We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Cypress House is a very pretty, B&B that is convenient to walk to all. Nice and quiet (and no children!!!!) The staff (Dennis and Scott) were wonderful and very accommodating. Provided a nice continental breakfast and happy hour every day. The only negative might be that the housekeeping staff was not on top of refilling the necessities. But overall, a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorKAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the Cypress House in Key West the last week of March while we were in town with friends. The hotel was in a great location with easy access to Duval St. and Mallory Square yet just far enough away that you don't have the noise of the busy streets. The happy hour was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieJ124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The perfect location for us. We walked 4 blocks from the Key West Express Ferry to this beautiful B &B. It was close to everything. The staff was so friendly and full of information. The room was clean and comfortable. Pool is small but adequate to cool off. Breakfast was OK. I have had better but it was still good. Happy hour was a nice touch too. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room 9 has a private courtyard with chairs and table. Room 13 is a good location except you can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlantadeb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Staff was always very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great - the daily options and variety were welcomed. The grounds and pool area were always clean and inviting. Would definitly stay here again. Location was perfect, just far enough off the main drag....lovely area for strolling arond. As a mother of 4, I embraced the adults only environment.
Only suggestion is we never found the ice machine to fill the ice bucket that was in our room - we never asked either, so that was our fault.
On-line photos and description of hotel and rooms were very accurate.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe King room, fabulous bath and more than adequate bedroom, other rooms have a small po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingw4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this lovely historc (for Florida) guest house. We were greeted in a friendly, couteous and professional manner and shown to our room. It was beautiful and spacious, aircon, en-suite, massive bed, hair dryer, ironing board, w/s TV, phone and plenty of space for your clothes. Breakfast is served in the kitchen of the main house and you can eat by the pool or take it to your room. We had a balcony, which was great to sit and relax and watch the world go by. Great location, busy end of Duval St but 2 blocks away so can't hear the music in the room. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Get a room at the top, with a balcony facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had scheduled a stay at this location in the autumn of 2001, prepaid, and were unable to make the trip because no planes were flying. They promised to credit us toward a future visit and albeit it was ten years they had our records but did not chose to honor the credit.

Due to health reasons we booked a first floor room in August for January and again prepaid.
It was a very long trip and when we arrived they told us the room was unavailable!
The room they put us in was on the street, very noisy, and we were up all night withe the sound of traffic. No offer was made to compensate us.

Our reservations were for a week and each day their servings of breakfast became smaller and smaller, fewer choices, until the options were cold cereal and toast.

The location was very good but there are endless choices for places to stay and, at the price, far better.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, Guest Relations Manager at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Harold J,

Thank you for taking the time to write us! Twelve years ago when you first booked your room, the hotel was owned by someone else and I am sure it is understandable that we chose not to honor a credit you had with them over a decade ago. We, indeed, did make note with your reservation that you would like a first floor room and we did accommodate your request for this trip.

At breakfast each morning you had a homemade hot item which we change daily, a fresh fruit selection, breads, muffins, oatmeal, steaming coffee and a variety of croissants. Our breakfast service does end at 10 am; perhaps you arrived as it was being put away.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We spent a week at the Cypress House in February. The location is super. You can walk to anyplace you want to go. The staff at the front desk was always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was always more than adequate, and we found that we never bothered to eat breakfast out. Our room overlooked Caroline Street, which can be a bit noisy sometimes. Having read reviews prior to out vist, I brought ear plugs which I only had to use twice. The room was spacious, but was lacking in some maintenance. The housekeeping staff didn't do the best job of cleaning the room either. The bathroom mirror wasn't cleaned a single time during our stay, and I could see other points in the room that were skipped over regularly. Overall we had a very pleasant stay. It did seem as though $300+ per night was a bit high for it though...but it was Key West during high season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwalkerBisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £167 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel : Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing