We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I won't stay anywhere else in Key West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I won't stay anywhere else in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I loved my stay here! Most hotels can be impersonal and cookie cutter and the Cypress House is neither of these!

I had a beautiful poolside room with a gorgeous redone bathroom. I loved the homey, tropical feel of this place and my favorite thing - being able to sleep with my windows open and enjoy the fresh air rather than deal with an AC unit (but there is one in the room). The staff is outstanding and really cares about your comfort and time at the resort. They're always available to make helpful recommendations as well.

While my room was a bit small, it was only me and I actually liked that I had just what I needed. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CCarlisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    134
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
18
321
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leesburg Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The staff of customer service: Dennis Chris Scott Danielle Alexander and the maintenance folks too! We (a senior couple) stayed at this wonderful old house that has been remodeled into a most comfortable B & B. Close to everything. These folks all work very hard to please you. They love to get your feedback and want to make your stay the best. Thanks folks. The King's

Room Tip: rooms away from the corner of Caroline and Simonton will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipleesburgFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel was pretty good. It's more like a guest house, but you get your own bathroom and have the privacy of a hotel. The grounds were impeccable and the pool was beautiful. The staff was very helpful. The room was modern and fashionable.

Room Tip: This was my first time staying here. It would seem that most rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to Duval Street, the marinas, all the tourist attractions, bars, restaurants, everything! The room was large, clean, modern and very comfortable. Great bed, huge bathroom, nice deck out front, and a very private heated lap pool. Nice breakfast daily. However, it's right at an intersection with a traffic light, and the cars, trucks, noisy motorcycles and emergency vehicles made for a constant racket. All day AND all night. If you're a light sleeper, better look elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Jim,

We're glad you loved the amenities and convenience of the beautiful Cypress House Hotel as much as we loved having you here as our guests! Whilst some of the guest rooms face the street, we have many rooms that face the back of the property, so if you're light sleepers, you may wish to request one of these rooms when making your next reservation. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Key, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Dennis and Scott are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. I will definately go back when I return to Key West.

My mother in law and I had in room massage's by Rachel Cobb which made our trip even more relaxing. She was awsome and I would recommend everyone add this little tidbit to their stay!!!!

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This fantastic B&B has everything you are looking for in a Key West hotel. The staff were amazing and never acted as if they minded all of our questions and requests. When we arrived before our room was available, they were happy to watch our luggage and deliver it to the room when our room was ready. They provided great restaurant and bar recommendations that were within walking distance to the hotel.

The rooms were very charming and clean. They are all a little different, which just adds to the charm. The hot water did run out if you happened to shower during peak hours, but other than this, it was perfect.

Breakfast was always tasty and the 'liming' hour was great. I will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends & family, and hope to stay again during a future trip.

Room Tip: We loved having a deck that faced Caroline street in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Cypress House at the beginning of January, including the one day Key West had a full 24 hours worth of rain. Our experience was not terrible, it simply wasn't good enough, particularly by comparison to other properties we stayed at during our trip, all of which were either less expensive or around the same price mark and gave us a more welcoming guest experience for the money we paid.

What we liked about the property was the interior decor of our room (we stayed in a queen bed room), the quality of the breakfast bagels and croissants and the positive attitude of the cleaning staff who had to run through the pouring rain to get from room to room. The rest of the staff, however, whilst responsive to actual requests, were not at all proactive and seemed strangely detached.

What we had not realised when booking was that breakfast is served in the kitchen (no seating there). You then have to walk down uncovered stairs to a covered area (there were only 4 tables there though) or take your food back to your room (we were in a building further down the road). What shocked us was that on the day of the downpour, none of the staff present looked for solutions to ensure guests would not get soaked during breakfast. For instance, by creating extra seating in the covered area outside the kitchen (there was enough space to pull in extra seating, however, an extra table and chairs was left out in the rain) or by creating seating in the kitchen itself (for instance, by moving furniture around and bringing in chairs) or by ensuring guests who couldn't find seats were given umbrellas to take food back to the guest rooms.

With regards to the staff, we were also surprised that at no point during our stay was anyone proactive in offering us restaurant suggestions, advice on sights etc. As stated above, staff were responsive to questions asked of them, but by comparison to other inns we have stayed at, simply seemed disinterested. The whole experience reminded us more of a motel stay as opposed to an inn.

Other issues were the lack of water pressure in the shower and the walls being very thin - we could clearly hear the couple in the room beneath ours enjoying themselves :)

We don't mind spending the kind of money Cypress House charges, but we felt we were given quite poor value for money. If these had been motel prices and if we had expected a motel experience, then this review would be different. We feel that for the price we paid, there must be more customer-focused inn experiences available in Key West and we shall try our luck with one of the other inns next time round.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hierslein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I really wish you would have let us know at the time of your stay that you were dissatisfied, as we could have resolved your issues and moved you to a different room you may have found more comfortable, or had your water pressure checked, etc. Our front office staff are ready, willing and excited to assist guests with planning their activities and excursions upon request, but we feel it less intrusive to wait to be asked for suggestions instead of doing a "hard sell" on things to do at check-in. You are correct that our team should have thought to bring the tables inside or undercover when it rained, and we have spoken with them to ensure they do this in the future, so your suggestion is extremely helpful. The sun shines so much on our beautiful island that the rain must have caught everyone by surprise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Property: Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel : Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing