We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing getaway off the beaten path!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantis House
Ranked #1 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An amazing getaway off the beaten path!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our fifth anniversary in the Keys and found this gem on TripAdvisor and BedandBreakfast. We looked at their website and chose the Master Suite.
When we arrived at Key West Int'l, we called the property and Steve said he would pick us up (planned; they're only five minutes away). Steve is a very nice guy who runs a charter service with his boat. He took some time to show us the area around the house - the three local beaches, some sightseeing information, as well as a couple of local restaurants. We then stopped at the property - two guest rooms (together - with a thick wall separating them) built behind the Kessler's own home.
The first view of the Master Suite was amazing - a beautiful space, bright walls, a HUGE bath suite, and a well-positioned minibar/breakfast area. While unpacking, Kayla, Steve's wife, came to visit. She's a beautiful woman and is a very gracious host - if you have the opportunity, try her key lime pie. Some of the best we've tasted, with a unique graham cracker crust! Steve and Kayla recommended some other places to eat and to visit, as well as Faustos, a nearby grocery store, where we could stock up on things we need.
Atlantis House is off the beaten path, a few blocks off White Street, which separates New Town and Old Town. They provide bicycles, that are NEEDED if you want to go anywhere. We got quite a workout using those bikes!
Kayla was available to answer any questions we had, and her suggestions for restaurants (Camille's for breakfast and Sandy's for lunch) were right on the money.
The Master suite was clean and comfortable. A few people have complained about the lack of a proper door on the Water Closet - it never bothered us. This is not an antiseptic hotel room, but a funky-style getaway that fits in perfectly with the laid-back Key West attitude. The two-person shower was great, as was the HUGE hot tub!
There is a patio surrounded by greenery, as well as a secluded gazebo. On the day we arrived, we were greeted by the local frogs and lizards - again, very Key West and quite cute. We spent our anniversary evening in the gazebo with champagne, listening to our wedding music and to the lapping of the Atlantic, only 50 yards away.
We are looking forward to spending time with Steve and Kayla when we come back - going out on Steve's boat, snorkeling and catching lobster. Also, Kayla is a licensed massage therapist - we'll have to take her up on that!
If you want a place that's not right in the middle of the craziness that Duval Street can be, some place where you can do what you want, and don't mind doing things on your on, the Atlantis House is a great choice!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FroggyHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
320
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Atlantis House was our perfect honeymoon getaway! The room was elegant, sumptuous, inviting, and perfect in every detail. Our hosts, Kayla and Steve, were friendly, accommodating, helpful and very knowledgeable about Key West. The location is excellent - steps away from the beach, and very accessible to all of Old Town. After days full of fun and sun-filled activities, it was like coming home to a peaceful oasis. We highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Key West!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vpaige63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We spent three nights at the Atlantis House in June 2008 for our honeymoon. It was a wonderful experience. The house is located on a street corner near the shoreline; a short walk and you can see the ocean. The house has a beautiful, lush garden, with little lizards scurrying about. We stayed in the Master Suite, the larger of the two suites at the house, and were wowed as soon as we walked into the room. It emitted a warm, relaxing, and romantic vibe that immediately made us feel at home. The jacuzzi in the bathroom is great, especially when you're sitting there and looking up at the skylight on a clear night.

Kayla was not home when we were there, but Steve was very attentive. He gave us a warm welcome and immediately offered to make us café con leches. He also gave us good advice on where to eat, the best places to park, etc., and provided us with maps of the area. While we didn't spend a ton of time in the suite since we were out doing stuff, it was such a nice place to come back to and relax in. Had we not already made reservations elsewhere in Florida for the rest of the honeymoon, we likely would have rearranged our plans and stayed at the Atlantis House for a couple more days. If you are looking for a romantic getaway in Key West, you can't go wrong with the Atlantis House.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

I found the Atlantis House online, and judging by all the reviews I had read, I thought it would be a nice place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. What I didn't expect was to be treated like family! Steve and Kayla were great, the house was beautiful, and our trip went from just a "vacation" to the best 5 days of our lives! We arrived late to the airport due to a delay in Ft. Lauderdale and called the Atlantis House to see if we could still be picked up. Not a problem! Steve picked us up and took us on a quick tour of the area to get us acquainted. Then we were shown the room- beautiful! It's such a quaint little house with the most beautiful patio. One of the best parts of being away from Duval was the lack of noise...I think we heard two scooters the whole trip! If you've ever been near Duval, you know that this can be loud (and annoying when you're trying to sleep!). We decided to walk to Duval our first night to get acquainted, and it was a nice 20-25 minute walk. We hit up a few bars and local hot spots, then took a cab back ($10). We decided to take advantage of the beach right across the street (literally), so we went for a walk. We ended up getting engaged right then and there!!! What an unbelievable night! Steve and Kayla made sure the rest of our trip was unforgettable- they even made us dinner one night, which was unreal! Steve's grouper was the best ever! Steve also recommended a Brazilian restaurant for dinner, and it was unreal. They are more than willing to offer suggestions, and every one was spot on. We spent the rest of the trip biking around the Key (thanks to the bikes at the House), hanging out and snorkeling at the beaches (Ft. Zachary Taylor was BEAUTIFUL and Steve let us borrow his snorkel gear), and just enjoying the weather and the laid back attitude that is so prevalent in Key West. I would recommend the Atlantis House to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing time in an absolutely beautiful place! We can't wait to come back and visit again soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckySue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at the Atlantis house, in the master suite for nine nights on our honeymoon in Key West. The room was very large and comfortable. The hot tub was big enough for my 6'9" tall husband, which has never happend anywhere else we've ever stayed! Steve and Kayla were very friendly and helpful. We really felt like we were staying in our home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Stayed at Atlantis House for our honeymoon. The owners, Steve and Kayla, were great ; friendly, helpful and respectful. Definitely have Steve take you snorkeling! Stayed in the Master Suite; comfortable bed and elegant bathroom. Steve's garden is amazing; great for a lazy breakfast on the patio. Location was perfect; secluded and quiet, but just a little jaunt to the downtown area. The bikes they let you use not only save a ton of money, but are a wonderful way to experience Key West. Would highly recommend it to honeymooners for its beauty and privacy. Planning on going back for an anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nextstep05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

We first stayed here in the mid nineties just after it opened. We came back hoping it would be as nice as we remembered and it was even better. The location is great: close to the action of old town, but far enough away to be calm when that is what you want. Just cross the street to the ocean. Downtown is an easy walk, but they have loaner bikes to make a quick tour of the island.
The Master Suite is as nice as it gets - it compares very favourably to the Peninsula.
Steve and Kayla are excellent hosts - I've stayed at hundreds of hotels and haven't met better.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPeteSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis House

Property: Atlantis House
Address: 1401 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis House is a romantic boutique guesthouse with only 2 suites along the beaches of Key West steps away from the Ocean and 1 block from the Key West Marine Park and White Street Pier. Perfect for honeymooners and anniversaries. The owners, Captain Steve and Kayla (LMT & NMT), offer snorkeling, eco-tours, sunset cruises, dolphin watch and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis House Hotel Key West
Atlantis House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing