We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Much Needed Reprieve from Winter”
Review of Atlantis House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantis House
Ranked #1 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Much Needed Reprieve from Winter”
Reviewed 12 March 2010

A friend recommended this gem of a B&B. Located on the ‘quiet’ side of Key West, the location couldn’t have been more perfect for a relaxing getaway. The owner’s of the B&B were tremendous. They were there to pick us up and (sadly) take us back to the airport. Additionally they were kind of enough to show us around town while our room was getting prepared, dropped us off in town and then picked us up and returned us to the B&B when our room was ready – does it get any better?

The ‘Master Suite’ was comfortable, if not luxurious. If we had encountered bad weather, which we did not, neither of us would have minded hanging out in the room one bit. I had requested chocolate, flowers and champagne on our arrival and our hosts were only too happy to accommodate and did so in spectacular style. There is a lovely deck/garden with a gazebo and incredible succulents – a virtual paradise just outside the door to both suites.

Bikes were at our constant disposal and were the perfect form of transportation on the island – no need for a car. Our hosts shared ‘sights to see’ and dining recommendations which were consistently on the mark. The Beach was maybe 50 yards away and each morning we strolled down the bike/running path just outside the door to a little secluded board walk and watched the most magnificent sunrises! As runners, Key West is a runner’s haven, except no hills  (or maybe that is why it was so much fun to run?)

Would we return? Absolutely! Would we recommend Atlantis House to a friend? In a heartbeat! Oh, and the best Key Lime Pie on the island is prepared by your hosts... the absolute best!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgfrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
338
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2010

My husband and I had not had a week's vacation alone for 38 years. Atlantis House made our trip to Key West so fun and relaxing. The entire house was "gift wrapped". Kayla and Steve were most welcoming and accommodating. The grouper dinner with key lime pie for dessert was "over the top". Kayla, a licensed massage therapist will make sure you relax! Will definitely go again and stay at Atlantis House. Highly recommend to anyone seeking privacy and relaxation within a bike ride to Duval Street. Thanks for the bikes, Steve!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexismimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2010

As we looked all over Key West for the perfect accommodations for our honeymoon, the Atlantis House stood out! It was our choice because of its proximity to the beach, it was out of the hub-bub of Duval Street and the room as presented on the web site did not disappoint! We stayed in the beautiful Master Suite and enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of the room (great bed!). We also had a great time using the bikes provided to make our way around the island.
We also enjoyed spending time on the very nice and private deck. Be sure to schedule your massage with Kayla outside on the deck! We are looking forward to going out on the boat with Steve next time! The attentiveness of our host and hostess could not have been more appreciated! Steve and Kayla are wonderful, sharing, caring people who added so many memorable details to our stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyLb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our fifth anniversary in the Keys and found this gem on TripAdvisor and BedandBreakfast. We looked at their website and chose the Master Suite.
When we arrived at Key West Int'l, we called the property and Steve said he would pick us up (planned; they're only five minutes away). Steve is a very nice guy who runs a charter service with his boat. He took some time to show us the area around the house - the three local beaches, some sightseeing information, as well as a couple of local restaurants. We then stopped at the property - two guest rooms (together - with a thick wall separating them) built behind the Kessler's own home.
The first view of the Master Suite was amazing - a beautiful space, bright walls, a HUGE bath suite, and a well-positioned minibar/breakfast area. While unpacking, Kayla, Steve's wife, came to visit. She's a beautiful woman and is a very gracious host - if you have the opportunity, try her key lime pie. Some of the best we've tasted, with a unique graham cracker crust! Steve and Kayla recommended some other places to eat and to visit, as well as Faustos, a nearby grocery store, where we could stock up on things we need.
Atlantis House is off the beaten path, a few blocks off White Street, which separates New Town and Old Town. They provide bicycles, that are NEEDED if you want to go anywhere. We got quite a workout using those bikes!
Kayla was available to answer any questions we had, and her suggestions for restaurants (Camille's for breakfast and Sandy's for lunch) were right on the money.
The Master suite was clean and comfortable. A few people have complained about the lack of a proper door on the Water Closet - it never bothered us. This is not an antiseptic hotel room, but a funky-style getaway that fits in perfectly with the laid-back Key West attitude. The two-person shower was great, as was the HUGE hot tub!
There is a patio surrounded by greenery, as well as a secluded gazebo. On the day we arrived, we were greeted by the local frogs and lizards - again, very Key West and quite cute. We spent our anniversary evening in the gazebo with champagne, listening to our wedding music and to the lapping of the Atlantic, only 50 yards away.
We are looking forward to spending time with Steve and Kayla when we come back - going out on Steve's boat, snorkeling and catching lobster. Also, Kayla is a licensed massage therapist - we'll have to take her up on that!
If you want a place that's not right in the middle of the craziness that Duval Street can be, some place where you can do what you want, and don't mind doing things on your on, the Atlantis House is a great choice!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FroggyHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Atlantis House was our perfect honeymoon getaway! The room was elegant, sumptuous, inviting, and perfect in every detail. Our hosts, Kayla and Steve, were friendly, accommodating, helpful and very knowledgeable about Key West. The location is excellent - steps away from the beach, and very accessible to all of Old Town. After days full of fun and sun-filled activities, it was like coming home to a peaceful oasis. We highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Key West!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpaige63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We spent three nights at the Atlantis House in June 2008 for our honeymoon. It was a wonderful experience. The house is located on a street corner near the shoreline; a short walk and you can see the ocean. The house has a beautiful, lush garden, with little lizards scurrying about. We stayed in the Master Suite, the larger of the two suites at the house, and were wowed as soon as we walked into the room. It emitted a warm, relaxing, and romantic vibe that immediately made us feel at home. The jacuzzi in the bathroom is great, especially when you're sitting there and looking up at the skylight on a clear night.

Kayla was not home when we were there, but Steve was very attentive. He gave us a warm welcome and immediately offered to make us café con leches. He also gave us good advice on where to eat, the best places to park, etc., and provided us with maps of the area. While we didn't spend a ton of time in the suite since we were out doing stuff, it was such a nice place to come back to and relax in. Had we not already made reservations elsewhere in Florida for the rest of the honeymoon, we likely would have rearranged our plans and stayed at the Atlantis House for a couple more days. If you are looking for a romantic getaway in Key West, you can't go wrong with the Atlantis House.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I found the Atlantis House online, and judging by all the reviews I had read, I thought it would be a nice place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. What I didn't expect was to be treated like family! Steve and Kayla were great, the house was beautiful, and our trip went from just a "vacation" to the best 5 days of our lives! We arrived late to the airport due to a delay in Ft. Lauderdale and called the Atlantis House to see if we could still be picked up. Not a problem! Steve picked us up and took us on a quick tour of the area to get us acquainted. Then we were shown the room- beautiful! It's such a quaint little house with the most beautiful patio. One of the best parts of being away from Duval was the lack of noise...I think we heard two scooters the whole trip! If you've ever been near Duval, you know that this can be loud (and annoying when you're trying to sleep!). We decided to walk to Duval our first night to get acquainted, and it was a nice 20-25 minute walk. We hit up a few bars and local hot spots, then took a cab back ($10). We decided to take advantage of the beach right across the street (literally), so we went for a walk. We ended up getting engaged right then and there!!! What an unbelievable night! Steve and Kayla made sure the rest of our trip was unforgettable- they even made us dinner one night, which was unreal! Steve's grouper was the best ever! Steve also recommended a Brazilian restaurant for dinner, and it was unreal. They are more than willing to offer suggestions, and every one was spot on. We spent the rest of the trip biking around the Key (thanks to the bikes at the House), hanging out and snorkeling at the beaches (Ft. Zachary Taylor was BEAUTIFUL and Steve let us borrow his snorkel gear), and just enjoying the weather and the laid back attitude that is so prevalent in Key West. I would recommend the Atlantis House to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing time in an absolutely beautiful place! We can't wait to come back and visit again soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckySue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis House

Property: Atlantis House
Address: 1401 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis House is a romantic boutique guesthouse with only 2 suites along the beaches of Key West steps away from the Ocean and 1 block from the Key West Marine Park and White Street Pier. Perfect for honeymooners and anniversaries. The owners, Captain Steve and Kayla (LMT & NMT), offer snorkeling, eco-tours, sunset cruises, dolphin watch and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Atlantis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis House Hotel Key West
Atlantis House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing