We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Ranked #18 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The place is Awesome!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Love love love this place! Celebrated my 50th birthday in Key West! Will definitely be back! Easy to get to all attractions! Steve was great and Stripes the cat was just precious! Liked that the Haunted tours stopped by..Loved the pool! Very relaxing after lots of sightseeing! Can not wait to go back! Room 17 was Wonderful...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ltabs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    106
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
42
482
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monroe, oh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I would never recommend this place to anyone. I tried calling this place initially to set it up and couldn't get anyone to call me back at all. He attempted everything thru email, which was fine at first. But then I had questions about paying the balance we owed prior to arriving and about parking and other amenities. Got not call. I simply voiced frustration that I couldnt speak to a human being, and STEVE cancelled our reservation on 7/2. It had been booked and deposit paid since 6/2. We were set to arrive on the 7th. This guy cancelled our reservation with only 5 days until arrival. I coudn' t believe it. This guy doesn't seem to have the laid back attitude that I have come to know and love from the B&B's in Key West. I will NEVER try to stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to Angelina house. Only difference is they dont have a TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bradp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smackawits, General Manager at Marrero's Guest Mansion, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
When a customer becomes abusive before he even arrives to check-in, you can pretty much tell that this is not a good match. It was in the best interests to both parties that this reservation was cancelled by management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I just got back from Key West after spending a week on vacation. We stayed at Marrero's Guest Mansion. We were in room 26 (The animal room [growl] as Steve put it.) the room was huge with tall ceilings and decorated nicely. We were on the first floor close to the pool area. Our room featured a king size bed, two chairs, a small flat screen TV, full bathroom with a closet.

Upon arrival Steve greeted us and carried my luggage up the front steps. He checked us in and explained where the continental breakfast and happy hour was held. We dropped off our luggage in our room and Steve took us out back to the pool area. He explained that they had sodas and water for $1.00 and beer for $2.00 and that it was on a honor systems. You just had to write your name, room number and what you took on the little form provided. There was an ice machine out there too.

Each morning from 8am to 10 am there was an assortment of bagels, cinnamon raisin bread, English muffins to toast, fresh fruit, danishes, oatmeal, cereal, milk, tea, and coffee. In the evenings guests gathered on the front porch for complimentary happy hour where Steve provided you with drinks or beer.

In every room there is a small refrigerator which was really nice to have. We walked up the street to a little grocery story and purchased some waters, soda, and snacks to keep in the room and went to a local liquor store to purchase beer which we kept in the small refrigerator. It was great to have this because food that we didn't finish we could bring back to our room and stash it in there to have the next day.

The pillows were a little flat but I noticed they got in a delivery of new pillows...I am jealous!

The guests were very friendly and we met some really wonderful people around the pool and out on the front porch. Steve is not much of a conversationalist; however if you engaged him he was quite nice. One thing I realized about Steve is that he works hard 7 days a week for at least 12 hours a day.

Marrero's Guest Mansion is located just 1/2 a block from Duval Street on Fleming Street and only a few blocks to Mallary Square. You are really conveniently located within walking distance to everything.

Would we stay at Marrero's Guest Mansion again? Yes we would but I think the next time, we would like to stay in Room 14!

Room Tip: For bottom floor rooms with king size beds...room 26 and room 14. To be pool side (queen bed) try r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coca-Cola_freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Marrero's (not first time to KW). We will never stay anywhere else. This place made our vacation. In returning from our trip, I am stunned that anyone had any issues with this place. We did not book the Waldorf, so we did not expect the Waldorf. We booked a unique, old Florida looking B&B with tons of charm. Marrero's delivered for us. The front porch happy hour is great for meeting your inn-mates, as well as the pool. We had a great time with the other couples and went out with several couples while we were there. We were in room #12. Yes, it was smaller than the other rooms, but the location more than made up for that. Again, we did our research beforehand and the room was in no way misrepresented. It was perfect. The location of the B&B can't be better. It is so close to everything, but still quiet at night. I hope we can find a way to return next year.

Room Tip: We were in Room #12. It was literally two steps to the pool. It's smaller than the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Loved Merrero's, Room 17 is the best, Loved Key West, Great Time celebrating my 50th birthday year!! Loved Stripes, Loved the Roosters, Love it All. I will go back to Merrero's and would recommend it to anyone - who is nude friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshaB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Marrero's continues to provide, relaxing, no stress, clean, services and Steve's Happy Hour remains great, as the morning coffee and fresh fruits!~A fantastic place to stay while in Key West! Thank you Steve!~ Maria & Manny

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagomez75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We just returned from another wonderful weekend at Marrerro's. We have stayed here several times and honestly cannot find a good reason to go anywhere else. Innkeeper Steve is friendly and always makes us feel like we are coming back to family. If you allow yourself to enjoy breakfast and happy hour with the other guests you will make some great new friends. Steve can also make some local recommendations for dinner. The building has a wonderful charm to it and it is easy to sit on the porch and read the paper as the tourists go by. The location is central to Duval but still quiet, even with the chickens.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulagirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrero's Guest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrero's Guest Mansion

Property: Marrero's Guest Mansion
Address: 410 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marrero's Guest Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrero's Guest Mansion is a historic mansion that has been converted into a Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is served daily from 8:30-10:00 am and Happy Hour is served daily from 4:30-5:30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marrero's Guest Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrero`s Guest Mansion Hotel Key West
Marrero's Guest Mansion Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing