We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Patio Motel Key West”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Patio Motel
Ranked #63 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
London England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“El Patio Motel Key West”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We left it late to book accommodation in Key West and consequently had little choice other than the El Patio Motel which was one of the very few rooms we could find. By Key West prices it was reasonable, near the beaches, although quite a walk from the centre of the town. Yes, it is ten minutes from Duval, but it is the far end, so it takes about half an hour to walk to Mallory Square.

The benefits are it is situated in a quiet residential area, near Southernmost, Higgs Beach and a couple of convenient breakfast places. It has car parking too. Looks attractive from the road, there is a nice pool area with sunbeds and shades, an attractive frontage and gardens and a lovely roof terrace with sunbeds but no shades. Lovely to sit there at night with a drink looking at the stars.

Our rooms were first floor, we had two double bedrooms and a bathroom for a family of five. The disadvantage was that the bathroom was accessible only via one of the bedrooms, so if you had the bedroom next to the bathroom, you had to accept anyone wanting to visit it during the night would walk through your room. The decor was tired and well overdue for renovation/replacement, probably hadn't been done since the 70s. There was a fridge in the room, but clothes storage was limited. No items like hairdryers were provided. However it did seem to be clean and the bedding was spotless and, as mentioned above, the pricing was good.

Wifi was free but not accessible from our room, we found we had to be near the pool to get reception.

If you want a luxury place to stay this is not for you, but if you don't want to spend a lot on accommodation and don't spend much time in it either this is a good deal. If they ever get around to renovating the rooms, it could become a lovely little place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisStubberfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    207
    142
    60
    61
See reviews for
115
249
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Being budget accommodation I expected at least a certain standard but the standard double room we were given , despite booking it months ago was beyond a joke. It was on a back street with no window. Just frosted glass and grilles. The floor was disgusting and obviously had needed replacing several decades ago. I put my shoes on to walk the three steps to the bathroom because my feet would have been too dirty. The bathroom is appalling and is fit for one person at a time. The tiny room is horrible. Basic TV and fridge. No iron , ironing board or hair dryer. We were there 2 nights and the maid came at 5 pm with new towels ???? Yea good timing. Never have we stayed in such a grotty place and I have truly seen better conditions for animals to live in. Considering this wasn't cheap due to Key West prices, El Patio motel should start spending on re-furbishment now. The wifi was free but only around the pool . We couldn't even see out of our window, maybe that was a good thing due to the crime scene tape across the alley !! We have stayed in many places across the USA and this is by far the most expensive dump there is. Take our advice and stay elsewhere !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank CathyandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

On an island of high-priced motels and hotels, we chose this one for its "low" (by Key West standards) rate and its location near the southern beaches.

It is in a very pretty quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance of Southernmost and Higgs beaches, the Butterfly Conservatory, and the art galleries and restaurants of southern Duval Street.

The motel's pros are a welcoming desk clerk who provides a good map and advice, a rooftop pool, attractive tables & chairs in a central courtyard and balconies, and onsite bike rentals. Our room had a mini-refrigerator.

Its cons are its very dated décor, tiny bathroom without an exhaust fan, and lack of microwave, coffee maker, desk or sitting table.

In our case, the room was not made up until late afternoon, and the mini-soap bars and plastic cups were not replaced, but this might be an anomaly.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms (suites?) with microwave ovens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for the fantasy week, weekend. We loved this place! thought it was Quite affordable! we really liked the patio on the roof, we enjoyed a cocktail there in the evening! the staff was very helpful with questions we had, it was just a short walk from everywhere. We didn't mind the floors were tiled, we were tracking in sand all weekend anyway! I don't understand why everyone is giving this place such a bad wrap! its not the waldorf Astoria! its a very good price for the keys! The pool the was Clean! the A/C was cool! the staff was nice/helpful! I would recommend this place! and will probably stay here next time we visit the keys... we don't like to spend our whole budget for our trip on lodging, we like spending money on dining out, scuba, ect.... So, try the El Patio Motel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in January. The room had a queen size bed in the front room, a TV,decent size, and a small table with two chairs, and a small fridge. You walk through the front room into another bedroom with a dresser and a lamp. The small bathroom was located by walking through the rear bedroom. The mattress in the front bedroom was terrible, cheap, with no support. The place itself is very old, we needed 5 rooms for 5 couples, all rooms were between $169. And $189. Plus tax. We were 1.2 miles from Mallory square, and we did walk that a couple of times. The only reason we all stayed there is because the owner was willing to book 5 rooms, whereas other motels in Key West were not willing to book for more than a group of 3. Very basic, not much for the money. None of us (10) liked it and do not plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: No fitness center, no room service, no coffee, no breakfast, but parking on the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The upside of our stay is I read the reviews and knew what we were getting into. The down side is that the bad reviews were closer to the truth and the good ones. We stayed here because we could not find another hotel or B&B in Key West for the weekend we wanted to visit. I decided to take my own sheets which is highly recommended because the ones on the bed did not look clean. We were in the two room "suite" and our room was fine because it had an a/c unit, the other room where our friends stayed did NOT have a/c. How can any place in south florida not offer a/c in the room? Thankfully it was a cool weekend and it was not a huge problem. The bathroom was bare minimum with a toilet that had a broken handle and a shower head that was more of a mist than a shower. I stayed in nicer places when I was a starving college student...for $300/night this place should have offered at least a/c in both rooms and clean sheets. The cleaning crew didn't even make one of the beds and we had to call to get the bed made. I would never go back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I don't want to spend my last dine on accommodations when I travel. We chose El Patio because we got a discounted rate since we were part of the KWLS. Even without a discount, it's the best value in town. We were in room 30, the studio with a kitchen, living room, separate bedroom. It was perfect. Although we didn't use what was provided, we had the option. It was located behind the office, so it was quiet and we even had our own private garden. The maid service was iffy on some days, but that was fine. We had fresh towels and lots of privacy. There's the patio (thus the name) on the roof which was perfect for morning coffee or star gazing. We stayed there over a week and it was the perfect location and the perfect place to rest our heads. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Inn
Suite Dreams Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#34 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Motel

Property: El Patio Motel
Address: 800 Washington St, Key West, FL 33040-4799
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — El Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your El Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio Hotel Key West
El Patio Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing