We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We recently stayed here when we were attending a wedding in Key West. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is the perfect location for everything you want to do. Just off Duval Street, but away from the crowds.
Happy Hour and breakfast was served by Eli. He is a great host. He really added to our enjoyment of our stay. Always a smile, always accommodating.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisol-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    135
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
19
323
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at the Cypress House for 4 nights in November. We had a queen room, number 11, and our friends had room 15. Our room was on the first floor, had a porch with 2 chairs and a table, high ceilings, nice décor, large refrigerator, flat screen TV, comfortable bed, and a huge bathroom with a nice walk in shower. A hair dryer, soap, and shampoo were, also, provided. The street noise, noise from rooms above, and the stairs going to the second level would bothersome to many because it can be loud, however, did not bother us. Our friend's room was on the second floor and had a smaller refrigerator and a pedestal sink but similar in size and décor, although, I did prefer our room.

The breakfast was decent, although, I would have preferred some fresh cut fruit instead of just a few apples and oranges in a dish and some flavored bagels or english muffins. The daily 5 to 6 happy hour was very good and included a complimentary specialty drink and appetizer(s) - margaritas, rum punch, sangria, chips/guacamole/salsa, cheese/crackers, baked brie, conch fritters, etc. There is a beautiful covered and non-covered area with tables and chairs to use for breakfast, happy hour, or relaxing.

The pool is very nice, heated, and refreshing. A couple rafts and noodles are available, as well, as pool/beach towels.

The location is outstanding . . . close to everything. Parking is a bit of a challenge, however, we managed to find a free spot everyday after spending the day at the beach and then walked everywhere at night.

We found the price about $50 per night high; however, we would consider staying here again and would recommend the Cypress House to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were fortunate enough to come upon a last minute availability at the Cypress House during our recent trip to Key West. The room, which was the former office, had just been converted to a new room. It was tastefully decorated and included access to the front porch. The location was phenomenal to Duval Street, Mallory Square, Seaport Boardwalk and Simonton Beach area, all within walking distance. It is a bit noisy with all of the street traffic as we faced directly on Caroline. The pool and patio area is well maintained and a breakfast and social hour with appetizers is provided every day. The staff will do whatever they can to assist you with your needs. Special thanks to Richard and Dennis who made our stay magical! Looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spent 5 nights there in July. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful including sending several personal faxes for me. The room was very clean and spacious. It also had a nice second floor patio deck but it rained 3 of the days I was there so I didn't use it. The breakfast in the morning was more than the usual continental breakfasts offered by others and early evenings had light snacks to get you to your evening meal. Great location one block from Duval St. All in all a very nice experience and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeyecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The hotel was easy to find on Caroline street in the old town of Key West. This is very convenient to Duval, Mallory Square, and other shopping and restaurants. We were met with friendly staff who gave us coupons and a flyer to “Fantasy Fest”. The staff accommodated our request to park our motorcycles close to our room. There was a nice pool in the “courtyard” along with a cabana. We arrived early and our room was ready in 15 minutes of our arrival. Our room was very nice with wooden floors, a king bed, and a modern bathroom with a huge walk in shower. We had a flat screen TV. Later during the evening, we discovered we did not have the access code to the WiFi and the front Office was closed at 9:00 p.m. Be sure to ask the clerk for the internet passcode at check-in. There were no vending machines on the premises. There was an ice machine located by the pool area. We did not have the appetizers in the cabana at 5:00 pm but instead headed for the shops. The hotel clerk mentioned “Upper Crust” as a good place to find thin crust pizza. We ate there and it was delicious! Although the bed was comfortable, we did not sleep well during our 1 night stay. The people upstairs were walking the floor all night. The window air conditioner was not efficient to cool rooms with high ceilings. This is a nice place, but for $200, we’ll stay somewhere else the next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which allowed us to park our motorcycles closeby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. After seeing pics on trip advisor we requested the "library room" it was huge and had so much character. We traveled down on the Key West Express from Ft Myers which made this location perfect. It is on Caroline near where the boat docks and only 2 blocks from Duval where everything is going on. It was very close to our favorite night/day spot (Irish Kevin's). The rooms were very clean, beds were super comfy and the daily happy hour was a great bonus. Eli provided amazing service at the happy hour such a great guy! If you need anything all you have to do is ask. I also love the fact it is an adult only B & B so you don't have to worry about any kids running around while you relax by the pool. I can't wait for our next trip to the Keys, definetly staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My fiance and stayed at the Cypress House Key West 10/18/2012-10/21/2012 and had a very nice stay. The hotel consists of three old houses. The outside of the building have a lot of charm but could use a little updating. We stayed in room 14 it was very clean and everything looked brand new. It had an exterior door out to a beautiful sun deck overlooking the pool. Bed was comfy and bathroom was large and bright with a sky light.
The staff was exceptional (I wish I could remember their names), getting anything you need and full of information on restaurant and activity recommendations. The cleaning lady was even really nice and happy. The nightly happy hour was awesome, they give you the drink of the day (night one sangria, night two wine, night three rum punch) and cold and hot appetizers which were always good. It was a very nice touch and made you feel very welcome. Also gave you a chance to meet other travelers.
Next time we are in town we will definitely be staying here!

Room Tip: Room 14, very quiet because it was facing the courtyard vs. the street, and lovely view overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meglitward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Property: Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel : Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing