We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything going for it, but disappointed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Everything going for it, but disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

My husband and I have visited Key West five times in the past few years and this was my least favorite stay. I strongly believe it had to do with the building in which we were accomodated rather than the whole property, but it's important, nonetheless. Multiple buildings make up this property. We booked Cypress House two months ago when we learned our usual guest houses Alexander's, The Gardens and The Mermaid & Alligator weren't available. Because the Inns own multiple properties in the City, the booking was easy and the rate was comparable; the gentleman on the phone was very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic. Many shops, top eateries and the harbor are within steps of the property. Ladybug (the cat) and host Eli were very welcoming, friendly and they did a fantastic job preparing breakfast (assorted croissants, yogurt, whole fruit, juice, eggs) and kept the common areas neat and clean. The lemon-lime cooler was particularly refreshing and the pool area is very attractive. What's disappointing? Upon booking, I asked for two rooms with queen sized beds; 2 people in one and 1 person in the other. I was told they had the perfect room for my mother with privacy and a porch (my father just passed away at 60) and our room would be beside the pool. Upon arrival, Cypress House looked like the photos on the website - grand and right on the corner. DO take advantage of the 30 minute free parking right outside the registration building. Checking in, we were told we had been upgraded to King sized beds. Keys were not marked with room numbers (don't mix them up), but we were told we would be in rooms 22 & 23 - my Mother would be in the room below us (insert jokes here). We were then escorted two buildings down the street, an annex, from Cypress House to what was probably once another inn - not the grand, old cypress house lighted for Christmas. The rooms shared a minimally furnished deck with two other rooms. Upon entering the room, a musty smell hit us in the face, the room refrigerator was ajar in the wall, framed up with damaged dry wall and the carpet was dirty looking, well worn mauve and the walls were seafoam green. The room was large. Honestly, I was really surprised to see carpet and upholstered headboards - humidity and the Keys just don't mix. I had hopes for the room above. But it too was musty; both felt unprepaired for our arrival. I want to stress the room was clean, but it felt like staying in a friend's half finished spare bedroom. The walls were beautiful cypress, but the carpet and bed had been updated, but there were no mirrors in the room and no wall hangings - nothing. The bathroom was solid white, very sparse with outdated light fixtures, worn toilet seat - the mirror was basic so old the silver coming off the edges - not in a charming way. The closet door was also broken. Products consist of basic hotel soap and one small bottle of conditioning shampoo. (Fortunately we had our own). This combined with the distance from the actual Cypress House and pool area made use feel like an afterthought. With my Mom in tow, we did not say anything. Being in customer service, I take responsibility for not having a conversation with the guest desk - but under the circumstances, it was not the time. Again, I've travelled for business and pleasure quite a bit - I know Key West. I feel like this is an Inn in transition, but we most certainly didn't feel upgraded - we felt bumped. That's not what we paid for and it has left us very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility, choose a room on the ground floor - lots of steep stairs on the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILNDGRL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear ILNDGRL71,

Thank you, so much, for your review! We are very happy that Eli, Ladybug and the staff made you feel welcome. We always would like to know if you have any concerns so that we can address them at the time you are staying with us; we would have been more than happy to accommodate you.

Guestroom keys are not numbered for safety reasons; a lost key with the hotel name and room number listed would not provide the guest safety that we pride ourselves upon.

All three of the buildings that belong to the Cypress House are beautiful, historic buildings, circa 1888. Each one has a different feel and most guests love the location, building and guestrooms you were in because they say it gives them "the feeling of living in Key West".

We hope you do stay with us again on your next trip to Key West and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    134
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
18
321
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I needed a well-deserved getaway and decided to take a trip to Key West. We were able to book a room at the Cypress House around two weeks of our arrival and were unsure what we would find when we arrive. The pictures looked nice on the website but the Cypress House was more impressive in person. We stayed in room 8 from 11/17-11/21 and were so happy with our room. It is on the top floor (three stories walk-up) and think this was probably the best location in the property. There was a lot of street noise at night but the air conditioning unit drowned out the noise. The room was very clean and spacious. Large walk-in closet and private bathroom. Our room also had a college refrigerator to store cold drinks and leftovers. The best thing about the Cypress House is the location. Close to everything!!! We are planning another trip to Key West and will definitely stay here.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AndiRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

First... LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This place is 2 blocks away from Duval and 2 blocks away from water and Mallory Square. The location is the best part of this hotel! My husband and I were able to come and go whenever we needed as it was so conveniently located near everything! While out walking and touring during the day we didnt need to worry about bringing sweaters or change of clothes as we were only 3 minutes walking distance no matter where we went. The location was perfect! We were in room 1 and had our own porch with chairs and foot stool and it was nice in the a.m. to sit out there with coffee and at night to sit with drinks and watch the people walking around.

Second - the charm of this hotel was very nice. It was not a resort and its not a $1000 per night room. For the price we paid we got well worth it. The original wood floors and original structures and walls and painted and repainted walls were gorgeous. My husband is a painter and he was not bothered by the painted walls and decor as he is very picky and specific about that kind of work. Ti y details were chipped paint here or there or creaky wooden floor boards but it adds so much charm and character and its nice to stay in a place with so much history. Our room was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned during the day when we left with not so much as a single thread of our belongings tampered with. If you are looking for character, charm, relaxing environment, clean beds this is your place!

Barely a gripe - 1) Our room was facing closest to duval so noise of motorcycles and go go carts were there but barely bothered us. We kept the a.c. on while we were there so we didnt hear much. Occasionally we would hear footsteps above us but again not so much to be a bother to us. Besides..... im sure we made plenty of noise of our own and we didnt get any dirty looks ;)
2) The sink faucet in our bathroom was very light so if you are an avid face washer I would tell u to get a different room. However the extremely deep and big bathtub paid for it and I enjoyed two soaks while there and even fell asleep in the bath one night! Other than the faucet the bathroom was gorgeous and very clean and nicely restocked wuth towels each day.

Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was staple stuff like cereals and bagels and toast and fruits and coffee and juices but the coffee qas better than the Starbucks on Duval so that says something....

Overall I would definately recommend this place to anyone! When we return to Key West we will definately return to Cypress House. We loved the high ceilings and hanging chandelier in our room, flat screen tv, beautiful decor... qe had a great time! I asked my husband of he had anything to add and he says no.. great times!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheriandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean and modern but had te key west feel still. It's just a few blocks from all the stores and bars. Only 2 complaints. 1) We paid extra for a room with a porch and while we had porch access it wasn't private. 2) You could hear every noise from outside all night long. If you're a light sleeper you probably want to request a room that's not facing the street.
All things considered a nice stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKohio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We recently stayed here when we were attending a wedding in Key West. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is the perfect location for everything you want to do. Just off Duval Street, but away from the crowds.
Happy Hour and breakfast was served by Eli. He is a great host. He really added to our enjoyment of our stay. Always a smile, always accommodating.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marisol-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at the Cypress House for 4 nights in November. We had a queen room, number 11, and our friends had room 15. Our room was on the first floor, had a porch with 2 chairs and a table, high ceilings, nice décor, large refrigerator, flat screen TV, comfortable bed, and a huge bathroom with a nice walk in shower. A hair dryer, soap, and shampoo were, also, provided. The street noise, noise from rooms above, and the stairs going to the second level would bothersome to many because it can be loud, however, did not bother us. Our friend's room was on the second floor and had a smaller refrigerator and a pedestal sink but similar in size and décor, although, I did prefer our room.

The breakfast was decent, although, I would have preferred some fresh cut fruit instead of just a few apples and oranges in a dish and some flavored bagels or english muffins. The daily 5 to 6 happy hour was very good and included a complimentary specialty drink and appetizer(s) - margaritas, rum punch, sangria, chips/guacamole/salsa, cheese/crackers, baked brie, conch fritters, etc. There is a beautiful covered and non-covered area with tables and chairs to use for breakfast, happy hour, or relaxing.

The pool is very nice, heated, and refreshing. A couple rafts and noodles are available, as well, as pool/beach towels.

The location is outstanding . . . close to everything. Parking is a bit of a challenge, however, we managed to find a free spot everyday after spending the day at the beach and then walked everywhere at night.

We found the price about $50 per night high; however, we would consider staying here again and would recommend the Cypress House to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We were fortunate enough to come upon a last minute availability at the Cypress House during our recent trip to Key West. The room, which was the former office, had just been converted to a new room. It was tastefully decorated and included access to the front porch. The location was phenomenal to Duval Street, Mallory Square, Seaport Boardwalk and Simonton Beach area, all within walking distance. It is a bit noisy with all of the street traffic as we faced directly on Caroline. The pool and patio area is well maintained and a breakfast and social hour with appetizers is provided every day. The staff will do whatever they can to assist you with your needs. Special thanks to Richard and Dennis who made our stay magical! Looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Property: Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel : Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing