We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Te Da Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Te Da Hotel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2007

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 5 night stay at La Te Da. Although it is a mostly gay property, they were very accommodating to a straight couple. This was our first time to Key West and all of the staff at La Te Da were very helpful to us with tips and suggestions of things to do and see. The hotel is located at the "calm" end of Duval Street. Key West is very much a "party town" and we could hear the fun going on until late in the evening. It did not bother us, though. We highly recommend this clean, lovely, place for anyone to stay!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank poodlegirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    147
    28
    22
    14
See reviews for
27
301
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2007

We just got back from a four night stay at La Te Da and we had a very nice time. We had a second floor "luxury" room in the back area of the property. The room seemed to be recently updated and the bed was very comfortable. The thing that made our visit an enjoyable stay was the staff and the other guests, everyone was very helpful and extremely friendly. The pool is very small with only a few lounge chairs available but it was never crowded. Having never been to KW, my husband and I did a lot of site seeing so we spent most afternoons out and about on the island. The food at the restaurant was very good and the drinks at the bar were great. The location was ideal for seeing the Old Town area of KW. The only thing that we noticed that needs improvement would be some of the regular maintenance such as painting banisters, tile work, etc. All in all, we had a great time.

  • Liked — The staff and service
  • Disliked — Behind on maintenance
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skinny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2007

The best thing about La Te Da is the staff. From the time we arrived to the time we left every staff member we encountered was extremely friendly and more than helpful. They made our experience. The second best thing about La Te De was the restaurant. The food was amazing. We opted to order breakfast off of their menu instead of taking advantage of the free breakfast offered with the stay. That was our choice because they had so many wonderful choices. As well we had lunch, dinner and drinks. Everytime was better than the last. The rooms are very much like a B&B and have great charm. Unfortunately the small air conditioning units in the rooms are not sufficient to keep the room cool. The TV's have limited channels and do not always work. We never complained so maybe this is something they could have fixed. If you like B&B's this hotel is more than perfect!!!!!! If you prefer modern ammenties than you will be disappointed. For our next trip we will visit La Te Da for drinks and meals but will stay in a more modern hotel. It's not because La Te Da is a bad place to stay, It's because we like a more modern stay.

  • Liked — Exceptional Service
  • Disliked — airconditioning in the rooms were not sufficient enough to handle the outside heat
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank trixieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

This hotel used to be my most favorite in Key West. I used to stay there the MANY times that I went, however, this was the WORST EXPERIENCE that I could have possibly had. Because of a recent change in management, staff is absolutely dreadful. The rooms were extremely dirty and I actually saw bugs in the room, dirty linens, ring around the tub, a smell of mold in the room and terribly uncomfortable beds. There was a USED condom in one of the fake plants in my room. It was TOTALLY disgusting. We ate at the restaurant and the food was the worst I have EVER eaten in the Keys. I really don't think this place is going to last long the way they are operating now. Also, the Mexican bartender in the tiny little inside bar made a pass at me and it sickened me. I mentioned all of the above to the manager but it didn't seem to phase him. I felt only way to get restitution was to let fellow travellers know what an ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE PLACE THIS IS!!!!!

  • Liked — Checkout was fast!
  • Disliked — The Mexican bartender!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank funky102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

We loved this hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and we couldn't fault it. The hotel is smart but laid back with a very social bar which has a singer and a pianist every night.

The rooms are all around the pool, restaurant and bar area so take your ear plugs if you want to get an early night, but the music usually stops at 12 and its so pleasant by the bar that you wouldn't want to anyway.

The staff are very friendly and made us feel so welcome giving us fabulous tips on what to do and see.

3 times a week they have a cabaret/ drag show on in the crystal rooms which are also in the hotel about 20$ a ticket, we saw Randy Roberts who was brilliant.

The pool is 24hrs which is lovely but we didn't take advantage of it really. The breakfasts are a choice of 3 things including a fabulous fruit cocktail with fresh yoghurt - yummy!

I would really recommend this hotel for a bit of a different type of stay.

  • Liked — spacious rooms we had no.19
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Sazzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2007

We just returned from a 4-day stay at La Te Da. What we can offer from our stay is nothing short of fantastic. As ALL places in an island resort area, of course they could use a little updating, but as many people have already said, who goes there to spend every minute in the room? The important thing is that the rooms were spotless, and if you needed anything the staff was more than accommodating to make sure you received it. Mark has done an excellent job of finding and retaining some of the best staff that Key West has to offer. Every single person there was friendly and outgoing.

The pool does have a little debris from the tree's above, there were people on hand several times a day to remove the leaves, but impossible to manage full time. The pool is private, and is 24 hours. It is heated and feels great at 2 am!

We had breakfast and dinner at La Te Da. For breakfast we tried the free meals, which were great. But we also tried the breakfast special one morning, which was delicious. The dinner setting was romantic and the food was prepared perfectly. We ordered specials as well as from the menu (There were 6 of us). Everyone loved his or her food. Our waiter even went the extra mile to accommodate a drink my wife loves. They didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand, but he made sure she received it.

We probably had the most fun with the bar staff. We started our afternoons with drinks at the bar. The bartender was extremely funny/friendly, and made great drinks too! We were told that their Bloody Marys are all home made, but we never had a chance to try one. The La Te Da Lemonade is a great summer drink, and the martini’s come with a very generous “side-car” all of which make for the perfect start of a day.

The only negative that we could say about this place is that walking from the hotel to the bars at the other side of the island does get a bit tiring. This problem could be solved by just drinking there, taking a cab, or scooters downtown etc.

We would no doubt only stay at La Te Da the next time we visit Key West. We could not imagine staying somewhere else. (We have been to Key West 3 times total, this is the first review we have written.)

  • Liked — Staff, Restaurant, Bars
  • Disliked — Location to the other bars
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank TNTNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2007

Sure, it's not the Four Seasons, but in many ways, better.

The rooms were clean. They were in need or renovation, but, really. One doesn't go to Key West to sit in a hotel room all day.

It was small, quaint, clean and friendly. The bar was nice, the pool was nice and the restaurant was nice. I had a great, relaxing time at this hotel.

The people were wonderful. This property is not child friendly, which makes it even better.

It is located in a quieter area of Duval. Relaxing at the pool, one would never know that you are just steps from a main thoroughfare.

I do look forward to many, many returns to La Te Da.

  • Liked — The relaxed feel, the friendly staff, just about everything
  • Disliked — The room really was in need of updating.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ckdjr60301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Property: La Te Da Hotel
Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Te Da Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Te Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da
La Te Da Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing