We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very clean and nicely decorated. Everyone was very friendly. The breakfast was good. They had a nice selection with a different hot entree each morning. We also liked their drink of the day during the nightly happy hour. We would definitely stay their again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjewel7131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    142
    37
    11
    2
See reviews for
20
335
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Ive been meaning to write this review for ages. I spent a long time on line researching hotels at Key West and I have to say I was not disappointed. To be able to stay in the lovely character and historic building was a pleasure. Our first night was in room 13 (I think but may have this wrong) this was in the building next door and we found it a little small and so for the second night upgraded to room 17 (again hopefully that is the right number) which was on the first floor and was just fabulous. This lovely old building has been restored to combine contemporary facilities and probably the largest shower I have ever used. I wanted to be within reach of the hub bub of Key West but not be disturbed by it and this hotel was just right. Im looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
253 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Cypress House is a quaint Historic Inn that was clean with updated spacious rooms. You will not go wrong here. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant. The location of this hotel is excellent! You are so close to all of the best Key west has to offer with out being in the middle of it. It is a nice place to call home when you want op get back and relax. The hotel also has a nice pool plus great little touches like breakfast in the courtyard by the pool in the am and happy hour margaritas and sangria! You will not be disappointed for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a while ago now but I must write a review as this was one of the most charming and memorable stays we've had. Our room had the balcony overlooking the pool which was lovely. Our welcome was lovely and friendly with complementary nibbles each evening before dinner by the pool (which was great on arrival as we were late getting there). Breakfast was good value too. Our stay was only brief but I would make sure we stayed here on a return visit.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goozgog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visited Key West just after the season, so it was definitely quieter and, in my opinion, how Key West should be enjoyed. This bed-and-breakfast was absolutely charming. We were met by Chris at the front desk and we cannot say enough about him-he was beyond hospitable, as if he was welcoming us to his own home. He tucked us into to room with the library which was simply beautiful. Very large room on the first floor, one wall was a library filled with books, high ceiling, original wood floors, four very large windows that flood the room with light (or not-wide blinds perfectly darken the room). The king-size bed was like sleeping in a giant marshmallow. The bathroom had stain-glass windows. Every room seems different and with its own unique personality-we went with another couple and they had a modern style room on the second floor.

It is located within a short walking distance from "all of the action", yet far enough to enjoy some quite time by the very tranquil pool area. The breakfast was generous and delicious. Don't miss the liming-hour (their happy-hour), every night they serve a different drink with snack.

Will definitely be back...and promise to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiva b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is obviously an historic old building, so we were expecting a creepy haunted feeling - on the contrary! The property is old, and the doors to the hallway and the long balcony (which we shared with the other room on the second floor) closed and locked, but you could still see light through the sides- not a problem at all for us. It was SO CHARMING! The bathroom in our room was beautiful and had a vanity that is to die for. We could hear a little traffic from our room since we were facing the road, but Key West is small and we expected it.

We didn't interact much with the staff, but they were friendly when we did. The pool was clean, and a great place to have your morning coffee and read the paper.

The weather was a little rainy during our visit and humid, so our A/C was running a lot (a window unit), again we can't complain since it was an older building and Key West is just warm and humid.

We usually stay in at least 4-star rooms in chain hotels when we travel, but a $300/night room wasn't an option for our stay. We paid a reasonable $200/night for our last two days of a week long tour of Florida.

Their breakfast casserole our first morning was the BEST I've ever had! Breakfast the second day was okay. We stayed in our hotel room as little as possible since we were trying to take in the sights of the Keys, but the location was reasonable for everywhere we wanted to walk to. We had a rental car but were surprised to find out the the "available parking" was more than we wanted to pay so the desk clerk suggested we find a neighborhood spot (caution: some spots have different markings and are assigned to someone). We didn't need our car, it was safe where we left it, and a person in reasonable health could definitely walk across the whole island without any distress.

We were sad when we tried to book this place again for our next Key West trip this June, but I would DEFINITELY stay again!

Room Tip: The second floor room has a balcony, but you basically share it with anyone else in the building. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellton, N.B.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Cypress House. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was great, coffee very good and a great spot to unwind after walking Key West all day by the pool with a comfortable couch and a bottle of wine! Room was large suite style and noise not an issue. An excellent location close to key west express and all the action. Can't wait to return. Would stay here for sure or maybe one of the sister properties.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,648 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,715 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Property: Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel : Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing