We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Key West at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Campbellton, N.B.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Key West at its best”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Cypress House. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was great, coffee very good and a great spot to unwind after walking Key West all day by the pool with a comfortable couch and a bottle of wine! Room was large suite style and noise not an issue. An excellent location close to key west express and all the action. Can't wait to return. Would stay here for sure or maybe one of the sister properties.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    137
    37
    11
    2
See reviews for
20
328
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This historic hotel is so beautiful, and wonderfully updated with modern fixtures and amenities; a perfect balance of historical design and modern comfort. And so clean! We were in the original house (there are at least 5 houses to the property), and in a room on the first floor in the front, with a porch right off the room, The staff members are AMAZING! Friendly and helpful at every turn. I thought breakfasts were great, and the liming (happy hour) is a real treat. On checkout, we had 5 hours before our boat back to the mainland, and they made sure we knew we were their guest for the day even though we had checked out; we were able to leave our luggage, come back to use the restroom and sit on the patio by the pool, and even partake in liming before we left! The location is perfect for walking and biking, especially to Duval Street. The corner location, however, is as other reviewers have said, very busy and VERY noisy (not the hotel's fault!). But, the historical age of the building means that soundproofing is not present (original doors, and single-pane windows that have the original rope-and-pulley system in the frames). So if you have a room in the front as we did in the main building, unless you are an exceptionally sound sleeper, the hustle and bustle of morning truck and moped traffic WILL wake you up from your slumber. All that said, I would stay here again, I'd just request a room in the back near the pool (which is fabulous!). Kudos to the staff for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are likely to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Occasi0nalTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A much needed vacation. The staff was attentive and friendly. My birthday... and I was pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of champagne from the staff to celebrate. The perfect location for walking historical area, local hangouts, the wharf and state park. The room (#13) had its own private porch, linens and bed made for satisfying sleep, ample closet and storage, clean and updated restroom while the room still had historical charm. Parking was 4 - 6 blocks away. Close enough for trips to Stock Island and friends. Great for walking anytime day or night - well lit. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent four nights here and would not return again. If you are staying at The Cypress House it is important to know what exactly you can expect, and not expect. The staff, breakfast, grounds and location to downtown are excellent and beyond compare. Our room (#4) was 2nd floor, in the front across from the post office and awful. The two porch doors have gaps of light around them and are not sound proof. Each night was sleepless due to revving scooters, horns honking, roosters crowing, and landscapers working (at 6am). Even with the comfy bed afternoon naps were impossible due to the constant stream of traffic, tour busses and pedestrian noise. As for the room itself; the bathroom had a pedestal sink and there was not even a shelf to put the blow dryer on or a few toiletries. The bedroom area lacked a mirror (fix my hair while hubby showered), or proper suitcase stands. The room had a window ac unit that was noisy and kicked on and off all night. Lastly, there is no parking in the area. We came home happy to have a good nights sleep. As my husband said, "it was okay, but really in need of some major updates."

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PixieTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really enjoyed having you as our guests and wish we could have known at the time of your stay that you were having issues hearing the local traffic. We could have looked into the possibility of moving you to a room at the rear of the property instead which may have been better if you're light sleepers.

Your feedback about the bathroom is very valued. In fact, this room is scheduled for a BRAND NEW bathroom this summer, so we will definitely use your comments to ensure sufficient shelf/counter space is incorporated into the new design.

Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our stay began with an early check-in which was unexpected and greatly appreciated. Upon arrival to our room (a queen room with a porch), within 10 minutes of being in the room my travel companion who suffers from extreme allergies & respiratory distress noticed the very strong smell of mold & mildew. I'm somewhat used to having that smell present during travel stays in ocean locations but this was truly overpowering. When this was brought to the attention of the staff, he did everything in his power to offer us alternatives. In the end, we decided to just stay in our room as we'd noticed other rooms having the exact same smell and many were much smaller than ours, plus we had two doors we could open up and allow at least some fresh air in.
The room itself (#11) was not bad by any means, the bathroom had fixture & shower updates although there was no location (i.e. shelf, cabinet) for toiletries and only two hooks on the wall to hang clothing (no iron, ironing board or closet for that matter). For some reason the entire room had what looked to be the original wood floor (including bathroom). You would think that would be a selling point to the room, but after only a small amount of time in the room without shoes we realized our feet were solid black with dirt! The bed was very uncomfortable as were the pillows which were changed out with new during our stay without improvement.
Here's an important point people, having previously working in hospitality & food and beverage for 20 years, I was blown away when on the first full day after spending the morning walking around town & having lunch I returned to our room. The housekeeper was cleaning (with both doors open) and to my dismay, she did not question me when I entered. There is a standard in all of hospitality, whenever a guest enters an open room while staff are present, they must verify identity, either by ID or guest key. I had a ballcap & sunglasses on, there is no way she could've recognized me let alone I am 100% sure I had not seen her previously either. We had $3000 worth of computers & Ipads in the room which was on the bottom floor ten feet from a very busy street with no locked gate or means of separation or security. I could've been anyone walking into that room and taken whatever I wanted. Needless to say, we did not allow housekeeping in our room again during our stay!
Now on to the property & guest areas. Every aspect of the outer guest areas were in desperate need of a cleaning, cosmetic repair or a fresh coat of paint. Lots of wood damage around the porches & balconies, chipped or missing wood/paint everywhere, unkept foliage, etc. Nothing "polished" by any means. There was a part of me that wanted to go tour the other four or five properties owned by the same individuals to see if they were in the same shape.
Finally on to the positives. The front desk staff were some of the nicest I've encountered, especially Dennis & Scott who went above & beyond for us on more than one occasion. The complimentary breakfast while not diverse was still pleasant and the kitchen area kept very clean. Even the sparse happy hour in the evening was a nice touch, it only consisted of one drink type and one food item (i.e. sangria & chips & salsa), but still an amenity. Also on the positive list is the location, Cypress is one long block (two small if you count Bahama) from the busy side of Duvall Street. All the shopping, food & beverage you could want so close.
In the end, we'd booked this property as our regular locations were sold out. Sadly, I doubt we'd stay at Cypress again, there are just too many other options to explore if our favorites aren't available.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, do not book rooms 11, 16 or 17. Simonton traffic stays pretty constant into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevindyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, kevindyan. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful front office staff. They're the best!

Our property manager would really appreciate it if you could e-mail her at dvaughn@historickeywestinns.com with the dates of your stay, so she can address the housekeeping concerns you raised with the staff. Your experience wasn't typical, and we are thankful that you brought it to our attention so we can prevent it from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spent three night at this lovely bed and breakfast. The location is perfect. Close to Duvall and the wharf area, but far enough away to be out of the craziness. We had a king size room with a porch. Excellent bed and linens. Nice breakfast with plenty of coffee. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are in the main house, bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Back rooms are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lippincottfarm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orwigsburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My friend and I love the location, you cannot get better. Nice happy hour with Sangria and fish dip. Breakfast was good, but would have liked to see more native fruit. Great pool for the Keys and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy00Orwigsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Property: Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel : Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing