We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your room carefully if you want rest.”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #30 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Choose your room carefully if you want rest.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

the positive-this is in a great location at the quieter end of duval. the grounds and the room were beautiful. we stayed on the back side of the pool in the yellow building on the ground floor. the negative-there are two thin doors in the bedroom. one gives access to the bedroom in another room on the back of the building...know this because we listened to the occupants snore all night. the other door gives acces to the entry and staircase to the room above. know this because we heard every footstep on the wooden stairs late at night and early in the morning. and when the occupants checked out we listened to staff make multiple trips up and down the stairs starting around 8am to carry out the trash and clean and move furniture around in the room to turn the room over for the next guests. if you like quiet and privacy...pick one of the main hotels on key west.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaWalker1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    224
    78
    36
    18
See reviews for
100
415
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visit Key West every year and only stay at the Douglas House.
We love the room and the staff is top notch.
It is close to the action on Duval, yet it is quiet and secluded.
We LOVE you Douglas House!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SisterPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights of relaxation (and to see Key West) after the hectic pace of Orlando. This is a fabulous little hidden gem just off the main Duval Street. The staff were welcoming, the pool area and grounds are lovely (and tropical) and our room (#9) had a balcony area overlooking both. Just fantastic.

The hotel is in the traditional style, small, and peaceful. Our room was lovely, was comfortable and had everything we needed. There are pool towels and coffee provided, plus the hotel is not far from the Southern Most Point.

This hotel really added to our enjoyable experience of visiting and staying in Key West and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are rooms of varying occupancy levels but if you are a party of 2-4 then number 9 is the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoolefool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Douglas House is a true Key West experience. A welcoming staff, beautiful grounds, a nice pool and a room that surpassed expectations. A great price for a room in the perfect Key West location. The pool is not big and I don't think this is the right hotel for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutLove2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It was a wonderful - too short - stay in this little hidden Paradise. The place is very clean (room - pool area). The room we were in was fully equipped (kitchen - 2 beds 2 baths) and very clean.
The staff is very nice and you can find any information a the front desk if you are just paying attention and asking for the right question. People who complained about this place had no idea where they came and accuses people and place not to offer what they were expecting - probably because they have no idea what they were expecting.
We will be back at the Douglas House FOR SURE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Visited June 23' 2014"
Absolutely perfect. Great location, and our room was clean & comfortable. The staff was very accommodating & friendly. After we returned home, I realized that I forgot a few personal items in our room. A week later, I called Kim & Chris at the front desk, and they had my items. I mailed them a prepaid envelope, and they returned my items promptly. Top notch friendly service. My wife & I will definitely stay at the Douglas House when we return to key West. Thanks again to Chris & Kim !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObjectiveVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A little hidden gem. With it's garden sitting area and pool, made me feel welcome. The room was clean and very roomy. Just a few steps from Duval St. Less then 20 minuets walking time to any of the sites in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandma720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#19 of 77 in Key West
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#40 of 77 in Key West
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#20 of 77 in Key West
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
#49 of 77 in Key West
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing