We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Key West was a last minute vaca for us (55 & 57 yrs young), with no agenda. We didn't realize it was the start of the high season, no resorts available.(dec21-dec27) So we took our shot at the Cypress house which had limited vacancy. From the beginning our first host Chris made us feel welcome and worked his magic to get us a full seven days (thru Christmas ) without changing rooms. They didn't have a room in the main house, nor one of their front rooms but had a suite in an annex home 2 doors down. He checked our the room first, then took us to it, to be sure it would suit our needs. Great host service. It was located behind a "your-key" locked gate, through a small deck terrace, up stairs to a smaller deck terrace up 3 more steps to a small foyer with 2 doors. Ours-Rm 24 is a two room suite on the side. (Didn't peak in RM 23 but it looked to face Caroline Street) Our room had high ceilings, was fresh in color and bright from all the natural light even though it didn't have a balcony. We actually loved the non-street side, more quiet. Clean Bathroom! fresh and new fixtures (small no lay down space but did I mention CLEAN). Fresh white linens accented green in bedroom. Very small detached closet but who needs all those heavy clothes. Living room with leatherette sofa and chair - a plus (allergies). Small bristo table n chairs, bar sink, coffee maker, sm refrig, & microwave rounded out niceties. Sm wall mounted flat screen tv in bed room, flat screen in LR with storage underneath (we didn't use, but was clean) for shorts and bikinis. The only negative was the carpet was a little dated (which I am sure is the next update) and foyer door needs a dampener for other door-slamming-guests. Our other hosts, Dennis ensured our needs were met and Alexander suggested Lobos for lite lunch before he set up our medi/pedi's on short notice - simply nice service. Our morning started with coffee which is serve near the pool patio. They serve hors d'oeurves at dusk (but didn't take advantage since we were out 'n about!) This is a historic property! Nicely kept! on a relatively quiet street within walking distance of everything on the gulf side from the Raw Bar to fishing docks to Mallory SQ. We rented a tandem bike which we could keep behind our locked gate. Our little suite at Cypress House was like a home away from home for all our KW activities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Great Stay! The staff was very helpful. Location is great- close to everything! Only downside is that the happy hour was very limited, but it was free, so you can't really complain. Nice rooms - very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor - getting to that third floor is tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We decided to take a quick trip to the warm and sunny Florida Keys and found Cypress House. This is a wonderful B & B that is in a great location. Close to all the action which means you really don't need a car. Staff was very welcoming and especially Alexander, whose recommendations for restaurants and activities was spot on for what we needed. We will definitely return to Cypress House.

Room Tip: Room 6 on the third floor is a large room but you can hear the street noise. Well you are in the Old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This historic property is closer to a bed and breakfast than a hotel. Nonetheless, we had a very pleasant stay thanksgiving week. We we traveling with another couple and had the first floor rooms facing the street. They were large and modern with access to the front porch which we used frequently. The beds were great and the bathrooms were very nice. We had no problem with noise from the street. The location is excellent, close to Duval Street and within walking distance of all the attractions.

The breakfast was adequate but limited. It was a particular problem for our friend who doesn't eat pork as all the egg dishes had some form of pork in them. The outdoor seating area and pool were great. The staff was friendly and attentive. Overall a great stay. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cypress House for a long weekend in early-Dec 2013.

First, the good: Location is excellent, near Mallory Square end of island, easy walking distance to dining, entertainment and water. For light sleepers, I'd suggest getting a room away from the street. Pretty exterior, nice lap pool/pool area, attractive rooms.

Next the so-so: Breakfast was more visually interesting than sustaining or hearty (e.g., one morning it was little quiche cakes, which tasted ok but frankly I would have preferred a warmer with scrambled eggs and bacon or biscuits and gravy--lower cost and more a replacement of breakfast).

Finally the bad: Water pressure is lacking, both in shower but also basin.
Bigger problem was the sink in our bathroom (we had their nicest room) hardly drained at all--not adequate for any activity (we had to spit into toilet while brushing teeth). Most troubling was management's indifferent/unhelpful response (initially it was, "that's just the design of the sink", then the following day "I'll have someone check it--sometimes the plumbing slows the drain"--no one ever did--then finally on our last day, "people complain about the sinks all the time but the owners never do anything about it").

In all, I was struck by the sense that the management was more focused on creating a quaint-looking property than delivering a thoroughly comfortable and relaxing guesthouse/B&B experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EZEdChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello EZed,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cypress House Hotel. We value guest feedback. With regards to our breakfasts, we have a rotating menu which provides a different main item every day of the week to compliment the continental breakfast, enabling guests to sample a nice variety throughout their stay. One day you will find Mini Quiches offered. On other days you will find Hot Breakfast Sandwiches, Sausage Burritos, Bacon, Egg & Cheese Scramble, or a Sausage Potato Scramble with Gravy. Every day we also offer Ham and Cheese Croissants delivered fresh from a Key West bakery, two types of yogurts, bagels, breads, assorted cereals, various oatmeals, muffins, and whole fruits, so there is something for everyone.

Thanks for letting us know about your sink, and we apologize that the staff didn't follow through as they should have done. Please could you be so kind as to drop me an e-mail to msimmons@historickeywestinns.com to let us know which room you were in, so we can investigate and make sure everything is in perfect working order. We'd really appreciate it.

Thank you for being our guests at this unique Historic Key West Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Considering how close you are to Duval street, the Cypress House is a peaceful place. The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions on where to go in the city. Enjoyed breakfast by the pool as well as cocktails every evening. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTH0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I spent 5 days here and was very pleased. The location is only a couple blocks from Duval Street. My room was on the first floor of the main house and was good size and nicely decorated. There was always a good variety for breakfast and different each day. There was a daily cocktail hour, but I was always out and about as I was in KW for Meeting of the Minds.

Room Tip: Caroline street is pretty busy and rooms that face it may have more traffic noise that other units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £165 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel : Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing