We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Bargain, Nice and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Patio Motel
Ranked #63 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Bargain, Nice and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here on short notice with a small group of Boy Scouts on a SCUBA trip. The staff was very accomodating. The rooms were clean and the hotel was in a quiet end of town but very close to the Duvall street area and other activities. Nice pool and we especially enjoyed the bicycle rentals to get around town.

This was my second stay there. Will visit there again whenever I can!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    208
    142
    60
    61
See reviews for
115
250
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My wife and I have been vacationing in Key West for over 10 years now. We were married in Key West and every year that we've gone we've stayed at the El Patio. Our rooms were cleaned daily, we were provided fresh towels and soap daily and in our 10 years visiting, there has never been a time when we were treated rudely or that management didn't go out of their way to meet our accommodations. We've recommended the El Patio to all of our family and friends and like us...they agree...The El Patio is an excellent place to stay.

It's conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood that's close enough (bike or walk) to Duval street...yet far enough to get a quiet and peaceful nights sleep. The pool is great...and for those that complain about water temps...last I checked...seeing as though it's warm for 95% of the year there...that would lead one to believe the pool water...and ocean water would remain warm...so stop complaining!!! You're in Key West for goodness sake! The El Patio is not a place you want to stay at if you plan on sitting in your room the majority of your time...actually...Key West is not a place to visit if you plan on doing that.

Go hang out on Duval street, the beach, stop in the many bars, restaurants and shops and then come back to the El Patio for a dip in the pool, a nap or peaceful night's sleep. I highly recommend the El Patio for anyone who wants the true Key West experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was a lovely motel, clean and comfortable.
The staff were great, esp the gentleman on reception at the time we booked in,
Great location on Key West ... Quiet and can easily access main attractions.
Would most defo stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reading2travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The rooms in El Patio were clean but slightly "worn". The aircon was functional but noisy. The en-suites were small but perfectly adequate. I would recommend this hotel as good value accommodation in Key West. Note that as we were only staying one night, I can't comment on longer stays.
One other thing to note is that there appears to be an "improvement programme" in place but judging from other comments and their dates, it doesn't appear to move all that quickly so if a pool is important to you, check if it's functioning before you book.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GItrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Myself and 2 friends stayed for 5 days and loved the customer service from the owners and staff. The decor is not all that but the room was clean and when we requested extra towels & hair dryer it was no problem. The room price was affordable to allow us to enjoy any activities we desired. I did the 2 hour jet sky tour throughBarefoot Billy's which was recommended by the motel it was AWSOME. Duvall St. was in walking distance you take a right on Washington st then turn left on United go maybe 1 block then to Duvall. The Beach was very close as well. YOU DON'T NEED TO DRIVE A LOT. We enjoyed Mallory Square the sunset that is seen around 7P everday recommended by the motel owner. As far as the internet connection you did have to step out of your room just a short distance due to the motel structure is concrete like. The swimming pool had just been remodeled and was nice to do laps in and clean. Only used the renal car like 3 times to go to breakfast (I HOP) on Truman Ave. Rest of the times utilized the bikes that was rented from the motel. Overall the Motel is good for the price and the experience was GREAT. Would stay there again like next summer vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

El Patio was reasonable priced in comparison to other accommodations in the historic Old Town district of Key West. Our room was clean with a comfortable queen-sized bed and working refrigerator and window air conditioner. The 1950s furniture and bathroom with original fixtures, has not been updated but was certainly adequate to meet our basic needs for a short stay. We were able to park our car on the motel property for our entire stay and walk throughout the many streets in Old Town, to historic sites, restaurants and evening entertainment.

Room Tip: No continental breakfast or coffee makers--guests may opt to bring their own food and beverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

A small but perfectly adequate hotel within walking distance to everything that you need to discover key west. We drove down to the keys from Miami and easily found a parking space outside the hotel however we didn't use the car again once we had arrived as we hired bikes from the motel and travelled around on the bikes as there were so many designated places to look your bike. The rooms were basic but as a motel suggests! The pool was average size but always deserted so it was like having a private pool! Would love to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#37 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Inn
Suite Dreams Inn
#27 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#35 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Motel

Property: El Patio Motel
Address: 800 Washington St, Key West, FL 33040-4799
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — El Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your El Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio Hotel Key West
El Patio Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing