We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, but missing the KW warmth”
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Papa's Hideaway
Ranked #43 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, but missing the KW warmth”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Papa's Hideaway last weekend for Lobsterfest. We had never stayed prior to the property being sold to the property management company, so I really have nothing to compare it to, but I can only assume that having the actual owners there would have provided the ability to talk and interact with locals and to build those relationships that is part of the charm of being in Key West. I guess it felt a little corporate.

After we picked up our keys from the office off of Duval, we headed over to put our stuff away and rent our scooter. The place is nicely situated off of Duval on the quiet southern end. You can actually see the Southernmost Buoy when you walk to the end of Luisa St to Whitehead. We stayed in studio 4 on the 1st floor. We really liked the size of the place, with a full sized refrigerator, sink, glasses, cups, plates, silverware, etc. We had a king sized bed which was very comfortable and the grounds surrounding the place were very nice, almost like being in the middle of a little tropical garden. We even had our own little patio area which was a nice place to relax in the morning with a mimosa or a beer before bed. There was also an ample sized bathroom for the two of us.

There was definitely more to Papa's Hideaway that I liked, but a few of the negatives is that there was absolutely no hot water in the shower. We had to take a freezing cold shower every morning. I made a joke about us being lucky we were in Key West in August, but it definitely did wake us up each morning. I was very under impressed with the breakfast there. Now, I only stay at B&B's when I go to KW, but this was even less than the usual bagels, fruit, yogurt and coffee. There was just really nothing edible. When we decided to take a night dip in the pool, the pool is so over-chlorinated that my eyes felt like they were going to drip out of my skull.

However, even with those few negatives, I would probably stay here again and recommend it especially if the hot water issue can be corrected. The grounds, the location and the quaintness of the place make it a great place to stay if they can correct the little issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Many thanks for your review. One of the things that we are trying to ensure that we do not lose is our interaction with our guests and to ensure that they are aware of the expanded service offerings that the property can now provide to guests. Out of our Duval Street offices, we offer a full concierge service, complementary shuttle, full business center and other services to ensure that our guests receive everything that they need during their time in Key West.

Papa's is doing more than ever to ensure that our guests have everything needed to have a wonderful stay in paradise and the improvements are continuing thanks to guest feedback like yours.

We have installed a salt water chlorination system in our heated pool and have heard nothing but rave reviews regarding it. With the historic nature of the building, water temperature is something that we have heard loud and clear and we have undergone improvements to continue evolving Papa's in to the best guesthouse on the island.

Overall guest experience is extremely important to us and we continue to listen to our valued guests feedback and have the property in a state where it has never been better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    35
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great location nice rooms.No hot water in the shower it was Luke warm at best.
The pools edge was covered with Cat droppings.I saw the girl cleaner just hose around it. pretty disgusting..I cleaned out the breakfast fridge.It had moldy food and was out of the cream cheese and jams
I complained on my way out. to deaf ears.
You have to pick up and drop off the keys at an office about half a mile away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leec92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I did so much research booking a trip to Key West and I'm so happy I finally decided on Papa's Hideaway! We stayed in room 3 downstairs. It was clean, had a comfortable amenities, great bed and a lot of room. We felt like it was a small apartment! We stayed 3 nights. We parked the car and never moved it. We were able to walk or use a moped to get to everything we wanted to do. There may have been other guests staying here but we never saw them. Papa's was so private and quiet. A few people wandered by and inquired about the place because it was so charming. The garden patio is wonderful. We used the pool but it was over chlorinated (only negative). We felt safe, slept great and had a great experience with Key West Vacation Rentals. Truly I can't imagine staying elsewhere. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimxray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Many thanks for stopping by and letting us know. We can't wait to have the opportunity to serve you again here in paradise! Take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed in suite 1, which is upstairs. It had plenty of room for 4 of us for a girls' weekend. The sofa sleeper was newer than what is shown in the pictures online right now, and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable. Papa' s is in a nice quiet location while still being close enough to walk to all the action. We took advantage of the free breakfast by the pool each morning, which was nicely done with coffee, juice, milk, cereals, bagels, toast, etc. Our room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Not fancy by any means, so if you expect that then look elsewhere. We loved it!

I can't stress enough how happy we were with Key West Vacation Rentals, the management company. They provided us with quick transportation to and from the ferry dock when we arrived and on our last day when we departed. If we needed anything while we were there they were a quick phone call away & the couple of minor issues we had were addressed immediately. They were fabulous people! We will definitely return here if we travel to Key West in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for stopping by and sharing your experience with us. We are working hard to progressively offer additional services to our guests to make their stay with us as convenient and memorable as possible. We hope to see you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 before the change of ownership. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, where we found an envelope pinned to the back gate which contained instructions on entry and directions to our room. The next day we went down to the pool area for breakfast, which was cereal and toast etc. By this point we still had not met the hosts. Whilst eating breakfast there was a lady cleaning the pool. We found out much later that the lady cleaning the pool was Andrea, the owner. Hmmm, maybe she was shy that day and decided not to introduce herself.
We stayed in Studio 2, up one flight of stairs. The room was spacious but basic, nothing flash. The water pressure for the shower was virtually non-existent and hot water took ages to come on. The location is good, at the quiet end of town, right near the most southern point. We had no trouble parking our vehicle. On our last stay we were given a Papa’s Hideaway coffee mug each, which was a nice touch. The rooms do need a bit of a renovation as they were a bit tired, but overall it was a relaxing experience

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was my second visit and my friend and I had the cottage for 4 nights. We were present for the ownership change over and I'm pleased to report that the new manager did continue to provide breakfast and even generously offered to drive us to the airport. I will miss the prior owners, Fred and Andrea who were wonderful and I hope this is a great change for them and their family.

As always the garden and pool were tranquil and lovely. More than that, the intimate setting allows you to connect with the other (usually, low key and wonderful) guests if you want to or just keep to yourself if not. I have met terrific people at Papa's that I will enjoy for life.

For the rooms, I only regretted we did not have more friends with us to enjoy the cabin. Two beds, two baths, private patio with a bar, kitchen and dining room with the best porch. Ceiling fans, swing, and rocking chairs (rumored to once have been frequented by Papa himself back when the cabin was the home of a Key West Judge). Beach towels and kitchen items aplenty, even a poker set and checkerboard for rainy days, not to mention an extensive collection of paperbacks and other poolside reading.

I hope to return with a bigger crew next year (or sooner) and hope the garden remains as lush and private of an oasis as it has always been.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nikklou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This review is for everyone who has stayed at Papa's in the past and loved it so much to return. It has been recently sold to a vacation rental company and our 5 visit to this location we have noticed a few changes. The wonderful foiliage that helped make the property so private has been hacked to the point that you can see the house directly behind the property and see the cars that drive down Whitehead. The Christmas lights that some may have considered cheesy, but provided alot of light and atmosphere to the location at night have been turned off. The rooms are still the same but with new flat screen TVs and a bit of light decorating. We were told that 'alot of changes' were coming, and many times were told that they needed to get the property up to their standards. We visit Key West every year at the same time and prefer to stay here, I have already researched the cost for next year and it appears that the room rate has gone up $10 a night and a new insurance and admin fee has been added. Due to this and the changes and I am aure the more changes coming I am not sure if we will be staying here again, I fear it will become a bit more commercial then we like. But we had a good 5 years. For new visitors, you will not notice these changes since you are new to this B&B....I hope that you love the property. I just don't think it is for us anymore.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandee_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#52 of 77 in Key West
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
0.4 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#32 of 77 in Key West
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Property: Papa's Hideaway
Address: 309 Louisa St, Key West, FL 33040-7513
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West
Papa's Hideaway Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing