We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, best experience I've had in Key West”
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Papa's Hideaway
Ranked #45 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Everything at Papa's was perfect. The salt water pool (which changed from the last time I was here) was an awesome addition. Love the new patio furniture out by the pool and on the private patio. The management team was great and even gave us a ride to the airport. Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Papa's Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Ok B&B. Cozy and full of charme. No staff at the proporty and you have to Pick up the key elsewhere. Would we go there again? Year maybee but It's not cheap compared to quality. Breakfast was notning to write about. I would rather do without. Nice clean pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paw H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your insight. We consistently have staff on property from all departments including housekeeping, maintenance and property management. Our service levels provide all guests with whatever they require from full concierge services, to complementary airport transportation - and everything in between.

We hope to see you again soon to show you how much our guests at Papa's mean to us. Take good care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is not a hotel or even a B&B; it is a (very nice) private home that was divided up into four separate units for lodging and run by a management service. As a result, there may be fees and basic information that is not disclosed or poorly disclosed in advance and services are extremely limited. We arrived for our stay “after hours” and had no way of accessing the property. We called the number listed on the property fence (and the one available through Google) and just got voicemail. Fortunately we chanced upon another visitor who provided us with an “after hours” number. We had to drive to the management office for a key. However, no one is available at the management office after 5pm and we were unable to get the key. Eventually a guy drove over help us get the key, but this is not a nice ay to be spending limited vacation time. The property is nice, but our toilet was broken and the refrigerator was coated with some nasty green mildew-rust. Guests are supposed to wash their own dishes (by hand). No fresh towels were provided as part of the daily maid service (ours were dirty and we left them on the floor for replacement – so we had nothing on the second day of our stay). Then the management service called up to explain that since we had booked through Hotels.com we had to pay an extra fee of $30 that supposedly goes to Hotels.com. I would not complain about any of these issues if I were staying at a $60/night rathole advertised in advance as a $60 rathole. But this place is not cheap and with the poor service, maintenance, hygiene and extra fees, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snarkus04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Our guesthouse is defined by our level of service that perhaps this guest did not take advantage of. While still being a quaint historic guesthouse, our commitment to guest service is of the highest levels. We offer full concierge services, complementary airport/ferry transportation, business services complete with a guest work station in our Old Town Key West offices and much more for our guests to take advantage of.

Our check-in instructions are clearly stated on our website and we even provide a follow up confirmation e-mail with detailed check-in and after hours instructions.

The $30 fee referenced is also not specific to any booking method and is a resort fee for all of the services provided. Certainly make sure to call on us during your stay to take advantage of all that we do offer and let us show you why Papa's is your destination in Old Town Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I just stayed at Papa's Hideaway last weekend for Lobsterfest. We had never stayed prior to the property being sold to the property management company, so I really have nothing to compare it to, but I can only assume that having the actual owners there would have provided the ability to talk and interact with locals and to build those relationships that is part of the charm of being in Key West. I guess it felt a little corporate.

After we picked up our keys from the office off of Duval, we headed over to put our stuff away and rent our scooter. The place is nicely situated off of Duval on the quiet southern end. You can actually see the Southernmost Buoy when you walk to the end of Luisa St to Whitehead. We stayed in studio 4 on the 1st floor. We really liked the size of the place, with a full sized refrigerator, sink, glasses, cups, plates, silverware, etc. We had a king sized bed which was very comfortable and the grounds surrounding the place were very nice, almost like being in the middle of a little tropical garden. We even had our own little patio area which was a nice place to relax in the morning with a mimosa or a beer before bed. There was also an ample sized bathroom for the two of us.

There was definitely more to Papa's Hideaway that I liked, but a few of the negatives is that there was absolutely no hot water in the shower. We had to take a freezing cold shower every morning. I made a joke about us being lucky we were in Key West in August, but it definitely did wake us up each morning. I was very under impressed with the breakfast there. Now, I only stay at B&B's when I go to KW, but this was even less than the usual bagels, fruit, yogurt and coffee. There was just really nothing edible. When we decided to take a night dip in the pool, the pool is so over-chlorinated that my eyes felt like they were going to drip out of my skull.

However, even with those few negatives, I would probably stay here again and recommend it especially if the hot water issue can be corrected. The grounds, the location and the quaintness of the place make it a great place to stay if they can correct the little issues.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Many thanks for your review. One of the things that we are trying to ensure that we do not lose is our interaction with our guests and to ensure that they are aware of the expanded service offerings that the property can now provide to guests. Out of our Duval Street offices, we offer a full concierge service, complementary shuttle, full business center and other services to ensure that our guests receive everything that they need during their time in Key West.

Papa's is doing more than ever to ensure that our guests have everything needed to have a wonderful stay in paradise and the improvements are continuing thanks to guest feedback like yours.

We have installed a salt water chlorination system in our heated pool and have heard nothing but rave reviews regarding it. With the historic nature of the building, water temperature is something that we have heard loud and clear and we have undergone improvements to continue evolving Papa's in to the best guesthouse on the island.

Overall guest experience is extremely important to us and we continue to listen to our valued guests feedback and have the property in a state where it has never been better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great location nice rooms.No hot water in the shower it was Luke warm at best.
The pools edge was covered with Cat droppings.I saw the girl cleaner just hose around it. pretty disgusting..I cleaned out the breakfast fridge.It had moldy food and was out of the cream cheese and jams
I complained on my way out. to deaf ears.
You have to pick up and drop off the keys at an office about half a mile away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leec92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I did so much research booking a trip to Key West and I'm so happy I finally decided on Papa's Hideaway! We stayed in room 3 downstairs. It was clean, had a comfortable amenities, great bed and a lot of room. We felt like it was a small apartment! We stayed 3 nights. We parked the car and never moved it. We were able to walk or use a moped to get to everything we wanted to do. There may have been other guests staying here but we never saw them. Papa's was so private and quiet. A few people wandered by and inquired about the place because it was so charming. The garden patio is wonderful. We used the pool but it was over chlorinated (only negative). We felt safe, slept great and had a great experience with Key West Vacation Rentals. Truly I can't imagine staying elsewhere. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimxray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Many thanks for stopping by and letting us know. We can't wait to have the opportunity to serve you again here in paradise! Take good care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed in suite 1, which is upstairs. It had plenty of room for 4 of us for a girls' weekend. The sofa sleeper was newer than what is shown in the pictures online right now, and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable. Papa' s is in a nice quiet location while still being close enough to walk to all the action. We took advantage of the free breakfast by the pool each morning, which was nicely done with coffee, juice, milk, cereals, bagels, toast, etc. Our room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Not fancy by any means, so if you expect that then look elsewhere. We loved it!

I can't stress enough how happy we were with Key West Vacation Rentals, the management company. They provided us with quick transportation to and from the ferry dock when we arrived and on our last day when we departed. If we needed anything while we were there they were a quick phone call away & the couple of minor issues we had were addressed immediately. They were fabulous people! We will definitely return here if we travel to Key West in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony R, Manager at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your experience with us. We are working hard to progressively offer additional services to our guests to make their stay with us as convenient and memorable as possible. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#30 of 77 in Key West
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#39 of 77 in Key West
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Address: 309 Louisa St, Key West, FL 33040-7513
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £150 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West
Papa's Hideaway Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing