We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home away from home”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #31 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our 2nd stay. Won't go anywhere else. We are always treated like family here. The customer service is a wow (thanks Chris). We made our reservations and got a followup phone call!!!!!! We stayed in Fishtail Palm, had our own huge tropical lanai. Extremely clean, homey and comfortable. We just absolutely love Miss Callie (their calico). She made us feel welcomed and stayed with us our entire stay. Everything was beautiful and the pool was awesome. Far enough away from the noise of Duval Sreet, but close enough to access. We parked our car for the entire stay and walked everywhere. Chris was awesome in finding us great places to eat and fun things to do. We will always come back. Love you guys

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in this place, but try for a tropical garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    222
    77
    36
    18
See reviews for
98
412
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This place is very nice! Especial Chris (host), he's awesomely nice! He gave us a lot of great recommendations in terms of places to eat and water activities. If I'll come back visit one day I'll definitely stay at Douglas House again :)

Jessie

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, just off Duval St, but not too close!

We were in room L7, which was very spacious and clean. There's a great balcony..which is described as shared, but is in fact fairly private.

Check in was a very pleasant experience...Chris is very friendly, welcoming and helpful, his colleagues seem a little less so!

Not cheap, but it is Key West!


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Needed a last minute room. Found them on Hotel Tonight. Was a great deal. By the way, it was Memorial Day weekend. Anyway, my girlfriend and I stayed in #3. It has a steep loft area but we loved it. It has a huge outside private patio too. Its really a tropical paradise up here. I'm actually sitting in the patio right now writing this review. Staff was friendly, place was clean, I recommend highly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jetbondtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights during our three week road trip
We arrived early afternoon but no problem were checked straight in and shown around the property. We got room 3 with full kitchen and lots of outside sitting area on the ground floor. Large bedroom, well appointed bathroom and living area. Two TV,s one in bedroom, one in living area.
Beautiful gardens and small pool area with complimentary coffee/tea and even sunscreen ! Nice touch!
We were lucky enough to get a parking spot right outside, but the hotel does have its own car park just one block away.
Ideally located just off Duval St and within walking distance to all Key West bars and attractions.

5 minute walk to Hemingway Home and lighthouse and slightly less to southernmost Point
Fabulous accommodation in the heart of Key West

Room Tip: Research the type of rooms Douglas House has
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the Douglas House on our recent vacation in Florida. We booked the room for 1 night and wished we had longer. This is just such a beautiful place and the location is perfect for exploring key West. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is right on the corner of Duval St but yet far enough up the street to not be in the middle of the loud craziness but close enough to join in all the action key West has to offer. The Douglas House is made up of many different rooms and several buildings. We had the loveliest 2 floor rental that was so clean and well furnished and quiet. They have a beautiful small pool in a courtyard that is just so lovely and tropical. Gorgeous plants, water falls, pools, Orchids....relaxing. I will definitely be back. Next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannieMNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We just got back from our honeymoon where we stayed at the Douglas House and it was AMAZING!!!! The location was perfect for us since it was on the "quieter" side of Duval, but still near the action. We were greeted by Kevin who showed us around the B&B and to our room, and WOW I LOVED our room!!! It was clean and comfortable and just perfect for our honeymoon! (#14- Bismark Palm) The deck, pool area, and gardens are a beautiful oasis and extremely relaxing in the morning. (well anytime really.) If you need ANY ideas on where to eat and what to do you HAVE to ask Kevin and Kris! Speaking of Kris, let me tell you about this awesome guy. He is absolutely positively the BEST! If we needed anything we just asked Kris and not only would he give us great ideas, he would then make the appointments/reservations FOR us!!! I mean seriously how much more could you ask for?????? He took care of us and made us feel like royalty on our honeymoon which made the stay even more awesome. I can not say enough positive things about our experience there. If we ever go out to Key West again - the Douglas House will be where we stay without a doubt!!

Room Tip: We stayed in #14 which was a stand alone bungalow - PERFECT for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
#48 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing