We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look else where, rude management. I had a a horrible experience and do not recommend it!”
Review of El Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Patio Motel
Ranked #62 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look else where, rude management. I had a a horrible experience and do not recommend it!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Owners EXTREMELY rude and unfriendly. Rooms very small, beds not comfortable, ants all over the bathroom floor. Many rules and restrictions making for a less enjoyable stay. The best part was the top deck, but don't be loud. I Do not recommend this establishment. Key west is a laid back, beautiful place, this motel was anything but laid back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdigiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    216
    143
    61
    62
See reviews for
117
259
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, MA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The rooms smell - and mind you, not of roses. Linen ancient. So are the bathrooms. If you like ants, definitely go for it. If you don't care for indoor insects, choose a different place in Key West to stay. El Patio cleverly put itself online, while many better places didn't - shortly before Christmas 2011 there were vacancies all over town. In El Patio you can't even get coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Key West, FL
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is a very quite motel and well worth the money. They are cheap and in a residential area. The pool area is private. Once given your room key, you will walk into the center courtyard of the motel which is serene, lush and tropical with a fountain and seating area. We had Room 4 - the two queen beds/two bedrooms and one bathroom. Upon opening the door there is a very little foryer leading into the first bedroom which contained a seating area, lighting above the bed for reading, drawers with mirror and the tv. Then you walk through the doorway into the second bedroom which boasts a above bed lighting, drawers with mirror, massive walk-in closet by Key West standards, the window A/C unit and the bathroom. There were green cuban tiles from 'back-in-the-day' on the floor and the rooms are spacious. If you are going to go with friends, be sure you are very comfortable with each other as the people in the first bedroom with be walking through the second bedroom to get to the bathroom. We live in the Keys and spent a Saturday night in KW so we didn't drink and drive. The cost ended up being a whopping $45pp for the 4 of us. This motel is quaint and Key West & Old Florida quarky. We loved this place for what it was.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T2Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

this hotel met our expectations and the price was right. Clean, very clean, small room with good ac. A few blocks from the action in town but a pleasant walk and the inn keepers were great. helped us with booking a boat,, finding a real cuban restaurant and all this when major remodel was going on upstarirs.

Room Tip: book over the phone or call and ask questions
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kemomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a great hotel near everything in Key West. Service was excellent and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed here for Fantasy Fest with 2 friends. None of us were expecting much given the prices during that week, so we knew it wouldn't be good. However, even the low standards were missed by a substantial margin. Bugs on the sheets (no, not kidding), ants all in the room, absolutely disgusting. My advice would be this: If this is the only place you can find available, don't go. Otherwise, please do yourself a HUGE favor and stay anywhere else but this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed 1 night for 99$+tax. Pretty motel with nice tropical garden. Great pool we really enjoyed a lot, with beautiful flowers on the roof. Little but clean room. 2 Queen size beds. Tiny tiny bathroom (ok, a little too tiny). Quite expensive (but ok for Key West where motels are all expensive). Friendly staff. The fountain in the tropical garden was cute but noisy (we thought there was some heavy rain all night until we found out in the morning that it was the fountain...!). Good and quiet location (15-20min walk from the main touristic streets). A great motel!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mone_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Inn
Suite Dreams Inn
#28 of 77 in Key West
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
#44 of 77 in Key West
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Motel

Property: El Patio Motel
Address: 800 Washington St, Key West, FL 33040-4799
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — El Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio Hotel Key West
El Patio Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing