We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value. Be weary of customer service.”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #30 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel and stay: Great location. Quiet part of Duval. Extremely comfortable bed. Nice pool. You can take your drink to the pool or buy a drink from the front office. Towels, coffee and tea are all provided in the pool area for free. Room was clean. Grounds were very nice with great landscaping. Accommodations-wise, it's a no brainer.

Customer service: If you do not care about customer service, don't hesitate to book. If you do, read on. I booked three rooms for seven adults (not college-student-adults, adults). The staff called to confirm our reservation and said that they do not host groups (because we rented three rooms) and if we wanted to cancel they would not charge us the cancelation fee. They said that we would all be at the pool at the same time and would crowd it. I had already paid the deposit on all three rooms at this point. Fast forward to us arriving. I had to sign a form with about 10 rules with financial consequences attached to breaking them. I asked for a copy of the rules. This was all done with attitude. I was informed we lost a key I would be charged a hefty fee. We had three bags, but were told to park in temporary parking to bring our bags in and then move the car to the parking. We said we didn't have a lot of bags and would like ensure a parking spot. He then INSISTED that we temporarily park. It was not in a pleasant tone and by the time we temporarily parked we were then told our room wasn't ready. Our room was later ready and the rest of the stay was without problem. There was another man who worked there who we met the next day. Thankfully he was awesome and we only interacted with him after, he was friendly and offered to help book any excursion we wanted. We received no kindness from the other employees.

Room Tip: Room 7 was small (the least expensive) and had a very soft, amazing bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VigorousVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a comfortable couple of days here. Nice old style house and accommodation was spacious if not a little aged but for the area couldn't complain- most things we needed- even a kitchen if you wanted to cook for yourself
the only thing that was missing was a Gideon Bible in the room - there wasn't even one on reception

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnySouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Yes, you can get more luxury at the Hyatt, Westin or either of the Waldorf Astoria Resorts. But then, why come to Key West? This inn is comprised of several houses more than a hundred years old and restored to historic exterior with country comfortable interiors. When you come through the office into the compound, you're in tropical gardens, with a small but pristine and very comfortable pool, and a couple of fish ponds amid many varieties of palm, bromeliads, even orchids. The staff, Joe, Robert, Kim and Chris, are all welcoming, warm and helpful. We had a fiasco with clock radios not working. It turned out to be the fault of the wall outlet blowing out three clocks. But they kept replacing and testing until we had a solution. This jokingly became known as the "clock scandal!" whatever your problem or request is, they do their best to get it done and we can't ask for better customer service.

We stayed in the Fishtail Palm room, first floor on the end. It has a small bathroom, standard bedroom, galley kitchen and huge private porch overlooking a lovely garden with fish pond. The porch also had a permanent resident, Calico, the inn's cat who greeted us every morning and on our return from all outings. We loved resting on the porch with a cocktail, laptop, book, drawing pad, after our daytime beach or shopping excursions and before sunset celebration, dinner and libations. We also cooked breakfast in on 3 of our 4 mornings, and ate outdoors. It is, however, no-see-um season, so we were armed with citronella candles, a good idea if you're spending any time out there. I also sat out there and read in the middle of the night when I was sleepless and my husband was sleeping and would have been disturbed by my night stand light. We really used and enjoyed the porch and garden to the utmost.

The last time I was at Douglas House, quite a few years ago, parking was only on-street, catch what you can find. Now they have a small, crowded lot a half block away, which is quite convenient, although hard to fit into at night! The location is halfway between Duval and Whitehead Streets, on the quiet end of upper Duval. The bars and t-shirt shops and restaurants are concentrated on lower Duval, but walking distance. The upper end has some bars and restaurants, but has more galleries and less partying, so one can sleep at night if you choose.

I was nervous that my husband, who had never been there, might find it "hokey," and want something more conventional and homogenous, but he loved it too. We will definitely come back, and not wait as long to do so. This was a great time of year-fantastic weather and not huge crowds.

Anyone who wants to experience Key West as the unique place it is should start by staying at one of the many nice inns. And this one is a gem.

Room Tip: The rooms are very varied in size and location. Determine your needs, survey the website and choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snorkel-Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I'm glad we stayed in the location. Just off of Duval Street but at the quiet end. Easily within reach of everything in old town key west without all the noise at the other end. Fantastic location! The posturepedic beds were very welcomed and comfortable. The rooms were small in comparison to other resorts but definitely cozy and were never lacking for space with just the two of us. The pool area was great with towels always available by the pool area. I would stay in this location again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Douglas House from May 29-31 and stayed in the Royal Palm room. The location just steps from the quieter end of Duval was perfect for us, as we were not there to party all night but just to see the sights. The room we stayed in was great with an excellent patio that was very private. It must have been recently renovated as everything in the room was immaculate. A nice pool area to lounge around and the place was quiet in the evening. It would be nice if they served a continental breakfast for their guests. This would have changed my rating to an excellent one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here many times and always a great time. Chris from the staff was absolutely wonderful! He was very helpful and accommodating. Close enough to everything but far enough away at night. Highly recommend it here. Talk to Chris about anything you need and he'll do his best to arrange it for you!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonig2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our room was a small downstairs room it was ok for our 3 day stay, wouldnt want to stay in that room for longer than that, and I think by standards a little overpriced . Some of the room fixtures lamps etc tired and worn room was clean but in need of a revamp. Problem of having a downstairs room is that we had people above us walking around like elephants at 7.00 am in the morning. The reception I think it was Chris (from Bulgaria) was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is near enough to the beach and bars. Pool area nice clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuandHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#8 of 77 in Key West
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
#44 of 77 in Key West
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#20 of 77 in Key West
778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £124 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing