We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Getaway”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #31 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, Fl.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Getaway”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A very nice Bed and Breakfast for the price in Key West. We stayed in the sugar palm suite and we found it to be spacious, comfortable and quiet. The limited interaction I had with the staff found them to be very pleasent and accommodating. For instance our check out was on Friday at 11 am and I asked if it would be possible to leave my car in their lot until we wanted to leave the island later that afternoon. I was told by both the check-in and check-out person that this would not be a problem and this allowed for us to have one more fantastic lunch without the problem of finding and paying for parking.

The biggest drawback is that they do not offer complementary breakfast unlike most other B&B's we've stayed at. It would have been nice to have had the option especially after a late night on the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    228
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
103
419
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Shop around, even in prime season (mid-March) we saw LOTS of vacancies. We could have showed up at sundown on any night and done at least as well for the same $$ or less.The location is nice and quiet, steps from the southern quarter of duval street. That said, the best thing I about the room was that it was spacious. The clock radio sounded miserable (a $10 Radio Shack job), the towels were frayed, the bathroom cramped (a glassed-in shower with a camp nozzle that gave off an uneven misty spray), the AC in the dining area was as loud as a jet plane, the "pool" was about 10' by 10', the free "coffee" by the pool was horrible. Other places included a continental or even full breakfast for less money. Not that saving $25 is a big deal for me, but come on. For more than $285 a night, it lacked style and elegance. Not bad, but not good either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joem60742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We made a last minute reservation and stayed int he Sugar Plum Suite. It was the nest B&B we have ever stayed in! We travel to Key West often and have stayed in many different inns. The staff was friendly, room was very clean and nice and the grounds are beautiful and they have parking to boot. We will return again.

Tim and Kim

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Recently we stayed here and had a great time. It is loud at night among younger guests but the air conditioner drowns out much of the noise. The garden is lovely and the rooms we stayed in were clean. The staff was particularly attentive to our needs. If we go back to Key West, we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay near the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridatravelmo... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I recently stayed here in the Sugar Palm and it was a great value. This was a planned trip so I shopped extensively and I found Douglas House in the low-mid to low range. Some have complained about the price but your on a small island that's a world wide travel destination. I would suggest an off season visit if it doesn't fit your budget because outside of the 5 dollar t-shirts on Duval there's not a lot of cheap on Key West when it's in season. Plus I was told the cost before I checked in and was given a tour of the property and room. It's not like I didn't know until I checked out..I was on a tight budget, I wanted a suite and to be on the quiet end of Old Town. I was very pleased with my whole experience
My suite was clean, had big a bathroom and comfortable beds. The room wasn't spartan but not over the top. It was pretty much what I expected at this price point. Everything worked and house keeping did it's thing daily. The grounds were gorgeous and the staff polite and helpful.
I was also informed when I booked the room that there was no breakfast. It's a guest house not a B&B, While enjoying a meal while relaxing on my deck would have been nice, I found going the Southernmost Cafe, just short stroll, for breakfast was great. It's waterfront and was reasonable in cost. Looking out on the water while having breakfast was a terrific way to start the day. We tried Denny's one morning and found it to be more expensive.
We rented bikes and they were so much fun. We took Whitehead( less traffic and stoplights than Duval) down to the action each day. It had been at least 35 years since I had ridden but I got back in the swing of it quickly.
Though I often use tripadvisor when planning a trip but this is my first review. I felt this property was getting unfair reviews. Hope you enjoy Key West...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcox725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We just checked out of 1102D and I must say we were very disappointed in the condition of the room and the service from the hotel. This is the second time my family has stayed at the Douglas House and we won't go back. We like the location of the room as it has a balcony overlooking Duval Street. But that is where the charm stops. The unit is a two bedroom and two bath suite which is great for two couples. But, the furnishings are very old, worn, and dirty. The bedding was disgusting. There were dark dirty spots all over the blankets. The walls had holes all through them. The floors were very dirty. Don't go barefoot unless you want dirty feet! The tv in the sitting area did not work, the ironing board was broken, as was the safe. The hotel did not service our rooms so no fresh towels, no beds made, no towels replaced, no bathrooms cleaned, and no soap replaced! This was not a cheap stay. We paid over $500 a night. I was not expecting The Ritz, but I sure wanted a bit more than what we got.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Recently stayed at the Douglas House Room 6 1drm Queen with Queen sofa sleeper. Informed the front desk the Queen sofa sleeper was not only LuMpY it was so thin the sofa bars were felt when laying down. I also complained about all the sand in the bed. The desk person stated "We've never had a complaint before." It was plain they didn't care because our stay was paid in advance. $288.00 per night! He said he would have house keeping see if there was anything they could do. When I returned to the room, house keeping had folded the bed up! Nothing else. The next morning I asked the house keeping girl if anyone had asked her to fix anything. NO was the answer. Very dissatisfied suggest anyone staying there be very cautious.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#7 of 77 in Key West
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,072 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#55 of 77 in Key West
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing