go down to KW and I will even request the same room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bonsai35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

When I found this hotel on line and looked at all the reviews I knew we had to book this hotel, this is my 6th time to Key West and had stayed in some very expensive places but this beat those expensive, over priced hotels by a long shot. When speaking to Eric and booking the hotel I already felt like he was a friend. When we got to the hotel it was so charming, historic, and comfortable. The place is a little gem hidden at the end of Duval St. Nice to be at the quite end. Easy to walk to everything. The outside bar is fabulous. Doug our bartender was great and also James. The best tasting Cosmo's around The La Te Da Cosmo was great. The complementary breakfast everyday was wonderful, even if your feeling a little green around the gills from the night before they try to accommodate you.( ha ha ha ) The whole experience was just wonderful, if your looking for a original Key West historic charming place, with reasonable prices with a refreshing pool and welcoming staff this is YOUR place. Thank you everyone for making us feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 25, 24, 23 or 19 great location downstairs by the pool and dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptldebmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Overall, not bad...location was good but the rooms are very small and old. So old in fact - the doors STILL USE KEYS !! And - had a chair in front of our room that some weird guy sat in all day long ( we could barely open our door to get out - that is how close this guy sat to our door!) But that wasn't the problem. The problem is that I left my bathing suit hanging in the armoire to dry after taking a swim. When we left to go home I forgot to open the doors of the armoire, thus leaving my bathing suit in the room. So we called when got home figuring they would say "YES, we found it in your room "and would enthusiastically offer to send it to us ( especially after spending $150.00 per night on the room) . But - I was wrong - They said they didn't have it ! So housekeeping must have stolen it, or, the person that housekeeping turned it into - stole it !If they are going to steal a bathing suit, imagine what else they might take when they clean the room!! Kinda scary ! So - obviously , I am not a fan of this place !! stay away and spend your money somewhere else !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Been coming here since 1980 - still charming and alluring but like an old dowager - needs some cosmetic surgery, Room had old dated furniture - 2 terribly uncomfortable chairs - large bathroom with very slippery marble to step on when you exit the jacuzzi tub. Mold on the tiles. Wifi does not work in the room "go outside and try it". Drapes had unusual bleach? spots on them. Needs serious exterior housekeeping - lots of filled ashtrays and empty wine bottles. The food - however - was excellent!! Breakfast is included - choice of 4 selections. Ate lunch and dinner there - large portions, our Polish waiter was excellent. Food well presented and tasty. Their postings on FB about the evening's entertainment were completely wrong so we missed the show. 6 tacky plastic blow up pool floats diminish the tropical atmosphere. Great location and away from the cruise travelers who swoop in like vultures and buy nothing but t shirts . Still, it is Key West and we will always go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room in the back away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,794 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.3 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £188 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Te Da Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LaTeDa offers 15 guestrooms in a vibrant Key West style atmosphere. The whole property has been recently renovated by new owners. LaTeDa Features - A full cooked to order is complementary for all hotel guests. - Nightly piano Bar with live entertainment - Cabaret theater - Terrace bar with Duval St view. Note: LaTeDa does not offer any clothing optional areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Te Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da
La Te Da Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing