We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Curry House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #43 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Curry House!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 6 and loved it. The furniture was beautiful and the bed comfortable. The air was cold and it was conveniently located on the first floor. Lois is very hospitable and cooks a mean breakfast. We all had a great time and will stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sherischultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. It was good to see you again. :) We look forward to next years visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    74
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
193
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room I stayed (room 6) had a horrible smell of mold and humidity. Initially I thought it was not gonna be a big deal, but after spending the night I woke up feeling sick. It is really unfortunate that the people in charge of Curry House would think it is fine to rent a room in this condition. Even though the staff was friendly and the location was good, I will not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurryHouseKeyWest, Owner at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
This couple was the first to mention a problem with an oder. We checked in to it immediately and did find the source. Some maintenance had been done under the house and the plumbers left cardboard they had used as they worked. This was all removed and we now have the problem resolved. We appreciate this feedback. We take all complaints seriously and strive to make the Curry House the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We will definitely be returning to stay here. Breakfast was wonderful each morning. Nice pool and loved just sitting on the porches watching the sunset and the characters stroll by. Air conditioner did struggle a bit at night, but it was August in south Florida. Just a few blocks walk to Mallory Square, the warf, and Duval street

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyC772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed at the Curry House 4 different times. The first two times it was just my husband and I and we stayed in room 5 which is on the ground floor. The next two times we stayed on the second floor and had rooms 3 and 4 because we brought our daughters with us (they are older) and those rooms are connected. The staff has always been friendly and accomodating. When our fridge went out in the room they had it taken care of fast! The breakfasts are always amazing and it is great to relax by the pool. I would sometimes sit on the couch downstairs at night and read. I LOVE being able to sit on the front porch and have coffee in the mornings. The location is good as it is only a few blocks from Duval, or a different road takes you right down to the docks. I would classify this bed and breakfast as an old style, quaint place. We love it! If you want modern, sparkling, perfect.. you might want somewhere else. If you like the old style homes with old style furnishing and decor, this is the place for you. I doubt we will stay anywhere else when we come to Key West.

Room Tip: 5 and 6 are great room on the ground floor. 3 and 4 are connected and share a bath. I have not had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rooms look lovely on the website, but don't be fooled! You could hardly turn around in the room! Also, our room had a broken bed post and frame and terrible mattress. We requested clean sheets as the bead spread, sheets and pillow cases were stained. The bathroom was awful! You can't even move in the shower. This place is nothing but a run down old house. I love antique homes but the room was a dump! I can't understand how they have received descent reviews from other travelers. When we arrived they had sheets and bedding laid out on the stove where they cook breakfast? An old sick looking cat runs around the house (inside) so if your allergic like I am beware! They allow smoking on all the patios so if you share a patio or are close to a room with a smoker enjoy! We actually were so uncomfortable that we found a different hotel. The management is extremely unfriendly and would not even negotiate a partial refund (I now realize why they make you pay in full when you check in- lesson learned)! Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
This couple seemed to be having a problem when they arrived and did not want to sign in until they had checked over their room. After we changed the sheets for them (our dryer had gotten some rust spots on one of the sheets) they did finally check-in and we did not see them again. The following morning they called to say they had not stayed in the room after all and wanted a full refund. Because they had used everything in the room including the bed, shower, towels, porch, and had not given us the opportunity to rent the room to someone else, we did not offer them a refund. We try very hard to accommodate all the needs of our guests, but this couple gave us nothing to work with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Curry House is in a great location, it's a few blocks away from Duval Street, and the pier where the water activities are like Fury Water Adventures, Sunset Water Adventures, jet ski rentals, and deep sea fishing charters, and the Key West Express. I would have rated this place five stars if it was disclosed to me that the room I rented was located up in the attic, and my actual room was a little bigger. It was very small with a severely slanted ceiling. There was only enough room to walk in a straight line from the door to the back of the room. The ceiling had a steep slant to the right in room 9, so you had to duck down or crawl on that side of the room. The bathroom and shower stall was very small too, barley enough for one person. If I stay here again I'd avoid rooms 7,8, and 9 on the third floor. The rest of the place and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgnorthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
When room 9 is booked over the phone, as innkeepers, we try to be very descriptive about the ceilings in room 9, how if you are very tall it won’t be comfortable for you, and most times the response is “we are not coming to Key West to hang out in the room”. Room 9 is often chosen due to its lower cost. It’s an economical way to enjoy Key West. The pictures on line show the ceiling and the slope, and in the room description we go into detail about it. We don’t like for a guest to get checked in and be unhappy, it makes for an uncomfortable stay for all of us. We appreciate the positive remarks. The room was booked online so we didn’t really get an opportunity to talk with this guest about any of this. They didn’t come down and take advantage of the hot breakfast in the mornings, or the pool any time during the day, so we never really got the chance to visit with them. It’s our wish, for all of our guests to leave with good memories of us, and we will go to great lengths to see that they are happy and cared for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Curry House is one of the best bed and breakfast establishments I have stayed at in Key West. I've stayed in several different ones over the past three years I lived in Miami. In any event, my wife and i stayed here for one night prior to taking a trip to Dry Tortugas. The location is relatively close to the bars on Duval, but there are closer places to stay. However, the price was excellent particularly given that it was a really nice bed and breakfast. I highly recommend the Curry House for your next trip to Key West!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sew4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Garden House
Garden House
#64 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knowles House B&B
Knowles House B&B
#35 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Inn
#42 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curry House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 806 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Curry House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Old Town home built by ship builders on Green Turtle Cay in the Bahamas, shipped to Key West, and assembled in 1889! Perfect location - 3 blocks from Duval Street and 3 blocks from the Historic Seaport. Quiet, Romantic, Tropical. Nine delightful rooms. Complimentary HOT Country Breakfast and Happy Hour, (during peak season)! Heated pool open 24-hours! 8 rooms have direct access to verandas or wrap-around porches with secluded sitting areas. All rooms - refrigerators, cable television, telephone, and more! Come and enjoy a midwest welcome in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Curry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry House b&b
Curry House Hotel Key West
Curry House Bed And Breakfast Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing