We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice clean rooms, private baths, great breakfast and walking distance to everything you want to do on a vacation to Key West. I would definitely recommend it as long as you can handle some stairs...there is a third floor area with no elevator, and you know how humid it can be...

Room Tip: I'd stay on the bottom floor front or back over the pool on the top floors next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If you like your average B & B then I recommend trying this place out. It is cozy and cute. If you are looking for that 5 star hotel experience then this is not the place for you. We loved this place and chose it over your run of the mill touristy hotels because we wanted the whole experience. I highly recommend this place because of its location to pretty much everything. We parked our car the first day and walked everywhere until the day we left. Room was small and the bathroom was nothing special but the experience was great - just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Myself and two friends stayed at the B&B in early April. We had a most enjoyable experience! We were welcomed and check-in was quick and easy. Everything was explained thoroughly. We felt quite at home and safe in the building, which is lovely, quiet and very accessible to Duval street and other sites. Also, relatively close to boat dock and within walking distance. When we had to use taxi service, was not very expensive and they arrived in timely fashion. Breakfast was delightful and very good! Cudos to the cook! With limited staff, all worked together well and provided good/smooth service. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. Enjoyed sitting on the porch outside bedrooms early in the morning and after a busy day touring. will stay again!! No fitness or spa to rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

From the street, the B&B looks nice and so do the pics - but they are deceiving. The bathroom in room 2 (the room which is recommended on tripadvisor) is a closet with a plywood-enclosed shower with plastic shower curtain holders and a cheap curtain that blows in at you while you're showering. You also have to straddle the wall to get on and off the toilet, which has a stained toilet seat. Further the bed is wobbly, one of the four posters had been torn in half prior to our arrival (and not repaired supposedly bc it blocked the view to the 17" TV mounted near ceiling.) The air conditioner makes the metal wall decoration vibrate, creating a racket. We don't know how breakfast was because we didn't make it down by 9:30 (arrived at 9:45 and were not even acknowledged.) Then when we went to get the consolation prize of self-serve hot water for tea, they were out. Struck out on all counts. We will say that the staffers the day prior on checkin were very nice and helpful. But the older lady in charge the next morning put a damper on any cheerfulness. If you do go, take a power strip because we could only find two outlets in the room. Overall the owners need to invest in this inn to bring it up to standards. We hope they will. But as of now, you can find a better value for your dollar elsewhere. We will not go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelingwriter31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurryHouseKeyWest, Owner at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We try very hard to make our guests feel welcome and at home. We don’t want them to miss our large hot breakfast, so we make sure to talk to them about breakfast when they arrive. Both Ramona and Kimberly talked to this guest separately about breakfast times. But in case a guest forgets, there is a sign in the lobby and it is posted in each guestroom as well as on the website.
If the reviewer had mentioned some of these things while he was still here, we would have been able to fix them for him. For instance, the noisy wallhanging was an easy fix, and we have replaced the toilet seat that had a stain.
The bed in Room 2 is not broken, but does indeed have a removable upper bedpost in case it blocks the TV.
Unfortunately, as we explained to this guest, due to health department rules we are not allowed to send food up to the guestrooms under any circumstances.
Guests are always welcome to make tea, but after breakfast hours they must use the amenities and microwave provided at the outdoor bar.
(We have posted a picture of the shower in room 2)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My brother and I were visiting Key West for one night. It wasn't easy to find a room in a good location that had two separate beds, as most properties apparently cater to couples on romantic getaways. Agreed to book a pre-paid room at the Curry House which cost $280 with the tax. Curry House totally takes advantage of the situation. We were given a room in the attic up 2 flights of steps with a very small bathroom and an old fashioned television which had a very small screen and didn't work . In addition, there was a window type air conditioning unit that blew air directly on our heads all night. For the price we paid this was pretty much an outrage. On the brighter side, we were able to walk to most places and did not need to move the car. For $280 one would expect a lot more. These people have a lot of nerve.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank saverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were only going to be in Key West for two short days in a week long Florida trip. We went the third week in March so everything was way over priced or booked. Since we were looking to stay one night, the Curry House had availability at a very reasonable price.

The property was very charming with an awesome pool in the backyard. Our room #5 was so cute with a very beachy feel. The bed was so comfy and big.The bathroom was small (toilet and shower only) but it didn't bother me or my 6'3 boyfriend. The sink was in the room which was great for getting ready while another was showering. There was a small TV, but honestly, who comes to Key West to watch TV? It was great for background noise and the news.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. We were late checking in but they made it super convenient for us. Breakfast was awesome. Definitely would recommend it to someone that wants a comfortable place to stay but not necessarily looking to stay on premise the whole time. We were in and out experiencing the town and didn't spend much time at the B&B but really enjoyed our stay. Thanks Lois and staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LISA3834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed at this house for two nights! (March 2014) Our room # 5 was okay, the bathroom is VERY small and the t.v. is extremely small and it was fuzzy. You couldn't even see it. When we walked into our room it had a very bad smell.. The bed was comfortable. The pool was very dirty and you don't get much sunshine. You can hear all the people up above you as well and you can also hear all the cars going by while in your bed. The best part about this B & B is it isn't far from Duval street where all the action is! We walked to Duval a lot! I did feel very safe here as you had to have a key to get in the gate at all times. Parking is very bad as we came in as the sunset was going down so we had a very hard time finding a spot to park. The food was okay I thought mine was cold. People were nice that worked there. We probably wouldn't stay at the Curry House again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chel123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#62 of 77 in Key West
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#13 of 77 in Key West
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#12 of 77 in Key West
937 reviews
0.6 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#11 of 77 in Key West
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curry House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 806 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £173 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Curry House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Old Town home built by ship builders on Green Turtle Cay in the Bahamas, shipped to Key West, and assembled in 1889! Perfect location - 3 blocks from Duval Street and 3 blocks from the Historic Seaport. Quiet, Romantic, Tropical. Nine delightful rooms. Complimentary HOT Country Breakfast and Happy Hour, (during peak season)! Heated pool open 24-hours! 8 rooms have direct access to verandas or wrap-around porches with secluded sitting areas. All rooms - refrigerators, cable television, telephone, and more! Come and enjoy a midwest welcome in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Curry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry House Hotel Key West
Curry House b&b
Curry House Bed And Breakfast Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing